We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
River Spring Lodge(Darien Center)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$89
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
25
22
21
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
22
21
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarien lake theme parkpark ticketsshort walknice sizelobby areaenjoyed my staymini fridgeconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Just returned from 3 days at this hotel and amusement park. We actually had one more night and checked out a day early. I usually am very fair on my reviews and try to list the positive but I can not find really anything positive to say. The minute we walked in the park first day of our trip after driving 3 hours it started to thunder the whole park was shut down. Now I know they can not do anything about weather and it is for everyone to be safe. But what do they have to offer when this happens? NOTHING!! We told the girls we would go back to the room and make popcorn and rent a movie. Well that is not possible. They don't have movies. Called down to front desk they said some rooms have DVD players but our room did not. Ok well we will find a movie on the tv.. When doing that we noticed our volume did not work. Called down they sent a very nice maintenance man up and he said he would have to get us a new tv. That's fine we were happy with that. Until MICHELLE called from front desk and gave attitude and said she could move us to a different room but that was the only solution. Well think about this lets move 5 people that are already unpacked refrigerator stocked and by this time very cranky! She was rude and said she would have the manager call me. 5 minutes later MICHELLE called back and said they were sending a new tv. So why get me aggravated with her attitude? Is that not what I would be happy with in the first place? Anyway the man came switched the cable did not even replace the tv and we had volume! In 5 minutes the problem was fixed! Next morning we go for our breakfast what a nightmare!!! We were told to seat ourself if we could find a clean table! None were clean. When I asked the girl when they were going to be clean she said I am all you got. So when I get to it I will. Apparently they had a lot of call ins that day. So we had to clean our own table!! My daughter wanted milk for her cereal they said we could not have milk. They then removed the ceral off the line and other parents were asking well can we at least eat it dry?? With attitude the girl put it back out. The next morning at breakfast we could not have toast because the toaster was broke! Want syrup? Not here! The energy in the restaurant was so not good because everywhere you looked someone was mad about something! The park was fun when the rides were going but I really don't think this is a place you want to stay for more than one day. They say there are new owners well I hope he makes changes soon. Because this used to be a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryJo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We always enjoy our stay here! This is our 6th visit...our kids are 13 and 9 and it has something for everyone. It's nice to only drive a few hours and feel like your on vacation.

Stayed for 4 days...still here!

It was quite hot while we were here so we got to enjoy the water park...our son loved the new brain drain!

It's an older park but we like that...lots of character ...we love playing fascination at the Penny arcade...please never get rid of this game!

We have noticed many improvements...which we appreciate.
Grounds are cleaner
Most of the rides are running
Landscaping well cared for
Ignite the night updated and awesome!

We enjoy staying at the hotel and the management and their team are very helpful and professional! If we ever have a problem or concern they always try to resolve it.

Areas for improvement would be
~Healthier sides then just fries...after awhile it is hard to find food that is not fried...we did enjoy the onsite Italian restaurant though
~cleanliness of some of the washrooms
~attitude of some of the ride attendants ....they could be quite rude
~clear hours of when rides open???we would be told one thing and then get to a ride and be told another...park opens at 10:30 ... water park opens 11 am ... not sure why the log ride opens later since it is not in the waterpark? We did not appreciate how we were spoken to in front of our children by the older women operating the ride....really uncalled for...the gate to the ride was open...that is why we and several other people entered...remember we're here for fun.

Overall awesome stay.

Hints
Bring healthy snacks...there is a small fridge in the room..trust me you will crave healthy food after awhile...lol
General store has a little of everything you need but not much in the fruits and veggies so better to stop before or bring from home...just check what you can bring cross border if visiting from canada
Bring blanket to sit on during ignite the night show. Starts at 10 pm
Hoel has a nice little snack bar. Serves pizza till 11pm and timmies coffee in the morning
We found it better to bring Canadian currency since they accept it everywhere and at a better rate then if we had exchanged at a bank back home

Room Tip: All rooms pretty much the same...you can upgrade to pool view
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Happygotravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Nice clean spacious rooms. Fridge in room was nice. Would like a microwave but one was down the hall by ice machine. Close to theme park. Nice walk along the lake. Web site said pool side grills but only one. need more! We did not get to eat until 11:00 pm. Staff was pleasant but when trying to add another night for half price, they did not know how to do it. The manager, who i cant remember her name, was awesome and took care of it. My only real complaint was no restaurant on site. A little food window that charged way too much! $6.99 for a breakfast bagel seems a little high!. All the hotel had to offer was pizza. Pool was nice but a little small. Beds were very comfy. Would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose pool view.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in the kid fun suite before school was over (figured we would avoid the crowds and higher prices). Room was spacious and quaint - bunk bed area for the kids with their own flat screen tv (which was perfect for the kids to plug in their ps4 into!) then a comfortable bed couch and another flat screen tv for us adults. There was a perfect sized small fridge with a small freezer, microwave and coffee maker in the room. The free wifi in the rooms were a great way to end the day that everyone appreciated.

To get into the the park you follow the pathway along the lake for 5 minutes to a private gate towards the back of the park. It was great to avoid the lines but we always headed to the front gate in the morning to grab a Tim Horton's coffee :) We never made it to the pool but it was a great size for the kids to splash around in after a long day with plenty of tables and chairs. The restaurant in the hotel had a good selection but not a lot of healthy options (think park food) but we mostly chose to hit up the denny's right off the interstate, which was only a 5 minute drive.

All in all a perfect stay for our preteen picky boys!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed for 2 nights last week. The hotel was very nice with tons of parking. We had tickets to the train concert and got a reasonable deal on rooms as we are season pass holders.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. It was a quick walk to both the park and concert venue.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable...great for a family stay!

My daughter loved the pool area and found lots of kids to play with. The pool was open an extra hour after park close on Thursday evening. This was a plus for our daughter!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jewele803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews