We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Woods Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Pines(Old Forge)(Great Value!)
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc(Old Forge)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forge Motel(Old Forge)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Christy's Motel(Old Forge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
93
41
21
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
41
21
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomfourth lakeadirondack chairsno elevatorlake viewadirondack styleno air conditioningget awaynice nightturn of the centurytake advantagecharming villagequaint roomsjacuzzi tublocation putsthe owner managerpool table
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018

stayed here this weekend after visiting the adk mountains, it's an old quant original adk hotel, if you're looking for a Holiday Inn experience this isn't the place for you, for starters no tv in the room and no elevator, but if your looking for a nice clean somewhat quiet old place to stay this is it. we stayed on the second floor, while there we looked at the open rooms, all were very nice especially the lake side rooms, big old beds, antique dressers, etc. wood floors radiator type heating, rooms were very warm the night we were there. We will be going back in the Summer to visit and take our canoe and use their beach to launch it. All in all a very nice night spent here it was exactly what I thought it would be like as I stayed in an Old hotel many years ago. Oh there are bathrooms in each room, ours was clean and stocked with shampoo, soap etc. The walk up the stairs isn't bad at all either. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the main street. So I think if you're looking for something different you should try this place, but remember before you slam it for something you don't like remember its an old relic of days gone by-a survivor the only left of about 14 from the turn of the century.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank wetrav2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This was our second autumn visit to the Woods Inn. The hotel complex includes restaurant, tavern, event center and a variety of accommodations. The property is unique in the area. As a rustic destination, it is a throwback to more relaxing times.

The location puts you right where you want to be - lakefront just steps from the water. The shops, and restaurants in the village of Inlet are all an easy walk from the Woods Inn. Be sure to try the maple donuts at Mary's White Pine bakery. For the kids there is a park and playground almost next door.

The owners (Charlie and Nancy) and staff are cheerful, helpful and knowledgeable about the area making sure that your visit is pleasant. No matter what you need, they are there to make your stay a good one. They can tell you where to go, how to get there, who to see and what to do when you arrive. We have enjoyed multiple delicious meals and good times in the restaurant and tavern. The tavern is a fun way to end the evening or have a less fancy meal. Be sure to try the Rocky Point, which is an ice cream drink like a mudslide, but with a black raspberry chamboard addition. They also have a fully equipped game room for the kids.

We stayed in room 304 for this visit. There are only four rooms on the top floor and 304 is at the end of the hall away from the main stairway so it is more private. The exterior stairway serves a semi-private entrance. The mini-fridge and split bathroom with jacuzzi tub were welcome modern conveniences, especially after a day of shopping and hiking. The wi-fi signal was strong and reliable. But the highlight has to be the wonderful view overlooking the lake below your windows.

We previously stayed in the standalone cabin and found it cozy and private. With kitchen facilities and its own porch overlooking the lake it would be great for a pair of couples or family with kids.

This will be an annual destination, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gandemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I think that it is very clear from their photos and description of the property that it is a rustic inn with just basic amenities in the rooms. I stayed in the simplest of rooms with two twin beds. No AC... just a fan. Room was cute and fine; bathroom basic and a bit worn. The hallways are a bit dark and gloomy, but the location and charm of the public spaces was enchanting. First, it feels like a nice private spot when you are there with a gorgeous view of the lake, but it is just steps from the charming village of Inlet. The dock is lovely, and the Adirondack chairs are perfectly situated. There's a perfect place to set in my kayak (or you can rent one right next door). The bar is charming and down to earth. We had a fine meal in the restaurant overlooking the water. It's a place from a different era, and it transports me back to a simpler time. This is what it is, and while I can enjoy a luxury hotel, the authenticity of this place will have me return as often as I can. I consider a great find for me and my family.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We weren't expecting a chain hotel atmosphere or accommodations like a Hilton. We chose it for the location of Old Forge and Inlet. I have never been to this part of the Adirondacks. No TV, refrigerator or microwave bothered us. We wanted a peaceful atmosphere and came to rest and enjoy.
It would have been nice if the housekeeping of our room was better. But it was somewhat taken care of when we mentioned it to the staff. The owner/manager allowed us to leave our tandem kayak by the dock during our 5 day stay. We ate breakfast only available Saturday and Sunday during this time of the year. Price was right for what you got. Can't wait for a do-over.

Linda from New Jersey.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ldhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

So very disappointing...very run down! Cob webs everywhere, not even a Kleenex in the room, no hair dryer, no tv, shades do not work. Have to carry your own luggage up many flights of stairs, grounds are neglected, wicker furniture should be thrown away...nothing to eat until 9:00 am. Went into town for coffee and donuts. $200.00 REALLY...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cp0wers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieF77, Owner at The Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We are so sorry you did not enjoy our rustic lakeside setting. Please always feel free in bringing your concerns up with management as there is often much we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. We do have hair dryers at the front desk that are always available to guests. All our literature and web site state we do not have TV's in the Inn rooms, however we do have free high speed wifi available throughout the property, which it appears you were able to take advantage of. The inn is on a septic system that would be compromised if we allowed Kleenex in all the inn rooms. The 9 AM breakfast you mention is on Sunday, it is our super Sunday Brunch which many guests and area residents enjoy.

Perhaps a rustic Adirondack setting with a beautiful lakefront and sumptous sunsets is not for you.

As one looks at all the reviews for our inn which is the last remaining inn of its type in the Adirondack's, and runner up two years running for best hotel in the Adirondack's, it is very clear many folks are enjoying the experience of staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews