We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down, horrible service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run down, horrible service!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We made reservations here as a halfway.stop on our trip. Door had appeared to have been kicked in several times. Myself, husband and three kids stayed in a double room and got a rollaway. YOU WILL GET THREE TOWELS, NO MATTER WHAT...NO MORE, EVEN WHEN REQUESTED- EXPLAINING 3 TOWELS WILL NOT WORK FOR FIVE PEOPLE! This place is very dated and the beds are really horrible. If we would have required a multiple night stay near Hornell I would not have stayed a second night!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leasha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
your stay with us was two years ago, i was not the manager at that time. but i would first like to apoligize for the experience that you had. this type of service is not acceptable....ever. at this time we offer as many towels a guest may ask for as well as any other need they may have. It is this very reason why the change in management was made, yet there is no excuse for your experience. all i can say after a heart felt sorry, is that these issues have all been addressed and its a promise from me to all future guest a happy satisfied stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    18
    21
    21
See reviews for
31
13
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I made the mistake of staying here on two occasions... And you know the old saying, "blank me once, shame on you, blank me twice, shame on me?" yeah... Shame on me.

The first time I stayed here was in winter and the room thermostat had been shut off for apparently the entire season. It was set at 50 degrees, and unfortunately, they use electric baseboard heaters which no kidding took 4 hours and 15 minutes for the temperature to creep up to about 68 degrees or so.

The second time I stayed here was about a month later and opted for the townhouse (it was only $90) separate bedroom, and living room, fridge, microwave, semi-furnished kitchen, etc... Wow. It was gross.

The microwave when I opened it was black with mold. Not a "little bit" either (and not that that would have been okay either but still, There was a ton of mold in that thing)

When I turned on the bathwster, it actually came out brown for a few seconds and smelled like sewage.

Them, when I flushed the toilet, blue syrup came up. That was the proof that thus room had not been used or cleaned in at least a month.

Smelled terrible, and clerk was too busy "doing her taxes" to give a hoot.

Stay at Comfort Inn nearby if in the area-- let this Econo Lodge rot on it's own. Gross.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nquizitiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econo l, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
thank you for your review. recently when accepting my new position as manager, we began renovating our property. our townhouses have been stripped, cleaned and painted! they are now beautiful. i also require all staff to check all rooms that are reserved that day.....2xs. once housekeeping looks, second the desk clerk ending shift also checks. then i personally recheck. in doing so all heat is turned up and we know our promise to our guest of a clean warm room upon arrival will stand true. i am so sorry of your past experience, but it would be wonderful if you would allow me to show you a different side to our hotel! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hornell hotels

New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I stayed at Econo Lodge in Hornell for 3 nights and I will stay there again when in the area . The heat and hot water were great , the room was clean comfortable and cozy .
The free breakfast was good and the staff very nice and friendly .

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Travelled with three collagues in three seperate rooms, stayed two nights. Motel needs major updates, rooms are used up and worn out. All three of us experienced cold showers and when questioning the front desk received no offer of assistance or relocation. No alarm clocks in atleast two rooms. No internet in my room as advertised. When I questioned the front desk I was told "You probably don't get the internet in your room (location).Bugs crawling on bathroom floor. Ruperts is closed and up for rent .I will most likely e in Hornell multiple times over the next three years... I will not be returning to the Econolodge.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerfrommd051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I picked this hotel after reading a couple of reviews about "Rupert's Restaurant" which according to the Econo Lodge's homepage was located on the premises. Well after 4 hours of travel I was told they were closed. So finding food turned into a tougher thing than being able to walk across the parking lot - in other words PITA. Walked into the room on a 85 degree humid day to the room being set on heat and at 85 which made it smell a bit funny. All in all though - hotel was clean, bed fairly comfortable. Ice machine a trudge back to the office with the somewhat friendly desk clerk. Alarm clock needed to be moved as it was across the room and not next to the bed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaders11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornell
27.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn
27.6 km away
Super 8 Bath Hammondsport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wellsville
32.7 km away
Best Inn Wellsville
Best Inn Wellsville
#3 of 3 in Wellsville
29 reviews
36.2 km away
The Best Western Plus Hammondsport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 7462 Seneca Rd N, Hornell, NY 14843-9141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Price range (per night): $82 - $123
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRAVELING MORE OFTEN IS IMPORTANT FOR YOUR HEALTH AND HAPPINESS!!!!! Hornell Econo Lodge is located directly off I-86 over looking the small quaint town. It's nestled in a quiet secluded area with a beautiful scenic overlook. We offer outdoor PET FRIENDLY rooms that you may drive right up to, or you may prefer our two story balcony rooms to enjoy our view. If you rather an indoor Corridor, well we offer that as well! Our townhouses and suites are fully furnished and include all the amenities offered. Each room is spacious with microwaves/ fridge, table and seating for two, full sized beds or upgrade to king.(our king room Offers a wonderful writing/work space, great for those traveling on business or maybe just a getaway for rest/relaxation). Faxing and printing available as we are open 24 hours. All rooms have HIGH SPEED INTERNET streaming through them and include HBO. We have partnered with many area restaurants and lounges; they are offering discounted items on their menu as well as specials. JUST SHOW YOUR ECONO LODGE ROOM KEY! We have just updated our rooms with New Beds and New Flat Screen televisions. We have also, partnered up with the Hornell YMCA. The YMCA have given us some passes to their facility for 2 years, We are allowed to use there facility and many amenities that they offer. Come stay with us and check out the new updated rooms that we have and also the YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hornell
Hornell Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing