We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
62
32
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
32
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice stay delicious pizza spent days casa jules beautiful beach valerie trips cabin guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

5 stars NOT based on the Beverly Hills ratings but in the middle of Africa this is probably as good as it gets.

Great accommodation, Brilliant service. Elizabeth the hostess and her team leave you wanting for nothing. They really do make your stay welcome.

All the reviews said to try their pizza and they did not disappoint. Simple pizzas made in a wood fired oven. Beautiful crispy base.

A little disappointed in the beach though. Pristine water but littered with broken glass. You either have to wear foot gear or watch your step very carefully. Certainly not as beautiful as Tofu beach in Inumbane.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Lee_Durban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Just spent 5 days at Zombie Cucumber/Casa Jules. Superb food - chef did magnificent king fish on the braai. Stuffed crabs were first class. Pizza oven produces delicious pizzas. Staff are all highly trained, service is excellent and hosts Bruno and Valerie make it an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Standalone cottages are cool and well decorated
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jmmacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

Try the yummy wood fired pizza! The service was very quick (a massive bonus in Vilankulo when traveling with two children under 4!) The restaurant overlooks a beautiful garden and swimming pool. Don't let the name put you off!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Kiwiana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We enjoyed 5 nights at this peaceful hideaway last month. The staff are very attentive and polite, rooms are super clean and beds are excellent. Pizzas are an obvious choice for dinner in the bread oven and the bar is well stocked. The swimming pool is awesome and lit at night.

Aimed towards couples and backpackers (8 person dorm is 400mt/night low season), its very safe and very peaceful.

Room Tip: WiFi is near the reception so WO have it in your room, get on with a high number.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to have dinner near our hotel - and decided on this place famous for their pizzas. The atmosphere was great.. Typical Mozambique chillaxed. The service was also very good, they let me do a half and half with my pizza, they also showed me cut-outs for the two sizes they do. They use a wood-fired oven and offer thin base pizzas only. I had seafood which was fresh not frozen which made a pleasant change. Only criticism was that the base was a bit dense and drinks were a bit expensive, also my partner ordered the rump which was cut way too thin so ended up being more well-done than med-rare.
I'd recommend this place, if only to be able to tell your friends that you went to "Zombie Cucumber".

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews