We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
23
8
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
8
4
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was the final night of our week-long trip through upstate New York and we just wanted to relax. We had been to Lake George Village many times, but this time we opted for Hague thinking it would be less hectic and more peaceful, and we were right. The views are stunning, our Hostess, Judy was very nice, and the house itself is a wonderful lake George history museum. There is a bit of an issue with steps, their being uneven and having no railing at the front, and being very steep going up to the second floor. But it was nothing we couldn't deal with. Otherwise, everything was splendid. The room was very quiet, the veranda was large and afforded a couple of very nice views, and the bathroom was clean and well-appointed. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Three of the four rooms open up to the large veranda. Any of these rooms is worth the stay. Our bed was very comfortable and French Doors gave us an opportunity to appreciate the clean, crisp fresh air as we slept.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The house and setting are beautiful but taking luggage in to and out of the B&B on those stone steps (with no railing) is arduous. Unfortunately we were not able to check-in until after dark and that made it even more difficult. This definitely would not be a location for anyone with mobility problems. However, on the plus side, the breakfast was lovely as were Judith (host) and her assistant Tracy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwynne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We are repeat quests at Ruah. Last summer was our first visit to Ruah and the town of Hague.
Both are a step back in time, a more low key, relaxing environment to enjoy. Ruah is a beautiful,
older,historic home with some quirks, but I wouldn't expect otherwise. The view of the lake is
exceptional. We were back again this past August and had another wonderful time. Breakfasts
are served at 9:00 a.m., were delicious and different everyday. We were there for a week, no repeats on the menu. Judy and Peter are lovely hosts, informative, available, very warm and friendly. Hague and Ruah, bring you back to a time where we were not so driven by technology
and the need to be connected to everyone and everything at all times. We enjoyed every minute
of being 'unplugged', for a much needed break. We hope to return.

Room Tip: If someone has a problem with stairs, this would not be the place for them. All rooms are on the second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntP0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It is a beautiful house with nice decorum. The host are charming, when they are introducing the environment. However the bathrooms are rundown(the shower curtains smells), the breakfasts are severed in a rush. We barely started the meal, plates are taken away.

We were sitting on the Porch and enjoying the view, the front door was locked behind us. Later we found a stick note on the door " Lock the door!"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiger Lily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulchawil3, Owner at Ruah Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We are always concerned when a guest does not feel comfortable in our home. However, we had no indication that these guests had any issues. They seemed to be having a very enjoyable stay. If they had indicated any displeasure, we certainly would have addressed it. Breakfast dishes were cleared, after asking if they were finished, to allow them to linger engaged in conversation without dirty dishes in front of them. And they did linger at the table for an hour or more. The buffet dishes were removed when they were empty of the food being served. The note was placed on the door as a reminder. If doors are not locked, strangers just walk in without ringing a bell and we have valuable items in the house, as well as our concern for our guests and their valuables. All guests are given a key to the front door upon arrival and are asked to please re lock the front door. We are sorry if that procedure offended them. As far as her comment on bathrooms and shower curtain....the curtain was new, so perhaps that was the "smell".

We have owned our home for 30 years and have been in business for 20 years. We take great pride in our home and have graciously welcomed thousands of very happy guests, many of whom return year after year. However, we are always dismayed when someone is less than delighted with their stay. Unfortunately, we cannot correct something unless it is brought to our attention, not after the fact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

When we arrived we were fortunate enough to be able to park near the porch steps. We walked up 4 steps to the porch - 2 more to the main room and 18 to our room. There was no one to assist us with our luggage. My husband and I are in our 70's. The steps were enough without making 5 trips with clothes, luggage, laptop etc. The paint was chipped and old and needed some serious maintenance. They are looking to sell so I suppose as little maintenance as possible is being done. We were ready to leave as soon as we arrived. After two days we asked if we could leave early - we made a 5 day reservation. We were told we could leave anytime we wanted but we had to pay for the complete reservation. The cost with taxes was $275. per day. We have stayed in Hamptons that were nicer. We were told that if they could rent our room out they would reimburse us. I suppose that didn't happen.

However, the breakfasts were very nice - views beautiful, very quiet and the guests were wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulchawil3, Owner at Ruah Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

These guests made a reservation 3 months prior to their stay. They immediately received confirmation, which clearly states what our policy is on early departure. If they were uncomfortable with this policy, they did not express it. Nor did they express any displeasure with their stay. They merely said they decided to leave early to visit with their daughter. This was a very busy weekend and we had turned away several reservation requests. We are a 4 room bed and breakfast, and we do not have a bell boy on staff. However, upon their arrival I did ask if I could help with their luggage. Our housekeeper also offered help. Although my husband and I are also 70, we always offer help with luggage. if stairs were a concern, they did not indicate it. We have had many prospective guests who were concerned with stairs and specifically addressed that before making the reservation. We are sorry that their stay was not as enjoyable as the 99% of our other guests, who have graciously expressed their delight in our guest books over our 20 years of being in business. Our home is 105 years old and we have lovingly owned it for 30 years. We take great pride in it and are constantly complimented on our attention to the house, as well as it being featured in several magazines and on PBS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews