We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
30
2
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
2
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hudson valley b and b lovely home hot tub sitting room culinary institute of america fdr cia guests
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We rented out the 3 rooms at Fox Hill for 2 nights to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday and had an amazing time. We had 8 people stay with us Saturday night and even had a 9th just join us for breakfast on Sunday and Sheila was happy to accommodate us. Sheila provided 2 different delicious breakfast options each morning, one sweet and one savory for each person to pick their preference.

There was ample outdoors space for us to walk around or hang out by the pool which Sheila kept open one more week than she had planned just for us. She provided towels for the pool for us to use. We went in the hot tub one night which was another great touch to the place.

The inside of the house was very clean and tastefully decorated. We were allowed to sit in the common room and watch tv together if we wanted to. The rooms each came with a queen bed and separate side room with a pullout couch. There was also a private bathroom for each of the rooms. Sheila provided clean towels int he bathroom. She also made the bed when we went out during the day. There is a cat living in the house which you will see downstairs but the rooms were still very clean without any cat hair or cat smell of any sort.

The location was great with a lot of beautiful scenery around the Hudson Valley within a 15 minute drive. Sheila was able to provide some great restaurant recommendations for dinner as well. Overall it was a terrific stay and perfect for the quiet relaxing getaway that we were looking for.

Room Tip: all rooms came with a queen bed and a pullout couch so we were able to fit more than 2 people in each room for an extra charge
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The ride to this B&B was beautiful. We pulled up the driveway and we were greeted by Sheila immediately. Her hospitality was superb to say the least.

She gave a little tour and showed us to our guest room: "Aglaia". Beautiful room and tastefully decorated.

We had breakfast on the deck both mornings - so serene, and the whether was just perfect. The breakfast was phenomenal both mornings, healthy and delicious!!

Love the courtesy bikes available. We took them for a stroll on the Walkway over the Hudson, the trail was just minutes from the B&B.

Unfortunately, we did not get to use the pool or hot tub, which we had planned to take advantage of; but we were site-seeing so much that we got back exhausted both nights. The property is beautiful - the pool, hot tub area, and the beautiful garden and Koi pond are so peaceful.

We're already making plans to return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheeMrsPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This was our first stay at Fox Hill, but it definitely won't be our last. Sheila is a gracious host and a fabulous cook. Each day you fill out a form and check your preferences for the next day's breakfast, as well as the time you would like to eat. The breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. She creates fabulous omelettes, makessweet potato fries, French Toast - you get the idea. There are DVDs available as well as lots and lots of books, interesting posters on the walls and all in all a feeling of warmth, creativity and hospitality.

Don't miss a session in the hot tub or a chance to go for a swim in the pool. The surroudning gardens are well kept and lovely to look at. Fox Hill is centrally located and only a few minutes' drive from most of the attractions in the area.

My husband and I wanted a few days away just to de-stress but we felt so peaceful after our stay at Fox Hill, that it was like taking a two week vacation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This place is great. Only 3 rooms in the entire inn. Yes you have to take care of yourself but you are also left alone to do what you want and we had the pool and the hot tub (in the rain, which was beautiful) all to ourselves. It is centrally located and you never feel as though you are in a 'hotel' you feel as though you are a guest in a friend's home. AND the breakfast is great. Home made with vegetables from the garden. If you need someone to baby you go to a Quality inn. I would and will go back in a heartbeat. Also, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklicato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

If you want to be treated as family rather than a guest, this is the place for you. That means: you will make your own bed, clean your own bedroom/bathroom & bus your breakfast dishes to the counter. Shelia told us she did not do beds or toilets. Your linens & towels may be changed once a week. A single-spaced, small print, full page of rules is in your eclectically furnished room. Foxhill is, however, centrally located for exploring the Hudson River Valley and is a beautiful, peaceful place.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is adjacent to the kitchen, breakfast smells are strong. The stairs to the second floor rooms are very steep.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejules2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews