We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay on Lake George”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hague B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed two nights at Ruah ad it was great. The house is beautiful, big and perfectly located in front of the lake.
The room was awesome, perfectly furnished, silent and with a great view on Lake George.
The breakfast was gourgeous, everything is very good, especially the homemade omelette. The owners, Peter and Judith Foster, are very kind and they will make you feel like at home.
Me and my husband love this place, it was our second time here, and it won’t certainly be the last! We love Ruah!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was the final night of our week-long trip through upstate New York and we just wanted to relax. We had been to Lake George Village many times, but this time we opted for Hague thinking it would be less hectic and more peaceful, and we were right. The views are stunning, our Hostess, Judy was very nice, and the house itself is a wonderful lake George history museum. There is a bit of an issue with steps, their being uneven and having no railing at the front, and being very steep going up to the second floor. But it was nothing we couldn't deal with. Otherwise, everything was splendid. The room was very quiet, the veranda was large and afforded a couple of very nice views, and the bathroom was clean and well-appointed. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Three of the four rooms open up to the large veranda. Any of these rooms is worth the stay. Our bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The house and setting are beautiful but taking luggage in to and out of the B&B on those stone steps (with no railing) is arduous. Unfortunately we were not able to check-in until after dark and that made it even more difficult. This definitely would not be a location for anyone with mobility problems. However, on the plus side, the breakfast was lovely as were Judith (host) and her assistant Tracy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwynne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We are repeat quests at Ruah. Last summer was our first visit to Ruah and the town of Hague.
Both are a step back in time, a more low key, relaxing environment to enjoy. Ruah is a beautiful,
older,historic home with some quirks, but I wouldn't expect otherwise. The view of the lake is
exceptional. We were back again this past August and had another wonderful time. Breakfasts
are served at 9:00 a.m., were delicious and different everyday. We were there for a week, no repeats on the menu. Judy and Peter are lovely hosts, informative, available, very warm and friendly. Hague and Ruah, bring you back to a time where we were not so driven by technology
and the need to be connected to everyone and everything at all times. We enjoyed every minute
of being 'unplugged', for a much needed break. We hope to return.

Room Tip: If someone has a problem with stairs, this would not be the place for them. All rooms are on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntP0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It is a beautiful house with nice decorum. The host are charming, when they are introducing the environment. However the bathrooms are rundown(the shower curtains smells), the breakfasts are severed in a rush. We barely started the meal, plates are taken away.

We were sitting on the Porch and enjoying the view, the front door was locked behind us. Later we found a stick note on the door " Lock the door!"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiger Lily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulchawil3, Owner at Ruah Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We are always concerned when a guest does not feel comfortable in our home. However, we had no indication that these guests had any issues. They seemed to be having a very enjoyable stay. If they had indicated any displeasure, we certainly would have addressed it. Breakfast dishes were cleared, after asking if they were finished, to allow them to linger engaged in conversation without dirty dishes in front of them. And they did linger at the table for an hour or more. The buffet dishes were removed when they were empty of the food being served. The note was placed on the door as a reminder. If doors are not locked, strangers just walk in without ringing a bell and we have valuable items in the house, as well as our concern for our guests and their valuables. All guests are given a key to the front door upon arrival and are asked to please re lock the front door. We are sorry if that procedure offended them. As far as her comment on bathrooms and shower curtain....the curtain was new, so perhaps that was the "smell".

We have owned our home for 30 years and have been in business for 20 years. We take great pride in our home and have graciously welcomed thousands of very happy guests, many of whom return year after year. However, we are always dismayed when someone is less than delighted with their stay. Unfortunately, we cannot correct something unless it is brought to our attention, not after the fact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ruah Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruah Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9221 Lakeshore Dr, Hague, NY 12836-2023
Region: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hague
Price Range: $230 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruah Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing