We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in the heart of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We had the best time over the weekend, I am so glad we were able to stay at Stonegate Bed and Breakfast.

My wife is a hit or miss with B&Bs. She enjoys the quaint setting but when you have to share a bathroom? She's turned off and doesn't have an enjoyable time. I researched Stonegate Bed and Breakfast and made sure there was a private bathroom. We were in the Fireside room which not only was a large space, it had a fireplace as well as a day bed.

The best part about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, its close to everything. If you have a child going to one of the universities, this is a unique alternative to lodging over a typical hotel.

It was my birthday weekend, I enjoy this area and had dinner plans at the Culinary Institute of America.

We checked in Friday afternoon and our stay was until Sunday. The proprietors are the nicest folks. Neil and Jane were very accommodating to us, they made us feel welcome in their beautiful home.

I brought a bottle of wine with us. We sat outside on the porch and drank our wine. The clean, country air was invigorating. It really was enjoyable just to sit and relax. We were actually on the go the entire weekend. From Woodstock, to the Craft People, you will never be bored in this area.

For breakfast, I think I scared Neil! I wake up at 5ish, I was sitting in the parlor reading my Kindle. He was up around 6am and made a fresh pot of coffee. We drank coffee, he put out fresh scones and pancakes for everyone to enjoy. If your thinking you're getting a choice of eggs, forget it. They offer two different types of frittatas and some frozen Jones sausage links. On the table are fresh fruits, muffins and scones. Very enjoyable foods for the most important meal of the day.

The room was cozy, we opened the windows at night and had great cross breezes. The bed was comfy, everything about our stay was a joy.

I highly recommend Stonegate Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the Fireside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BillySalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Amazing bed and breakfast in Highland. Very quaint area, the place itself is beyond charming, very well maintained, clean and comfortable. The people who run it, we met Neal and his daughter we very accommodating particularly with respect to dietary restrictions for breakfast. And as for the breakfast, it's phenomenal, all freshly prepared with care. Nice area to eat breakfast and chat with fellow travelers. Only regret was staying 1 night, would definitely want to come back and enjoy the area and Stonegate more. Looking forward to our next trip back.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank BoxingLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

My wife & I stopped for the evening I'm Highland on our way to Vermont & had the most excellent experience at the Stonegate. It felt like home from the moment we arrived, the people are incredible & the Illinois Mtn view room couldn't have been more impressive! We loved every single thing about the Stonegate. The owners and their daughter ensure your absolute happiness with the entire experience! We highly recommend it! You will not be disappointed!

-Travis & Chris

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

You just can not find a better place to stay. Jane and Neil and lets not forget their daughter Terry are wonderful people. From the moment we arrived they made us feel like family. The rooms are nicely made up and are very clean. The food each morning was made with great pride. The Stonegate is home away from home for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skolo12401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the B&B in Highland NY while on a couples weekend to visit the FDR museum and library. The house is about 125 years old and wonderfully furnished with old dark wood pieces and lots of period wallpaper. They have 4 rooms each with ensuite bathroom. We had the Blue suite which had a nice queen bed and a small room with a daybed and adequate bathroom. The house is on a quiet street with lots of trees and flowers, plus a wraparound porch great for sitting.
Now for the food: breakfast was delicious. Two kinds of frittata, maple sausage, ginger spice pancakes, homemade cherry scones and fruit. You have access to the living room and a fridge where we had some wine. I wish it had been a ,on get stay but the owners are very welcoming and kind.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cdufinetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.9 km away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
7.8 km away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.7 km away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range: $190 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $130 to $190 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing