We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Comforts of Home and Then Some!”
Review of Inn on Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Columbia
Ranked #3 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2017

I recently stayed two nights at the Inn on Columbia. Super comfortable, terrific decor and art work throughout, — and a couple blocks from downtown restaurants and shops. Walking trails, gorges and waterfalls all within walking distance. I enjoyed a box of fresh home made pastries, neatly tied in a box with a "Good Morning" greeting tag. Kudos to the hosts Kenn and Madeline!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SusieAdamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Inn on Columbia. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

First off, I am a student at Cornell University's School of Hotel Administration, so I study hospitality and love to try new hotels and inns. I can 100% say that this is my FAVORITE place to stay in Ithaca! My dad and I stayed here while I was moving out of Cornell for the summer. Since many of the hotels were booked and had very high rates, we decided to check this place out. It was AWESOME! The best place in Ithaca. We were greeted by the very friendly owner upon arrival, and she helped us get settled in and even gave us some restaurant recommendations. She even had lemonade and cookies waiting on the kitchen counter for our arrival. The community kitchen and living room are extremely clean and trendy- the owner informed us that her husband graduated from Cornell's architecture school and designed the layout. There were many interesting books and beautiful artwork all throughout the common spaces, and even a wonderful back porch to relax on. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well-designed. Large beds, a large TV, and spacious bathrooms (with a bidet)! Our room also had a huge closet. When we woke up the next morning, there was a box of scones and muffins waiting for us on the kitchen counter! There are also yogurts, coffee, milk, and fruit in the fridge for breakfast. It is also in a great location, located walking distance from both the commons and Cornell. All around, this was a truly special place. The hospitality was wonderful and I highly recommend the Inn on Columbia.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank chelseahummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thanks so much for your kind review! Come back and take advantage of our last minute prices when you call us direct. Best Kenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

The Inn On Columbia delivers superb location, charming accommodations and delicious breakfast. Off street parking, this choice has it all. Option to arrive late and not disturb the proprietor. Well thought out plan for interacting with guests, and attention to detail in fit, finish and furnishing are complemented by a fanatic attention to cleanliness. This place has it all!

Room Tip: Different units have different ambiance , so you can try them all on return trips and pick your favo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you , We do our best to please our guests. Come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently. Bedrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable. Bathroom shower are combined which took us a little getting used to but then found it was fine. Serve self continental breakfast. Each party had their own box of delicious baked goods and then there was fruit yogurt etc. we weren't crazy about the street a bit noisy with student housing everywhere however it's convenient to the commons. Would stay again

Stayed: April 2017
Thank teachermom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I are explorers. We've sought out fun places and interesting places to stay for decades. The Inn on Columbia, we're thinking, is The Best of the Bunch. Certainly, the most stylish. The house itself is one of those century-old Ithaca beauties. Inside, though, its magnificent contemporary with a stunning collection of original Michael Boyd artwork. There are three private living quarters...the red, blue or green rooms. We stayed in the green, which has an outside deck. In time, we will stay in all the offerings and feel confident that we'll be just as charmed. There are so many wonders in staying here (from the hip playlist on the stereo in the common area to high-end treatments throughout the house) so I won't spoil your treasure hunt while you're there.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you so much for your praise and comments. Its always nice to have enthusiastic
guest who appreciate what we try to do. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#13 of 22 in Ithaca
70 reviews
0.4 km away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
0.5 km away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Address: 228 Columbia St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5734
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: $266 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn on Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing