We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can be fantastic but uneven”

Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar
Ranked #11 of 270 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Maxie’s is a New Orleans-style fish house featuring Southern comfort cooking, BBQ, and a full bar. From our kitchen: only from-scratch Southern comfort cookery: traditional and modern fresh seafood dishes, slow-smoked barbecue, and homemade desserts. From our bar: freshly shucked raw oysters and clams, specialty cocktails, craft beer and boutique wines. Our lively, warm professionals are happy to serve you. Get in here!
Reviewed 8 August 2017

first let me say I love Maxies but on very busy nights the service can be inconsistent. Mainly because its so popular and busy. The food is always wonderful and delicious and you have to try the cornbread with honey orange butter. Simply to die for !!

Thank karenkay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxies_Chick, Owner at Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for kind and loving words about Maxie's, and for taking the time to write a review. Of course getting each plate of food just right is paramount. When really busy our service timing will on occassion suffer, and for this we apologize. We will keep trying to improve. Maxie's looks forward to serving you again sometime soon! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Too bad it's so noisy because the food is so good and the service so attentive. Some of the noise is a natural consequence of being on a main street with the large glass doors open to it. Part of the noise is because the walls and floors are bare, and some of the noise comes from the staff who often seem to yell to each other.

The staple accompaniment of corn bread and soft butter is wonderful. The oysters are fresh and served cold. There are daily specials which are noted on a blackboard and on a separate menu which is helpful if you are seated without a good view of the board. All the food seems fresh and recipes are often interesting and original. Too bad about the noise.....this could really be my favourite restaurant in Ithaca.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxies_Chick, Owner at Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your business and your kind and candid review. Maxie's is certainly known for boisterous conviviality in addition to our food. However there are quieter evenings, and quieter places in the restaurant. We hope you will return and when you do please request the quietest place to sit. We will do our best to accomodate. We appreciate your business, insights and your time in writing this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We specifically went to Maxie's because of the reviews and comments on TA. However, during the walk from our Hotel on the Commons we were growing skeptical. We passed a lot of restaurants with crowds. Less than a mile walk later we were rewarded. Maxie's side porch on a perfect weather evening was just what we were hoping for. We smelled food from the other tables and knew we had selected a great place for dinner. Mondays is $10 off all bottles of wine, so go then if you favor wine. We had the Calamari and crab cake appetizers, as well as the Damn Good Fish fry (which was exactly that!), and the Jambalaya! Hubby, who loves NOLA, was impressed with it all. It was Monday so all bottles of wine were $10 off! can't beat that. If you want a great meal with a little cajun flair give Maxie's a try. Won't disappoint.

Thank 20JoniU16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxies_Chick, Owner at Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Many thanks for strolling west on State Street to find Maxie's. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review. We look forward to serving you again, hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

This is a great place with the taste of the south. They offer shrimp and grits...I was a little leery to order grits in upstate New York, but the server brought me a taste and it was great! We've been there twice and had four different dishes...all were very good. I didn't give four stars because we've been charges different prices for drinks each time we've ordered. No happy hour price and were given multiple reasons. I like to know the price before we order and expect to buy the same on the second round. Make sure to ask before order each time.

Thank Bayou-Babies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxies_Chick, Owner at Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We appreciate your business and are glad you enjoyed Maxie's on several occasions. Sorry for confusion on drink pricing, but we're not sure what the pricing issue is. If you could be so kind as to contact Maxie's directly and pass along your contact to me (Chick) I will investigate. BTW Our Happy Hour Special is Half-Priced Raw Oysters and Clams from 4-6pm Daily. We also offer $10 off all bottles of wine on Mondays - all night long. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

What a great place! Outside seating with Cajun food. Start by having a Hurricane. The Crab and Corn Chowder is a must have. The Jambalaya is excellent and the serving size is huge. Just wish the Crab Cake was broiled and not fried on the Po'Boy. An excellent place.

2  Thank hovis111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxies_Chick, Owner at Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Maxie's and sharing your enthusiasm. We are genuinely pleased to know you enjoyed your expereince at Maxie's, and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing