We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappoints”
Review of Ports Cafe

Ports Cafe
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An informal setting overlooking Seneca Lake, featuring savory and unique dishes made from fresh, ​locally sourced ingredients.​ ​Finger Lakes wines and craft beers are available by the glass. Reservations Recommended. Maximum group is 8.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

While visiting Geneva it is a MUST that we go to Ports Cafe for dinner. We have dined there on several previous visits to the area. The food is outstanding, the service is excellent and the atmosphere is casual. We started dinner with the calamari and shrimp fry; the portion was large enough to share, the fish was prepared perfectly and the lemon garlic aoli was the perfect touch of flavor. The shrimp saute was flavorful and full of fresh shrimp over the pasta and the salmon special was flavorful and delicious.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

This kitchen loves being creative with food. The number of specials each night exceed the number of regular menu items. This place loves to experiment. They don't mail it in. They have a real passion for food. And the diners like us love this place. There are different things to choose from - out of the ordinary dishes but one thing is true: it is fresh, seasonal, takes advantage of its Finger lakes location, and it is OUTSTANDING! This is a no miss restaurant. Even during the week, this place is mobbed. You need a reservation for any day at any time here. We are fish nuts and I had the snapper which was unlike any snapper that i ever had and my wife had the salmon (off the menu) and this was unlike any salmon she ever had. This kitchen loves to cook. Take advantage of it and be adventuresome yourself. You see all ages at this restaurant. Everyone loves good food. People truly enjoy themselves here. It is a unique atmosphere. Great to meet friends and family here. It is laid back. And everyone can afford something here. This is one very special and unique dining experience. We drive 2.5 hours one way to dine here several times a year.. It is that creative, unique, and that damn good!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Our party of 6 enjoyed a lovely dinner on a Saturday evening. We made a reservation earlier in the day. All was ready when we arrived. Our server, Stella, was terrific. the menu had a wide variety of dishes. Stella answered questions expertly. The food was excellent. This restaurant was the best dining experience of our entire trip.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner hear based on suggestions from two wineries. We went at 5pm and quickly seated. Our waitress Stella was amazing. Very knowledgeable about the food and gave us great suggestions. I had the veal tenderloin. It was very tender and the marsala wine sauce was to die for. My husband had the monk fish over pasta with mussels, sausage and prosciutto. He said it was the best meal he ever had. Definitely worth the drive, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Had dinner tonight at Port Cafe based on Trip Advisor ratings. Food was absolutely delicious! The kitchen is open and you can watch. Staff is excellent and give each table their attention. Would definitely go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank suzy711q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ports Cafe also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing