We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Winery at Keuka Lake”
Review of Heron Hill Winery

Heron Hill Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Heron Hill Winery, rated as one of the most spectacular tasting rooms in the world by Travel + Leisure, is nestled into a hillside overlooking scenic Keuka Lake in New York's Finger Lakes region. For over 40 years, our family-owned winery has won many awards for its distinctive, elegant wines and continues to be at the forefront of cool climate winemaking. Establishing our heritage among some of the first vinifera wineries in the Finger Lakes, John and Josephine Ingle founded Heron Hill Winery in 1977. Through perseverance and long-term dedication to excellence in winemaking, Heron Hill Winery has become a world-class destination for wine as well as a wedding event venue. For the Ingles, practicing sustainability is a way of life. Respect for the land in how we farm our estate vineyards, and respect for the consumer by offering wines with an authentic sense of place and by providing visitors with a friendly and informative experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Heron Hill was, by far, our favorite of all the wineries we visited during our stay at Keuka Lake. The building itself is beautiful, the atomosphere is nice without being too party-ish or too stuffy. The wineslinger knew her stuff as well. And the wine? SUPER easy to drink (and I'm definitely not a wine connoisseur!). We will be returning to this place during our next trip up.

1  Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Jaime - thanks for the super kind words and raving review! It's humbling to hear that we were one of your favorite wineries among the fantastic lineup of wineries on the lake alone. I hope you were able to take some Heron Hill wine home with you to enjoy. We look forward to your return. Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 63 reviews
"keuka lake"
in 45 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 31 reviews
"game bird"
in 6 reviews
"finger lakes"
in 31 reviews
"great view"
in 16 reviews
"gift shop"
in 14 reviews
"grape juice"
in 5 reviews
"unoaked chardonnay"
in 3 reviews
"great wine"
in 13 reviews
"nice selection of wines"
in 3 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 8 reviews
"would definitely go back"
in 3 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 9 reviews
"dry reds"
in 4 reviews
"my favorite"
in 3 reviews
"tasting area"
in 4 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Great winery to stop at for lunch. We enjoy the wine here, but nothing tops the view and it’s one of the few on the wine trail that offers food in addition to wine.

1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi James,
Thanks so much for the great review! Great to hear you enjoy our wine as well as our café. We're all about creating good times shared with friends over a great wine or craft beverage and food to enjoy with it. And we have to agree, the view is always worth stopping for too :-)
Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Great view and friendly staff. Large variety of wines to pick from. Cafe available on site photo opportunity available

Thank morsut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi there - thanks for the great review, and visiting our winery. I hope you found some favorite wines and had a memorable experience! Please continue to support our business and the Finger Lakes Wine Industry.
Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Love the wine in this area. We have not been here in a while, we took our friends for a tasting and we loved the wines. The prices are very good and the staff were very nice.

Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hello! Thanks so much for the nice review and visiting us on Keuka Lake. Our view never disappoints and we're so happy we are able to share it with everyone while enjoying our wines. Come see us again and bring more friends!
Thanks again - Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Great wine, impressive building. Nice staff and gift shop. They also had some whisky and ciders available for tasting.

Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi there - thanks so much for visiting and writing us a review. We're happy to hear you had a great experience. Our tasting room is rated as one of the most spectacular tasting rooms in the world, and we're so lucky to be able to share it with everyone who visits. The great reviews mean so much to us. Come back and see us again.
Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heron Hill Winery also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Heron Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing