We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Pines(Old Forge)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
96
42
22
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
42
22
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomfourth lakeadirondack chairsthe ownerno elevatorlake viewwrap around porchbreakfast buffetno air conditioninglaughing loonadirondack stylenice nightturn of the centurytake advantagecharming villagequaint roomsjacuzzi tub
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Our experience at Woods Inn could not have been much worse. We didn't get the room we reserved - after reserving it directly with the owner. Then dinner the next night was straight out of a box (we know, we run a restaurant) and overpriced. When we wanted to enjoy cocktails in the bar, the bartender was miserable and poured absurdly weak drinks. No one at this place knows how to provide proper service, which is too bad give the location. As for the 'historical restoration', forget it. The owners claim to have a bunch of restoration experience but it's apparently not true because they did a mediocre job of incorporating modern conveniences into an historic building. What a shame. I hope someone who knows how to run a hostelry buys this place. Save your money and stay someplace that actually knows how to provide service.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank US_Traveler_13501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I can't say enough good things about the Woods Inn. The only bad thing is that we only stayed one night and not two. We were there this past weekend (Friday the 17th) and stayed in one of their guide tents. What an incredibly experience! For lack of a better description, the tents are the perfect combination of "woodsy" and "fancy". We stayed in the one down by the water which has its own bath house. The tent is built on a large wooden platform and inside is a queen sized bed, a wood stove, electric heater, two chairs, small table, dressers, a storage trunk, and a clothes rack. The bath house is also heated and has an awesome double shower. I will admit that it was pretty cold in the tent. However, we were expecting it as we were staying late in October. We just dressed warm and cozied up and we were fine. I mean, even though it is incredibly nice, it is still a tent after all.
The setting of the Woods Inn is also perfect. It was so quiet and serene. The Inn itself looks nice and based on how nice the guide tent was, the rooms are probably very nice as well.
We originally planned to go to Old Forge for dinner, but after arriving at the Woods Inn, we decided to stay right there. The restaurant was great as well. After dinner, we went down to the tavern and enjoyed some excellent live music by a local musician. I don't know her name, but she was an incredible singer.
One more thing about the Woods Inn - every single person we encountered there was so nice and helpful. From the woman who checked us in, to our waitress at dinner, and the bartender in the tavern - everyone was friendly and made us feel at home.
We loved our short stay at the Woods Inn and we will definitely be back.
Oh...and make sure to stop at the small bakery in Inlet down the street from the inn. The BEST cookies I've ever tasted....and really friendly service too.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We carefully selected this inn for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. We looked at the website and loved the look of the rooms. We booked a room for two nights a month ahead of time. They have a very nice-looking room online, the "Woodland Retreat." We were staying Friday night and Saturday night. The room we wanted was available Saturday, but not Friday. The owner, Joedda, preferred we not switch into the Woodland Retreat Saturday, because she wanted to be able to leave that open for someone staying Saturday and Sunday. So she told us the next best room available for the 2 nights of Friday and Saturday was room #303. We booked it on September 15th and she charged our card for one night's stay, as is their policy (The rest to be charged at the time of our stay.)

We took time off from work and arranged child care for our children, drove the 3.5 hours to the Woods Inn to be told, "Oops, the owner double booked you. Someone else is staying in that room." The owner had taken our money, written down the reservation and clipped it to the receipt, but not written it in the book. So people who called after us were put into the room we already paid for. All they could offer us was a very tiny, cramped room for one night that was not at all comparable to the rooms on their website, and certainly not like the one we had booked. They could not offer anything for the next night.

They said we could get our money back or a $25 gift certificate towards our next stay. Like we are about to drive 3.5 hours again just to be told they overbooked us again.

We found lodging at The Water’s Edge (It was very nice, separate review) for that night, and spent the night calling places trying to find lodging for Saturday night. Everywhere was booked, so we drove home the next day.

I would never recommend The Woods Inn to anyone, especially anyone with a special event, such as a wedding or a business meeting. This mistake was completely that of the proprietor, not the customer, who followed all rules and timelines, yet The Woods Inn did not correct their mistake. The consequences involve much more than the $180 per night stay; our entire weekend plans were negatively affected and shortened. This was a very difficult weekend to schedule, and we had to waste our time. Although the receptionist herself, Debbie, was very courteous, we were told “I don’t know what to tell you. We double-booked.”

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank IrishDancerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at The Woods Inn for a weekend. They have great rooms, which were unfortunately all taken for a wedding party so we opted for one of their 3 terrific platform tents. We were lucky to get the one right by the water's edge. It is a tent, but boy what a tent! There was a very comfortable queen bed, 2 comfy chairs inside, and 2 on the deck, a desk, lamps, rugs - all the comforts of home. There is a wood stove and heater for cold nights, and a fan for those rare Adirondack days when you need one! ...and then there was the "bath house" - wow, tiled double shower, granite top sink area with plenty of room for stuff.
The rate includes breakfast - great coffee and a good buffet. There is an excellent, reasonably priced dining room (try the Friday night fish fry) and a great pub.
The setting is terrific - right on the lake. "Frisky Otters" is on the property which rents kayaks and gives lessons/tours. A nice plus.
The owners were very friendly and always around. They have done a terrific job restoring this wonderful property. It is a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

When we stayed at the Woods Inn, we were amazed at how we were kept waiting at every turn. We have traveled all over the world...some people just shouldn't be Inn owners. Unfortunately, the owners of the Woods Inn had terrible attitudes. The staff didn't think that customer service was a priority either. They've done a shabby job re-decorating the place and it was not clean--dust bunnies and dirt everywhere. We felt like we were staying in a grandmother's attic. The restaurant was badly lit and they were out of everything on the menu. It was not fun and we will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trip_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews