We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good food”
Review of Yemereha Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yemereha Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group, so can’t comment on price/value. We stayed in the newer rooms. Our room was quite large with two double-size beds, a wardrobe (with no shelves), a couch, two chairs and a coffee table. The furniture is locally made and decorated. The floors are tiled. The room was very clean. The beds were OK for us but some people may find them too firm. There was plenty of hot water from an electric tank in the bathroom. A bathtub with a shower hose. No shower curtain, so you have to be careful not to spray water everywhere when you take a shower. The hotel is a little way away from the main part of town so is pretty quiet except for the occasional barking dog or barnyard sounds from the houses behind gthe hotel (you’ll wake up to chickens crowing). We ate dinner at the hotel two nights and lunch one day and the food (western) was very good. The included breakfast was good. You can pick what you want; we usually had an omelet and toast. A nice place to stay for 3 nights while looking at the rock churches and going up the mountain on mule-back. They are building a new restaurant but for now the bar and restaurant are in a few rooms in the old part of the hotel. There are a lot of new hotels going up in Lalibela, so in the future there’ll be a good choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Don't confuse reviews of the old rooms with those for the new ones. I can't recommend sayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our first impressions of the Yemereha Hotel were not good. Rubbish was being burnt beside the restaurant. There was no water or electricity in the rooms. The parking area and paths between the bedroom blocks and restaurant were unpaved and uneven. Things improved a bit...water and electricity arrived!

Our room was adequate with Mosquito nets and some interesting pieces of local furniture. There was a balcony which was nice to sit out on until the children and vendors arrived on the road outside to pester us. Plumbing and bathroom fittings were broken or damaged. We used the restaurant for breakfast only...service was chaotic.

This hotel had been operated by Green Land, an Addis-based tour operator. We were told that the Church had taken over the operation of all hotels in Lalibela and that new management had recently been appointed at the Yemereha. I don't know if this information is correct or not. Either way management have a serious job on hand to imprve this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I liked the rooms:very clean, big, comfortable and well furnished with typical furniture. Less interesting the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

About one month ago we booked 5 double rooms for 2 nights (January 4th and January 5th) by Greenland, the company that own this hotel. We paid 950 USD !

When we arrived they gave us large but very bad rooms, with beds only (no other furniture). Towels were dirty. Roofs and walls were dirty, spotted and broken too. There were stuck out nails on door frame. Lights were out of order outside and in the ante-room. Etc. etc.

When we required to change rooms the hotel manager answered that the hotel was full and he said “however all rooms are equal at the same price”. That is completely false.
In fact on http://www.yemerehahotel.com/accommodation.htm you can discover that “Yemereha Hotel has 120 rooms of two types: Top view and Budget rooms.”

As a friend of mine said “ they are not “budget rooms” they are dog’s beds ! “

We insisted requiring to look other rooms. The manager showed us a similar room. Then we discovered that this room was occupied by Greenland personnel. At the end some tourists showed us their rooms. These rooms were different and quite nice. Therefore the hotel manager told us a second falsehood.

Just to finish: no cleaning room service was performed during our staying.
Please note the price: 95 USD per night.

I’m strongly suggesting to avoid to stay in this hotel.
Mauro Antelli

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The Yemereha Hotel was better than we thought it to be.
The restaurant was very special, the coffee ceremony was the best we had in Ethiopia.
Dinner was good!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.0 km away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 10 in Lalibela
417 reviews
0.0 km away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
277 reviews
0.0 km away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Seven Olives Hotel
Seven Olives Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lalibela
109 reviews
0.0 km away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0.0 km away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 12 in Lalibela
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yemereha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yemereha Hotel

Address: Adebaba Street, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing