We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the StoneGate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2008

My husband and I and my brothers and sister and spouses had a wonderful stay at the StoneGate for four week days in June 2008. The rooms were very pleasant, spacious, clean and well supplied. The wi-fi access worked flawlessly.

Best of all was the breakfast served up each morning. Jane served several varieties of freshly baked pastries, pancakes and freshly cooked quiches and other wonderful breakfast dishes. Fresh fruit each day. Both decaf and regular coffee. It was all made and ready at the time we requested and all we had to do was come down and eat!

The very nice owners, Neil and Jane Thomas, are there when you need them and not there when you don't want them.

The house itself is charming and prettily situated on a large grassy and well-planted lot in a quiet little town. It's conveniently located to Poughkeepsie, Hyde Park, the Culinary Institute of America (and its five restaurants) and to West Point. Much to do in the area.

The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and about local restaurants.

The room prices were very reasonable.

We had no complaints and highly recommend the StoneGate.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank badger718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2008

We stayed one night and had a very relaxing, enjoyable time. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and Jane's breakfast was VERY yummy. The room was large and had everything we needed, included wireless internet and a DVD player. We brought our tandem and they even stored it in their garage for us. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank KATHLEEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We recently stayed in Stonegate BB for a weekend and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Jane's breakfasts are delicious. There is always ice, glasses and a refrigerator available for the guests. Jane helped us to book a restaurant for the evening.

It is a perfect place to explore all the nearby mansions in Hyde Park and Rhinebeck from, as well as towns like New Paltz.

We had dinner at Stonehedge Restaurant nearby. Wonderful service and food.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pampoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We have stayed at B&Bs all over the country and can say without reservation that the Stonegate is a jewel! It was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were wonderful. The hosts are lovely and warm and the rooms are beautiful with all the amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank L0vesBandBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

We stayed at Stonegate for a few days in early August. When we couldn't find an available B&B in nearby New Paltz, several B&B's highly recommended this place. The house is located in a lovely country neighborhood in Highland, reminiscent of so many idyllic areas in rural America. We were looking to hike in the Shawngunks and Highland is only 6 miles away (and a nice drive on the back roads if you're so inclined). We stayed in the Illinois room facing the ridge named Illinois. Everything was splendid, we met some very interesting families at breakfast, and above all, hosts Jane and Neil are the most friendly, naturally pleasant people you'll ever meet. Very relaxing.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Hikerprman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
9.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.9 km away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
7.8 km away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.7 km away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range: $191 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $130 to $190 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing