We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
121
14
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
14
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawrence river fire pit nightly campfire nice pool alexandria bay friendly place to stay ball court comfortable cottage fluffy towels bass boat ground pool other guests screened in porch home away from home enjoyed our stay accommodations inground
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

On our way home from West Winds, my husband and I were talking about all the things we like about staying at West Winds. Was it the comfortable cottage with a spectacular view of the St. Lawrence River - sunsets every night or was it the swimming pool. the nightly campfires, the repeat guests that we see yearly. the ability to bring our dogs with us and a dock for our boat. It is all of these but most of all it is the family that owns West Winds. Mom and Dad ran it for years and now their son Dean and his wife Jolene have taken over. They are very friendly, helpful and obviously love what they do. They help with reservations, work with any changes that are requested and even found accommodations for our son and his family. They work very hard to serve the needs of the families that stay at West Winds. The answer is we love everything about West Winds. And we are not the only ones - our children and grandchildren feel the same way. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene H, Manager at West Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for the sweet kind review! We love having you all year to year!! Already looking forward to next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Spent a week with son on a fishing trip in the Motel .Clean,Quiet,Relaxing,Heated pool,nightly bonfires! Family oriented.Beautiful river and sunset views! Boat docks protected by a breakwall! Great fishing from the docks also! Hospitality room with free coffee,tea,hot chocolate and microwave! Great Ownership!Booked for next year already! Highly Recommend!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank wolf105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene H, Owner at West Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for the kind review! Looking forward to having you back next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Being repeat (and repeat and repeat) guests at West Winds, we know what to expect. This summer's trip was on par - welcoming staff, clean accommodations, quiet location, but close to activities if you want to leave the peace of West Winds.

The owners will do just about anything to make a stay enjoyable and respond quickly to any requests or suggestions.

Every year we look forward to see what improvements have been made. This year we noticed the reconditioned pool, new light-blocking curtains and bedspreads in our cottage bedrooms, and a new larger screen tv in our cottage. They are constantly keeping their eyes on what needs to be done to make it a great vacation.

Thanks, Jolene and Dean - see you soon!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bookworm426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene H, Owner at West Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for the kind review!!! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Been staying at West Winds for a few years. They are so accommodating and very personable. We love it there. Look forward to the campfire and playing cards in the gazebo. Can’t say enough about this place. Wouldn’t go anywhere else!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank suelogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene H, Owner at West Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Here for our 7th summer in a row. The place is well maintained, friendly staff,nice
clean pool and a campfire each night for the guests.Nice quiet setting to kick back and relax.Not too far from Clayton.We are looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jims192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene H, Owner at West Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews