We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and Charm Personified!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The William Henry Miller Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Ithaca except the William Henry Miller Inn. I am soo pleased to have found this perfect place on tripadvisor.
Lynette, the owner is the perfect host! She is warm, friendly, knows all there is to know about the area and restaurants, although you may not want to leave the Inn because her baking skills are top-notch!!! Every evening Lynette provides freshly baked desserts. It was nice to come back from dinner/events and have a little heavenly snack before turning in for the night!
The rooms are cool, well appointed and comfortable - the sheets and towels smell so fresh and clean!
I was racing at the Fingerlakes Dragonboat Festival and Lynette was kind enough to provide a "to-go" breakfast the morning of the race.
The Inn is gorgeous, and in a perfect location - walking distance - just two blocks from the Commons and Restaurant Row, so once you park your car in the Inn parking lot, you can walk everywhere!
Book early, Lynette is so good at what she does, that the William Henry Miller Inn is booked up in advance!
A lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krenkren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerinn, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you, thank you! It's not often we have a guest with a winning medal to display!
Happy to provide a "to go" breakfast and so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Our location is one that I just love---everything from a bank to a movie theater to a hair salon, multiple restaurants and a health food store are just a few of the things withing walking distance.
We're so glad that you got to take advantage of our great location.
Millie is resting comfortably in her bed right now----she's a charmer and I'm very happy that you got to meet her!
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 165 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Three years ago a local friend referred us to the William Henry Miller Inn. We spent the 4th of July weekend at the Inn and have been coming back every summer since. The location couldn't be more convenient - it's right down the street from the Commons. Every room has a different character and all are very comfortable and charming. The innkeeper, Lynnette, pays attention to every little detail, down to a bowl full of cotton balls and q-tips in the bathroom. The breakfasts are incredibly well thought out, are different each day, and all are absolutely delicious. Thank you, Lynnette! We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerinn, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

It's our pleasure to see you and host you in the summer! We are so happy that you enjoy your stay and keep coming back!
Our motto is "The Success is in the Details" and we try to have all those little details---from the Q-tips to the hand ironed sheets to an assortment of different pillows (foam, feather etc etc).
It's always fun to keep looking for that "next new detail" and ours will I hope be towel warmers for each bath.
Thank you for returning! Thank you for your nice words! Hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I just returned from a three night stay at the lovely William Henry Miller Inn while my daughter attended orientation at Ithaca College. Lynette is the perfect Innkeeper - she and her staff did everything to make my visit perfect from the fabulous breakfasts (different each morning) and a wonderful selection of desserts in the evening to suggestions of what to see and do in the area. The Inn, which is beautifully decorated, is close to the Ithaca Commons with shops and restaurants and to Cornell, Ithaca College and the famous gorges. I highly recommend the Inn - you will not be disappointed. I will be going back next month!

Room Tip: I stayed in Dane's Room, on the second floor, which has a wonderful king-size bed, antique furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina00799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerinn, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

There's nothing that makes us happier than a guest who has enjoyed their stay! Thank you, thank you for your lovely review.
Breakfast is such a fun time for us---putting menus together is something we really enjoy and we always try to make the best use of local and seasonal. And if you wonder why my head is usually in a cookbook, this is the reason!
Thank you again and we'll look forward to seeing you as school begins!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This inn knows how to take of business and its visitors. From the moment we checked in every detail was handled efficiently and professionally. The Cornell student, Braden (future Chicago Blackhawks hockey player!), who showed us around the inn was extremely friendly and helpful. He also makes some of the desserts you will have the pleasure of sampling around eight each evening and they are all delicious......peach cobbler, triple chocolate cake, chocolate chip cookies, molasses cookies, lemon bars: all yummy! (Oh, that triple chocolate cake.......) My husband and I stayed in the Aurora room of the carriage house (wheelchair accessible!) which we loved because it is very private and very quiet. There is a nice comfy queen bed with fitted sheets, a small desk, TV, armoire and an especially nice bathroom with a large shower. The bathroom offers some nice touches like a special makeup removal towel, cotton swabs and nice thick bath towels along with regular toiletries. Spotless and the AC works extremely well too. The main house is a gem: charming architectural details everywhere, lovely stained glass and beautiful antiques. There is also a computer available for use in the main sitting area. Every breakfast was delicious according to my husband and the company delightful. Lynnette is a wonderful hostess and thinks of some extras that we really appreciated. One very nice touch: she has many menus from local restaurants and brochures from various area attractions for you to browse but she doesn't stop there. She goes the extra mile by having a file folder handy with directions for those same restaurants and attractions. The directions are very specific, departing from the driveway of the inn, and will save you lots of valuable time, especially with all the one-way streets in Ithaca. Out of the many bed and breakfasts where we have had the pleasure of staying, this is the only one that has compiled such specific directions. Great idea! The location of the inn is also perfect. The downtown commons shopping area (a pedestrian street) is a 2 to 3 minute walk from WHM with numerous fun restaurants to sample. We enjoyed Taste of Thai and the Ithaca Ale House especially within walking distance and Maxie's, a short drive away, was really a fun Cajun restaurant. A health food market is a very quick walk, maybe 5 minutes time. You can also walk to Cascadilla Falls, about two blocks away for a lovely peaceful path along the water, about 10 blocks to Ithaca Falls (stunning) and if you're industrious like we were, you can walk up the hill to Cornell's campus and visit Cornell Plantations' beautiful gardens. Easy drives can be made to Watkins Glen, Buttermilk Falls and Taughannock State Parks where you can take some glorious hikes. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Ithaca and Lynnette's charming William Henry Miller Inn was the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: We loved the carriage house for its privacy and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerinn, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We want to first of all thank you for staying with us and secondly, for your kind, kind words!
Braden has been an absolute delight for us and we're nearing the end of his work at the Inn since he is entering his senior year and then probably off on a pair of hockey skates! His baking skills are astounding and he recently made homemade ice cream that was out of this world. His mother still can't believe it!
Ithaca has so many one way streets that we're delighted to have lots of directions for our guests. For many years I was married to an Army Engineer and I'll always be grateful that he stressed directions and how to read a map! It will be an exciting day when our Aurora Street becomes "two way"!
We would love it if you would come back to watch Braden play with the Cornell team this winter. We can hardly wait!
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Inn is wonderful. Lynnette and the entire staff were so kind. Staying here was a real treat for us. We usually try to be a little more budget conscious, but WHM Inn looked so inviting on the website, that we decided to splurge. It was definitely worth it!
The location is fabulous. There is so much within walking distance; from the parks to the shops to the restaurants. We even walked around the non-touristy parts of town. It is such a relaxed community. Plus the Inn is a very short (and easy) drive to several state parks, which we also took advantage of.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very pleasant young man who took us on a tour before taking us to our room. We stayed in “The Dane” which was a very spacious room with a king size bed. It was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on while traveling. The bathroom was also very spacious and had a whirlpool tub and shower. We thought the décor was lovely. I especially loved the big chair by the windows. It was a great place to sit and read or to people watch.
The Inn is right on a corner, but traffic noise wasn’t a problem. (We did run the air quite a bit though because it was in the 90’s so that may have drowned out some of the noise.)
The breakfasts were awesome. They were creative and delicious. Actually they were some of our favorite meals that we had during our 3 day trip. Desserts at night were equally good. I don’t even like peaches, but I still had 2 servings of Lynette’s peach cobbler!
All in all, it was probably the nicest place I’ve stayed at. I have stayed at some high end hotels while traveling on business, but there is something very special about the William Henry Miller Inn. There are times when you pick a hotel because it happens to be in the city you want to visit, but in the case of the WHM Inn, it becomes part of the reason to visit the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Dane room and found it to be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clevelandgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerinn, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

We want to thank you, thank you, thank you for your lovely post.
The young man who checked you in is a senior in Cornell's Hotel School and captain of the Hockey Team. We have discovered that he is one fabulous baker and I cannot take credit for the Peach Cobbler. It was all Braden!
We always worry that noise will be an issue since we are on a busy street corner but the twelve inch thick brick walls of the house really do help! And the good thing about being on the busy street corner is that you can walk to so many things.'
And that big chair has quite a history! When we bought the Inn, we needed to furnish the entire buidling pretty quickly, We found that chair at an auction for five dollars! It was in terrible shape but had "great bones". My former next door neighbor, an upholsterer, did a fabulous job recovering the chair and building the ottoman. It is one great chair to curl up in.
Thank you again. We hope to see you sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
1.2 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.3 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
72 reviews
0.3 km away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
4.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
14.7 km away
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
#6 of 18 in Ithaca
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Henry Miller Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Henry Miller Inn

Address: 303 N Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4201
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: $204 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning William Henry Miller Inn is located in the heart of downtown Ithaca. Built by Cornell University's first architecture student, the details are stunning--chestnut woodwork, Tiffany stained glass, original shutters. Our full breakfast features all homemade breads, homemade English Muffins and bagels accompanied by homemade jams. Our evening dessert buffet is the perfect way to end the day. We are happy to accommodate dietary requests. Within walking distance of fifty restaurants, Cornell University, Cascadilla Gorge and just a short hop to Ithaca College, we are really central to everything. Providing concierge service and a business center, parking is right on site. Parking and wireless are included in the rate. Proud to be a member of Select Registry and Lynnette Scofield received the Innkeeper of the Year Award by Select Registry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing