We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very polite and inviting staff.”
Review of Inn on Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Columbia
Ranked #3 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We decided to visit the pet-friendly Inn on Columbia for a short weekend. Our two dogs were attending as well for a Veterinarian consult at Cornell University. Needless to say with our University visit and the dogs being out of their element it was a little stressful. However, the friendly staff at Columbia was very inviting and understanding of our situation. They went out of their way to answer all questions we had and even helped us find a great mechanic when we were having car troubles.

The Inn is conveniently located next to all the Ithaca amenities in a peaceful section of town. The modern-type room design is different and to some it may not feel comfortable. All in all the Inn and staff are very nice people. I would recommend this stay to most.

Room Tip: Dog friendly, semi-modern looking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Owners were very nice. Place was clean and comfortable. We stayed in the spacious Hudson Suite. Though we did not cook, the kitchen was well stocked. We enjoyed the muffins and scones that were delivered each evening for the next day's breakfast. Our friends stayed in a room in the Main house and enjoyed the cooked breakfast. We all would stay there again. Great location for walking downtown.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tloll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We took a weekend getaway in Ithaca and stayed a Villa Madeline, one of the Inn on Columbia suites. The accommodations were well pointed, thoughtfully prepared, colorful and clean. Unique design ideas (find them when you visit) and private bath rooms as well as seating in each room made this Inn more special.

Having parking on site and a porch to play scrabble or just relax made all the afternoons a welcome part of the day The owners were personable and welcoming - clearly a good team with insight into what guests need and want.

During our weekend we visited the gorges, wandered the commons and visited local eateries -- all within walking distance of the Inn. The best part of our trip was the beginning of the day with our in house breakfast of freshly made scones, muffins, coffee and more.

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet all of you. Ithaca is such a fun little city to explore and we hope to see you on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here during @Entrepeneur at Cornell seminar. Very nice place. Clean. Nice breakfast basket each morning. Stayed at separate location 404 s.aurora. Think it was blue room on second floor. Bed was queen size. Only negative was older style TV, with bad reception. However wifi signal was great and picked up Netflix.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank LazyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Inn on Columbia. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the TV reception - the situation has been remedied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

First time visiting Ithaca, and my husband and i chose the coldest and snowiest winter weekend to visit. Awesome planning on our part. But Madeline and Kenn's accommodations still made it a very special and enjoyable stay. We brought our dog so we had the upstairs room right on top of the kitchen/living/common area. The bathroom is separate from the bedroom but it was private.

Madeline and Kenn were relaxed and warm hosts. There are fresh baked goods and warm cider in the common area all day long. (I had an apple crumb oatmeal bar that was insane.) Breakfast was amazing - we had the eggs, pancakes, and frittata- all five-stars hotel quality. We were worried about our dog since he was barking in the room the first night and still getting used to the new environment. We actually considered staying in the first night, but Kenn kindly and wisely suggested otherwise, and told us that he was going to hang out and calm our dog if he sounded too sad and lonely upstairs.

The room was spacious and comfortable - exactly what you would expect a B&B to look and feel like. There was plenty of parking on the street and on the driveway.

All of the restaurants recommended by Madeline and Kenn were delicious. We went to a vineyard and wine tasting despite the cold - and it was the highlight of my stay. We visited Six Mile Creek Vineyard and a Cornell wine minor showed us all of the delicious wine and spirits. We bought way too many to bring home. It was also pet-friendly so we sat at their spacious and comfortable tasting room for a couple hours, sipping very reasonably priced and delicious wine.

p.s. - where are the towels from? They were SOOO FLUFFY.

Room Tip: ask the hosts for recommendations and details!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
70 reviews
0.4 km away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
704 reviews
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Address: 228 Columbia St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5734
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: $266 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn on Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing