We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
121
14
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
14
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawrence river fire pit nightly campfire nice pool alexandria bay friendly place to stay ball court comfortable cottage fluffy towels bass boat ground pool other guests screened in porch home away from home enjoyed our stay accommodations inground
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I've visited twice and will continue to go back. It's like a home away from home. Family owned and the owners could not be nicer or more accommodating. Entire place is very clean and well maintained. They are pet friendly, which is a big plus for us. We enjoyed the pool, the dock and the fires at night. Close enough for a quick drive to stores, restaurants or attractions but far enough out of the middle of town so that you don't have noise or traffic. Price is reasonable for the area. Cottages are well equipped with linens and kitchen items, so you don't need to pack a lot. Very quiet and relaxing. Can't say enough positive things about it - we loved every minute of staying here!

Room Tip: Bottom floor of river cottage was wonderful , but wouldn't recommend the stair climb for elderly or people with mobility issues.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKW771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Keith greeted us upon arrival - check in was personable and quick! We stayed in Room 8 of the motel unit. The room was good size for our group of three. The room was clean and quiet and our basic needs were met (one needs to take their own toiletries and hair dryer!). The beds were comfortable enough. A hospitality room is available with a small microwave, ice and hot beverages. The property is located on the St. Lawrence River and we had a beautiful walk to the docks and a view of the river. I enjoyed sitting under the pergola each evening and morning. The pool was refreshing and one could choose to lounge in the sun or beneath the pergola. There was a volleyball court, horseshoe pit and more. There was a screened gazebo with tables and grills were located just outside. My room did not include a refrigerator, but a small grocery store was just a short drive away so food could have been purchased in small quantities and prepared daily. Ice for coolers was available for a small fee. Towels for the pool were provided, but next time I'll pack my own. Each evening a fire was lit in the fire pit and I quite enjoyed spending some time there. This is a small,family-owned property and I would recommend it. We enjoyed a Sunday afternoon craft fair in downtown Clayton as well as a musical program in the park. The town is visitor-friendly. Clayton does offer a number of sights worth visiting and is about 10 miles from Alexandria Bay.

Room Tip: The motel rooms do not have a river view, but most of the cabins do have a view.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

very nice location with a great view of the bay. The room was clean but very small. I think the cottages would be the way to go. Too many people smoking outside of the rooms and we couldn't enjoy our small patio and picnic table. The staff seemed very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: cottages are probably best
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTWINDS85, Owner at West Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Meg, We appreciate your review. You did stay in one of our smaller rooms --many of our guests select these because as they typically say, "we only plan on sleeping in the room and we enjoy the low cost". We also have large rooms, sized for and equipped with 2 queen beds, 2 recliners and a tub/shower bathroom.

Of course we do not allow smoking in any of our units and now have restricted the smoking immediately outside the motel area. We are situated on 5 scenic riverfront acres so there is adequate room for smoking well away from the motel area.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We save all year for our week at Clayton and even though we've checked out other places no rental cabins are as well maintained or appointed. Can't imagine staying anywhere else. Harvey, Sherry, Dean and Joleen are the best hosts , ever. Love it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

My wife and I decided to have an anniversary/getaway and decided to go up to Clayton, New York up on the St. Lawrence River. We actually found West Winds online and talk about lucky. Very clean, reasonable rates, great staff and had everything we were looking for especially the awesome sunsets. We felt like part of the family and look forward to going there again. Thank you West Winds Motel and Cottages for this a memorable trip.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coachjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews