We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So warm and fluffy - (the scrambled eggs and towels) - a wonderful stay!”
Review of Inn on Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Columbia
Ranked #3 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2016

First time visiting Ithaca, and my husband and i chose the coldest and snowiest winter weekend to visit. Awesome planning on our part. But Madeline and Kenn's accommodations still made it a very special and enjoyable stay. We brought our dog so we had the upstairs room right on top of the kitchen/living/common area. The bathroom is separate from the bedroom but it was private.

Madeline and Kenn were relaxed and warm hosts. There are fresh baked goods and warm cider in the common area all day long. (I had an apple crumb oatmeal bar that was insane.) Breakfast was amazing - we had the eggs, pancakes, and frittata- all five-stars hotel quality. We were worried about our dog since he was barking in the room the first night and still getting used to the new environment. We actually considered staying in the first night, but Kenn kindly and wisely suggested otherwise, and told us that he was going to hang out and calm our dog if he sounded too sad and lonely upstairs.

The room was spacious and comfortable - exactly what you would expect a B&B to look and feel like. There was plenty of parking on the street and on the driveway.

All of the restaurants recommended by Madeline and Kenn were delicious. We went to a vineyard and wine tasting despite the cold - and it was the highlight of my stay. We visited Six Mile Creek Vineyard and a Cornell wine minor showed us all of the delicious wine and spirits. We bought way too many to bring home. It was also pet-friendly so we sat at their spacious and comfortable tasting room for a couple hours, sipping very reasonably priced and delicious wine.

p.s. - where are the towels from? They were SOOO FLUFFY.

Room Tip: ask the hosts for recommendations and details!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2016

My family travels to Ithaca a few times a year to visit my in-laws, friends and generally relax. We have no expectations to do anything in particular on these visits but unwind, so when we found Madeline and Kenn's accommodations at the Inn on Columbia we knew we discovered the right fit for us. Our first stay was in their carriage house around 2003 when our son was just 3 years old. We continued to stay there over the years until my daughter was born and we needed larger accommodation. No problem, because they have several different spaces to choose from. With our criteria and needs in mind, Madeline led us to Maison Mango. This house is large, comfortable, private (a must for us) and includes what they refer to as the "play house" in the back which is connected by a porch that my son (who will be 16 in May) has appropriated as his teen pad. Every detail has been attended to so all we have to do is unload the car and settle in. Madeline and Kenn are the perfect hosts providing some fresh items for the fridge upon arrival (milk, juice, yogurt, coffee, etc.) as well as fresh baked goods each day which are all absolutely amazing! The bedrooms are all well appointed, comfortable and the space is always clean and maintained during our stays. Many thanks to Madeline and Kenn for providing us with the perfect escape from the City for all these years! We are already booked for our summer stays and look forward to booking for the winter.....

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

A large group of friends / couples rented the entire Inn on Columbia and apartments next door for the annual triathlon. The house is full of Ithaca-charm, with lots of natural wood, character and interesting furniture. We appreciated having the large common space for family dinners, the fridge stocked with staple items, and the back porch and upstairs balcony for nighttime chats. The little details in how the Inn have been renovated were very cool and we loved the design. We hope to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank globalgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We stayed in the green room & absolutely loved it! The bed was very comfortable. The room itself was extremely spacious. There was a nice patio off the back side of the room with 2 chairs for sitting. The shower was a little strange with the toilet being next to the shower but it works. The common area was well equipped & the goodies they put out were perfect! They gave each couple a little box with scones & muffins which my husband loved. I myself fell in love with the granola & yogurt. The house was a short walk to the Commons. It is uphill on the way back but we didn't mind at all. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LFischlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We loved the location, decor, and breakfast. Very unfortunately for us, Kenn spoiled our stay by neglecting to honor promises. Book with caution if you value integrity. Look at all Kenn's responses to negative reviews to verify that he is NEVER wrong.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016


Like any other hotel, motel or bed and breakfast, a reservation is not confirmed until the guest provides a valid credit card.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
70 reviews
0.4 km away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
704 reviews
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Address: 228 Columbia St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5734
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: $264 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn on Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing