We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deception Valley Lodge(Central Kalahari Game Reserve)
US$1,081
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Haina Kalahari Lodge(Central Kalahari Game Reserve)
US$918
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$84
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$174
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mikalele Motel(Central Kalahari Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
75
22
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
22
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbat eared foxessalt waterthree daysdeception valleyour honeymoondry seasonwonderful guidekori bustardblack manedgame viewingbirds includingthe upper deckblack backed jackalshis knowledgefood was greatstayed nightswalking safari
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

I stayed at Kalahari Plains Camp on my sixth visit to Africa, and found it as wonderful as every other camp I have visited - in its own unique way. The Central Kalahari Game Reserve offers a sense of remoteness and challenge: water is scarce and the landscape reflects this. Yet it opens up a real awareness of the vastness of the continent and the rich variety of life it supports. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable, the offer of sleeping on the upper deck tantalizing but a bit beyond this 65 year old traveler. The common lounge and dining areas were great and the food and drinks excellent. I felt particularly fortunate to enjoy the singing and dancing of all the staff one evening, and really valued the sharing by the local Bushman family of their communal way of life. The guide we had was excellent - his ability to spot animals and birds, his knowledge, his tenacity in finding wildlife were all outstanding.
I hope to have the opportunity to return!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barbarabZ3434BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Barbara,

Located in the Kalahari Desert biome in the central part of Botswana, this reserve is the largest conservation area in the country and one of the largest in the world. Its star attractions include the legendary Kalahari black-maned lion as well as some of the world's best cheetah viewing. We are glad to see we were able to offer you a new insight into our beautiful Africa and hope you will visit us again soon to witness even more great wonder with us.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The location of this camp is exceptional. We stayed here for 3 nights and did not once come across another vehicle, we truly felt this area was untouched and still very wild.
A day trip to deception valley is a must, we really enjoyed that!
The staff is this camp went above and beyond for us, they are wonderful! Our guide Andy was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed him,
Would highly recommend this camp!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LRush88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear LRush88,

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and beautiful review, we are glad to see how much you enjoyed your time with us as well as your trip to Deception Valley. This “waterless oasis” known as Deception Valley was named after the riverbed which evokes the illusion of containing water. The illusion created by the pan is the result of a mirage-style effect that gives the blue-clay pan the appearance of being filled with water when it is actually bone dry.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

This is a pretty remote location. The rooms were well appointed although perhaps a little small. Water is scarce here and it takes awhile to get hot. Not a problem but more of an observation. A real treat at this camp is that you can sleep on the rooftop. They will make a bed for you. We never spent the night up there as it was near freezing at night. But just to sit up on top on a moonless night - the stars were magnificent. They have a down comforter which is also nice. Food and service were nice as was the wine. It was also nice to have a warm robe and the water bottles they put inside the bedsheets at night was really welcomed because it was so cold. We saw ostriches, a pride of lions with a few cubs, a male lion, and a few cheetah along with the usual - giraffes, and antelope. Also jackets and foxes. If you come in the winter, have them make you a hot chocolate with amarula. That will warm you up.

Room Tip: All the rooms look over the Kalahari desert plains
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank clubnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Clubnev,

We are glad you enjoyed the sights from the star bed - pity it was too cold to spend the night out on the roof but we hope you will visit us again soon when it is a little warmer at night to take full advantage of the star bed. We hope you had a great time and got many great photos of all your sightings.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I traveled to Kalahari Plains tent Camp this past April with a group organized by Geographic Expeditions. April is an ideal time to visit as the rains have "mostly" finished and the Kalahari Plain is green and lush. The camp itself is very comfortable with large "tents" ensuite bath, and most interestingly an outdoor sleeping porch, above the "tent". I put tent in quotes since the structure is clearly permanent and well put together; but still a fabric wall. Unfortunately it was raining and cold when we arrived so I couldn't take advantage of the outdoor facility. The staff were outstanding, always there with a genuine smile. The game and bird viewing was fantastic. we found the famous black maned lions (three on an oryx kill), plus a wide assortment of antelopes (oryx, springbok, impala, steenbok) plus giraffe, elephant, warthogs, black backed jackals, bat eared fox, and zebra. we saw a lot of birds including the pale chanting goshawk, lilacbreasted roller, secretary bird, Khoran, kori bustard among others. The service and food was great, including an out in the field brunch one day. The camp operator (Wilderness Safaris) calls this a Classic Camp which is their mid-level. There is no A/C, no internet, no TV, no private sauna. Perfect for getting away from it all and cutting the cord. Very comfortable but not extravagant. There is a small pool which no one used as it was in the 40's to 50 degrees F. However if you go in the southern summer you will enjoy the pool, as it can get over 100 deg F. Nevertheless, the campfire warmed things up for us. One of our highlights was walking with the bushmen. If you get a chance, do it; they are great entertainers as well as very educational.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank pvankuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Pvankuran,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us despite the slight and unusual wet and cold conditions. The "Bushman Walk" is a firm favourite - led by camp staff members who hail from the San Bushman clans of the area provides insights into their traditional lifestyles through dress, activities and a short walk in the immediate camp area.

Thank you for sharing this experience with us.
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

We found the staff to be extremely warm and welcoming. They attended to every need. They remembered our names and learned our preferences immediately. Tents were beautiful. Saw lots of game. We were there in the green season so it was cool to cold. We were provided hot water bottles in our beds and again for our early morning game drives.
Food was great. Because it is a solar camp and there was rain just before we arrived, the water was not hot for the showers. The staff provided us with big buckets of hot water to bathe with. When traveling to remote areas like this you must roll with the punches. The staff did everything to make us comfortable. I loved my experience and would recommend this camp.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nataliebh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear nataliebh2015,

It is very rare that our solar panels are unable to heat the geysers in the tents - being in the desert it is not often we are able to enjoy the beauty of the rain and clouds, but we are glad to hear the staff were able to assist you with heated water. This rain however did bring with it the great advantage of many wonderful game sightings and we hope you were able to get tonnes of photos to remember your time with us.

Thank you for your kind words
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews