We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
10
17
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
17
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I'm so glad we found the Fair Wind Motel and Cottages! This was our first time in the area and checked out 7 other places and liked the Fair Winds without a doubt. The owners Sandy and Bob as well as their staff were so Friendly, Fun, Informative and Welcoming! Our first time there but most definitely not our last! <3

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michellejpa2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This was our second time staying at the Fair Wind Motel & Cottages. We had one of the 2 larger motel rooms near the office. It was great. The property has a very relaxing outdoor feel to it. Beautiful pool. Great access to the St. Lawrence if you bring a boat or rent one. Friends came in from their stay in Alex Bay & we had a wonderful evening, relaxing over a few cold beers in the screened in gazebo. Enjoyed an evening campfire & chatting with one of the owners. They were also very accommodating when we had to move our vacation back a day because of the birth of our granddaughter. Town of Clayton just down the road. Shops, restaurants, & convenience store (has great coffee!!) 5 min. away. Would like to go back with our grown children & their families & rent one of the larger cottages. Absolutely wonderful place to stay in the 1000 Islands!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small. Room #7 is one of the larger rooms. Very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

A great place for both couples or family who want a small but pleasant place to stay. Clean rooms with air conditioning, Small or large family cottages,pool, and dock. Best of all pet friendly.you will want to come back time after time. The sunsets from the river are spectacular, and if you miss it one night there's always the next.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This review is for the cottages.

Pros:
- GREAT view
- Convenient location about 7 mins from downtown Clayton and 20 mins from Alexandria Bay
- Full kitchenette means you can cook your own meals for the week
- Gas grill and picnic table at every cottage
- Screened-in porch is a great place to put wet suits, tube, life jackets, etc
- Easy access to the river for swimming
- Pool!
- Lots of room to run around outside the cottages. Part gets shady in the afternoon.
- Friendly owner

Cons:
- No shade at the pool. Not much that can be done about that, but would be nice with kids!!
- The cottages need some major updates, but I think that's part of why Fair Wind is for sale.
- A/C only in the kitchen. It only makes the cottage mildly cool if you have all other doors and windows closed. One fan in each bedroom - no A/C. Extremely hot on 90 degree days. Expect to be hot.
- Very old and dirty carpet. It even feels greasy to the touch. Needs replaced - we would not let our baby crawl on it after realizing her knees and feet turned black very quickly after crawling on it.
- Sheets do not stay on the bed. Bring your own linens.
- Bathroom: lots of rust, mold, and rot.

Other details:
- One exchange of linens per week (hand towels, wash cloths, bath towels). Bring pool towels.
- Kitchen has toaster, stove, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, silverware, plates, bowls, cups, mugs, some pots and pans and things like spatula, wine opener, etc.
- Volleyball net by cabins.
- Private dock with a few spots for boats. Can also swim in the river - there's a ladder down to the water.
- Room for 2 cars to park by each cottage.
- Bugs. There were ants inside when we got there (people have to be careful with ants!), but we got raid traps and spray and that helped a lot. Also spiders, but the cottages are close to water, so just be on the lookout :)

Overall, you can't beat the price. $800/week for a 2-bedroom cabin with 3 beds is a really, really good price. However, especially with kids, we'd be willing to pay more for a nicer, more updated cottage.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank promptedbylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed in a motel room. It was a bit dated, but clean and quiet. Most of the activities we did were in the Alex Bay area, and the 20-minute drive back and forth can get to be a bit much, but for the reduced price of staying a bit outside of the main tourist trap, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank derends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews