We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This place may not the cheapest but is so worth! Stunning view and unbelievable caring and nice people. Excellent breakfast, room with all(!) extras, good restaurants nearby - theres nothing you will miss

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed in the Penthouse room this March(2014) the views alone are enough reason to stay.
Immaculate accommodation with first class facilities to match any hotel in a 4/5 star rating.
Without rambling on with pointless comments i simply ask myself the question would i stay here again? -Absolutely 100% faultless

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Cliff Lodge was our last stop of my husband and my two week honeymoon. We were looking for a quite place in a beautiful setting where we could completely relax before returning to real life. We found it (mostly) in the Cliff Lodge. It is absolutely beautiful. Remote, serene, just perfect. We were thrilled just to hang in and be together. Unfortunately, Gideon, the owner, was a bit too aggressive about wanting to plan us activities and things to do. We really did just want to hang in. If I had to choose again, I would have considered a larger property where we could have been more anonymous and not gotten quite so much attention from the owners and staff. I know it sounds like a crazy complaint, staff being too attentive, but some more privacy and autonomy would have improved our visit. But beautiful property in a really lovely location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shapiros, Owner at Cliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Meredith
We love the Overberg, and love what we do. I accept that sometimes my passion for our area might be overwhelming, and apologize that this was the case for you. I do however feel that personal attention and excellent service is what differentiates us from hotels, and is what the majority of guests that choose a guest house are looking for.
Regards Gideon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely spot - perfect service. Nico is the THE Barista (and wildlife guide!). Breakfast was definitive with everything one could want. Gideon's omelette is to be recommended.
Not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We choose the place for its view which is indeed stunning. The hotel is close to the cliffs, a perfect spot for whale watching. It has a solid quality but was not the luxury place we expected even though we booked their premium room,the ocean suite. The owner likes to give tipps to his guests for sightseeing and restaurant, if you want it or not. That was sometimes a bit irritating to us. Would choose a different place next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shapiros, Owner at Cliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Luxuryvoyage
What a pity that you experienced rainy weather during your stay at Cliff Lodge. The Ocean Suite meets the criteria for a five star guest house room, and is rated "Luxurious" by the Portfolio Collection. Perhaps the overcast weather made it seem less luxurious to you, and it certainly made it less photogenic! Especially during rainy weather we do try to guide our guest with their plans so that their experience of our wonderful area is positive. Apologies if this was not to your liking.
Regards
Gill and Gideon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
19.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
18.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
968 reviews
19.0 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
727 reviews
2.3 km away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.6 km away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 31 in Gansbaai
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $269 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing