We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel was running down due to closure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desroches Island Resort
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Had been really looking forward to going on this trip for my husbands 60th Birthday. We book a long way in advance to go early Feb but about 8-10 weeks prior to trip was told the hotel was closing on the 12th Jan as it had been purchased by Four Seasons. We were offered another resort but decided to change our dates to work in with the closure. on the whole it is a lovely island and I'm sure when has refurbishment with Four Seasons it will be stunning. During our stay however, we felt the hotel was running things down and they ran out of lots of food and most of the staff were not really that bothered with the few guests who were left. Carly and Tom however did go out of their way to make our trip special. A bit disappointing

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

I was there in Nov, but they are still building the four seasons hotel...can only imagine how beautiful its going to be.

Stayed in a villa that was beyond beautiful!

Service from the staff that remind was incredible, def it would be a great family holiday. Maybe not so much for the little ones..but def an island to put on your list of untouched places with first class service

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clarina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

When it came to the most romantic spot in the world Seychelles always wins so we thought why not return to the place that we enjoyed our honeymoon but do it slightly differently. The idea of a private island away from it all really is dream like and once we looked in the island further we couldn't wait to get out there. Our week long holiday didnt disappoint. After taking the long journey to Seychelles the small plane that welcomes you to the Island really is a SMALL plane so deep breaths! Luckily its a short flight and then I can easily say I have never quite had a welcome like it. You are greeted by all the staff waving and smiling and everyone knows your name it's such a lovely touch. After that you are whisked off to your rooms with no check in hassles so you can literally start unwinding from the moment you land.. Everything about the rooms, the setting the food the staff is about relaxation. The people are so friendly you can help but feel like youve come home.. We stayed part of the week on one side of the island and then were upgraded to the villas for the rest of the stay as it was our anniversary. Both aspects of the hotel were enjoyable and the convenience of being near the main part of the hotel and the restaurant was nice but the seclusion of the villas a bike ride away from the main hub was simply wonderful.. We had our own private garden and beach part and it was heavenly. We spent our days bike riding around different parts of the island meeting locals and the turtles! We nearly adopted a baby one too! The nights were spent enjoying the hotels menu which changed each day within our week and watching the stars it really was the most chilled out week of our lives! By the end of it it did feel like we had the whole island to ourselves a lot of the time and we were waking around shoe-less a true sign that you've adapted to island life! The staff were impeccable the food the whole place was divine and we can only hope to go again.. They were very accommodating food wise as I was on no carbs low sugar diet and they made sure I had alternatives and you can pre order items you may need as its an island..! The only negative I have is the mosquitoes.. there are loads of them and they bite A LOT! Take your own repellent the strongest stuff you can find and do not set foot out of your room without it all over any skin thats on display.. I mean this. There is a medical centre and we did have to visit it they got us so bad but hey there's always a price for paradise on earth right?!

Room Tip: The villas are well worth the spend the whole place is amazing though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeevSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years and what a treat. If you're looking for real barefoot luxury; stunning surroundings and excellent service and food, look no further. Desroche is a traveler and luxury holiday maker's dream come true. Wish we could go back this year but understand island is closed until January 2017. Sincerely hopw the redevelopment does not destro the discrete perfection of this place.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picoiyer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We stayed for a week on Desroches and it is indeed a perfect island paradise. We often felt like we had the whole island to ourselves. This is partly due to the 'less is more' mentality of the previous owners who, fortunately, resisted over-developing the small island. Moreover, the villas are discretely positioned behind natural foliage so we were not aware of them when walking along the beaches. I really hope the new owners resist over-developing the island, and maintain the natural and quiet beauty of this piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Desroches Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desroches Island Resort

Address: PO Box 378, Desroches Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Desroches Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Desroches Island
Price Range: $1,309 - $3,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desroches Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARADISE PERFECTION ON A HIDDEN SEYCHELLES ISLAND The advent of civilisation can often disturb the allure and simplicity of paradise. To delight in ultimate luxury there usually has to be sacrifice. But what if we want it all . . . To experience an untouched natural sanctuary on an island in the far reaches of the Indian Ocean, without leaving behind the sophistication that modern life has to offer . . . Desroches Island is a luxurious Seychelles Resort in the Amirante Archipelago, considered to be of the most pristine and untouched islands still around today. The naturally inspired and tastefully modern Beach Retreats and Exclusive Villas provide the epitome in luxury and opulent indulgence. Blessed with one of the world's healthiest climates, and miles of unblemished beaches, Desroches Island is a refuge for romance, adventure and pampered relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desroches Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing