We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bad reviews are true”
Review of The Pier House

The Pier House
Ranked #12 of 94 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Pier House restaurant is part of the Ramada Geneva Lakefront and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner every day of the week. Enjoy comfortable dining suitable for couples, corporate and family. Our dining room overlooks Seneca Lake, and you may choose outdoor dining from Spring through Fall for a closer lake experience.
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Slow service, cold food, over priced. Had the calamari and the porterhouse steak. Steak was cold and medium instead of medium rare, vegetables not cooked, little seasoning. Took 70 minutes to get food. Other tables seated after us ate first. Place was not full by any means. Waitress was surly at best. Needs a visit from Gordon Ramsey.

1  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Pier House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered. It is always our goal to improve when presented with the opportunity to do so and I can assure you that your comments are being addressed to ensure a superior experience for future guests. We hope we will have the opportunity in the future to replace this experience with a superior one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped in with wife for lunch while visiting the finger lakes. Service was good. The soup was very tasty. Our meals were good. Service was good and the view is outstanding.

Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Pier House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for choosing The Pier House for lunch while visiting the Finger Lakes. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed good food, good service, and our outstanding views. We hope to have the pleasure of being of service again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We have eaten breakfast here three times over the years when we stay at the Ramada. Every time the service has been slow from getting seated to getting your food delivered. Hostess acts like you are an annoyance for showing up. The food is mediocre at best. Today when we ate there was an odd smell like they used a sour rag to wipe the table. We will be trying a new place for breakfast in the future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Pier House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

While it is never easy to hear that a guest's experience was anything less than ideal, we value all feedback and will certainly utilize your comments to ensure a superior experience for future guests. We sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Surprised by outstanding cuisine at a Ramada inn restaurant. Not only outstanding service. But nice wine selection and food was excellent. Best french onion soup we’ve had on a 2 week trip— and we’ve tried at least 4– and scallops as appetizer were Devine.

Thank 115tamaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Pier House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for being our guest and thanks for your kind remarks on your experience - it is always a pleasure to hear that a guest's meal exceeded their expectations. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed dining with us at The Pier House. I have shared your kind remarks with our chef who joins me in thanking you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope to always exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We were staying at the hotel, so we decided to have breakfast and dinner at this restaurant. Our breakfast was good. I had eggs benedict and they were cooked perfectly and very tasty. The waitstaff was attentive and friendly at breakfast.

I had a mushroom pasta for dinner and it was good. My husband had fish, I think baramundi. He thought it was excellent! He really enjoyed it.

The hostess was a little cranky. The restaurant was less than 1/2 full, but she seemed all huff huff about seating us. She was also dressed kind of sloppily with cropped pants and a t-shirt that looked a bit worn. Our waitress was also not very friendly. In fact, we joked that she was probably the hostesses' daughter. She was similarly dressed and had the same attitude. She actually came over to our table and said "You're all set". Not a question. A statement. Then she dropped the bill off.

The food was better than we expected for a hotel restaurant, and the view is gorgeous, but some of the staff need training. And, work-appropriate attire would go a long way to set the atmosphere. I would have gone with one less circle for service, but the breakfast staff was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel02886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Pier House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

While we are pleased to know that you enjoyed the food during your visits here, we are disappointed to know that the service you encountered during dinner failed to meet the high standards that we strive for. Please know that your feedback is being addressed internally as well as having been escalated to our Corporate Team to ensure a superior experience for future guests. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back as we feel certain your next experience will exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pier House also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Pier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing