We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie(Poughkeepsie)
US$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$194
US$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
131
14
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
14
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfireside roomhudson valleylovely hostsb bsfresh fruitvanderbilt mansiontheir beautiful homewished we could have stayed longerovernight visitday bedmid hudsonworking gas fireplaceensuite bathroommountain viewnext morningrelaxing stayevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the B&B in Highland NY while on a couples weekend to visit the FDR museum and library. The house is about 125 years old and wonderfully furnished with old dark wood pieces and lots of period wallpaper. They have 4 rooms each with ensuite bathroom. We had the Blue suite which had a nice queen bed and a small room with a daybed and adequate bathroom. The house is on a quiet street with lots of trees and flowers, plus a wraparound porch great for sitting.
Now for the food: breakfast was delicious. Two kinds of frittata, maple sausage, ginger spice pancakes, homemade cherry scones and fruit. You have access to the living room and a fridge where we had some wine. I wish it had been a ,on get stay but the owners are very welcoming and kind.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cdufinetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This lovely B & B was perfect for us. It was across the Hudson from Poughkeepsie and Hyde Park attractions. The breakfast was super and allowed us to forgo lunch each day, which made more time for the sightseeing. The walk across the Hudson on the pedestrian bridge (the longest pedestrian bridge over water in the world!) was wonderful and only a short drive from the B & B. The owners are wonderful, too, and treat their guests like family.

Room Tip: Didn't take note of which rooms were better than others.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Jeanette49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We so appreciated the owners and their daughter (who was there helping), all of them warm, welcoming, unassuming, helpful but unintrusive folks. We were in the Southside Room, a very clean, modest-sized room with a smallish bathroom and a wonderfully comfortable, supportive queen bed with firm pillows. Though our room was between two others, noise was not an issue. The owners had thought of details such as light-blocking shades that could be lowered at night, a magnifying makeup mirror in the bathroom, and a small LED flashlight (perhaps for reading at night without disturbing one's bedmate?) The wall air conditioning unit could be placed in silent mode. The property is beautifully landscaped, and it's too bad we didn't have time to spend on the big wraparound porch. The breakfast muffins were good, and the egg dishes, apple bread pudding, and fresh fruit were luscious. We hope to return on a future visit to the Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MNinJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This place is as pleasant as it looks – charming, comfortable, impeccably clean. The owners instantly make you feel at home. Hearty homemade breakfast is beautifully served at the common table and comes with a nice chat with other guests – indeed, very interesting people stay there!

The Would restaurant is 8 min away by foot on the same street, and we were glad to leave the car and walk there. We loved the food and ambiance. Famous local attraction – Walkway over Hudson river – is five min away (Poughkeepsie side).

Olana Historic Site – our main destination – is about an hour drive from there and is definitely worth visiting.

We could not be more happy and more grateful for our stay at Stonegate.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NYAnatolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane T, Owner at Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the attractions in the Hudson Valley. Come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

This is our fifth July in a row staying at the Stonegate. We love this inn for the excellent breakfasts with multiple protein options, fresh fruit and homemade baked goods, for the immaculate cleanliness of the house and porch, (and top of the line modern climate control,) and for the lovely hosts of 17 years, Neil and Jane, who are kind and available -- happy to offer local tips -- but also happy to let guests do their own thing.

The house has four beautiful rooms. Fireside has the only working gas fireplace; Illinois Mountain View has the only king size bed. Fireside and the Blue Suite have daybeds for a third sleeper, (Blue's is more kid-sized,) and Southside has an an antique desk. All have en suite bathrooms with showers. The pricing is very reasonable for the quality of the experience.

There's parking on the grounds, Uber and Taxis are an easy 10 mins from the Poughkeepsie train station (Amtrak or Metro North,) and, PRO TIP: car rentals are cheaper in Poughkeepsie than in NYC.

For a luxuriously comfortable, quiet break, this is a perfect spot. Sit on the porch at dusk and count the fireflies and your blessings.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Giulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane T, Owner at Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

We are so pleased to hear how happy your experiences have been. It is guests like you which make our roles as hosts fulfilling. Looking forward to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews