We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Starlite Motel(Big Indian)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Prattsville)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
44
25
9
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
25
9
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailsfire pitcoffee filtersbooked cabinfolding chairsgreat outdoorscatskill mountainsliving rooma great place to stayfamily reunionmattfireplacepropertysummerfridgeswingprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed in Cabin 3 from 3 nights with family and had a good time but the cabins are old and dated and a few things dont work so it wasnt a great experience.
Good things -
1. Nice, calm environment, beautiful scenery around,
2. good wifi,
3. Matt & Karen were reachable during the day to help :) The first pack n play we got smelled really bad with mildew but Karen got us another one quickly, so helpful!
4. Good eating options closeby

Now the bad :(
1. The bathroom kept clogging and even though Matt & Karen tried to help they said its a bigger issue and cant help anymore :( We were 7 adults and a baby so that was not the best thing.
2. There were 4 rooms but only 2 fans and it got humid and hot, we asked for more fans but they said they ran out.
3. It was our daughter's bday trip and they didnt even bother to do anything, even a couple of balloons for her would have made us feel that they cared that we told them we were there on our daughter's birthday.
4. The queen sofa bed is almost broken,

In a nutshell, the property is nice and so are the inn keepers but the cabins are outdated and need a good refresh

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sarya78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coldspringlodge, Manager at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thanks so much for your comments and for staying with us. We are very happy to report that all cabins are being upgraded and fully renovated and so we believe that you will have a much more pleasant stay when you come visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were on an extended holiday and wanted to wrap up in a mountain area. While the cabins are rustic they were clean as a mountain cabin could be. The floors slope and the bed against the wall feels like you are tilting at night but that added to the experience. The mattress was super comfortable and we had a great night sleep. The individual fire pits and grills were a nice touch. Also wood is provided for a small price but well seasoned and large so the fire lasted. The other cabins were close but that also adds to the experience, no one was too loud and it was great seeing other families enjoying the beautiful surroundings. We did some hiking which was fantastic and also did the zipline tour on Hunter Mountain! Lots to do in the area!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kcisco66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Just got back from a 5 day stay at Cold Spring Lodge. We rented 5 cabins for a family reunion. Everyone in our group had a great time. The younger kids were either in the pool, exploring in the woods near the creek or playing on the HUGE lawn in the rear. The cabins are rustic yet cozy with full sized fridges and four burner ranges large enough to cook for 19.
The owners, Karen and Matt could not have been more helpful and attentive. They are very knowledgeable about the area and helped guide us to local activities. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markfrenchvfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in cabin 4 for a family reunion at the lodge. The cabin was clean, but the building needs a lot of work (crooked floors causing the doors to need to be held open by rocks, very soft spot in front of the kitchen sink, and burn marks all over the carpet in front of the fireplace). The beds seemed new and were comfortable. If the cabins were in better shape, this would be a nice getaway as the property is beautiful and in a good location. Also the wifi was excellent (which is useful since there was very little cell reception).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coldspringlodge, Manager at Cold Spring Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thanks so much for your comments and for staying with us. We are very sorry to hear you had a bad experience due to the cabin's conditions. All cabins are being upgraded and fully renovated. We hope you will come back to give us another chance since we believe you will have a pleasant stay with our newly renovated cabins next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This place has a lot to offer. A variety of lodgings (multiple cabins for staying in, or rooms), great location in the midst of the Catskills, and, somehow, great WiFi! Only 30 minutes from Woodstock, and an even shorter drive to a lot of great area restaurants, and absolutely surrounded by running water, hiking trails, and anything else you might want to get from the great outdoors. The management is very friendly, and will go out of their way to accommodate any requests and fix anything that might be wrong.
If the place is completely booked, you'll see your neighbors in the other cabins outside, providing a very neighborly, communal type atmosphere, but you'll still have plenty of space to do your own thing.

Overall, a great place to stay if you're looking to escape into the wild without leaving modern comforts behind!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews