We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Lake Placid Club Boat House Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 107 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A perfect Adirondack evening begins at the Lake Placid Club Boat House on the pristine shores of Mirror Lake, in the center of Lake Placid Village. The diverse menu is sure to please all featuring seafood, steaks, pasta dishes & savory items from the grill. The Lake Placid Club Boat House provides a truly memorable dining experience - dining indoors amidst classic "Arts & Crafts" decor, or seasonal outdoor dining on our large deck - all with spectacular sunsets, overlooking the lake and the Mackenzie mountain range. The Boat House is the perfect spot to view all the lake activities from boating & swimming to ice skating & dog sled rides. The cozy fireside seating area and bar are great spots for enjoying cocktails and delicious desserts. Our wine list features organic and sustainable farming wines. Children’s menu & take out available. Ample free parking. Private lake side dining rooms available for special events.
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The view here is spectacular. Staff friendly and courteous. The reason I did not give 5 stars is food was average without much flavor. Both our entrees were very basic and had to use salt which never happens. Outdoor seating is a must to watch the sunset. Only wish the food kept up with the rest of the establishment.

Thank lelee1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPChef, Executive Chef at Lake Placid Club Boat House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review and am glad that most of your experience met your expectations and you were able to enjoy the especially beautiful view this time of year with the fall colors. I am however very disappointed to hear that the food brought the overall experience down. We pride ourselves on "above-average" food and adequate seasoning is certainly one of the main keys to exceptional food. I can assure you, as the chef, that steps will be taken to ensure this situation does not repeat itself and hope you will give us another chance when you are in town again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

We wanted to try the Boat House. It literally sits right on Mirror Lake and it was a beautiful evening. The menu choices were different than what was listed online, but we still found some great choices. Our server (forgot his name...didn't make a very good impression), needs some more training. He didn't know the menu very well, didn't understand our questions about the type of scallops, how many, when they were delivered, and how prepared. We didn't get our water glasses refilled....we asked three times and my husband went to get the water pitcher himself. Very basic things. It didn't ruin our evening, but it sure didn't enhance it and we couldn't leave fast enough once we were finished eating. That is too bad, because we like good food, but the service must accompany it. I do not think think we would return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KellBellHocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the lack of attention with regards to the service we provided. We take great strides to ensure our staff is knowledgeable about the menu and attentive to the guest's needs so I assure you this will be addressed through further training. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future and demonstrate to you that we take your feedback seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Spent our last evening here. Enjoyed our delicious dinner outside on the deck overlooking the lake. Server was excellent and extremely helpful. We were not rushed and enjoyed all four courses at our own pace. Fresh trout and clam chowder was excellent, lovely salads and fresh beautiful vegetables. Excellence choice for gluten free needs.

Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words. We always trying to highlight the bounty of fresh seafood, meats, and vegetables that each season has to offer. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

great pancakes were both soft and crispy at the same time & convenient location if staying at the golden arrow

Thank merlin323545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Can not say enough good things about the excellent service, food and wonderful views we had at dinner. Our waiter was very attentive, service was quick and the food was top notch. I would highly recommend if the weather is nice to eat on the outdoor deck overlooking the lake. We enjoyed a leisurely walk to and from the restaurant overlooking beautiful Mirror Lake.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachlovur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Thank you very much for letting us and the Tripadvisor community know about how much you enjoyed your experience with us. We put a lot of attention to detail into the atmosphere and food and it's good to hear of and see people enjoying it. As the only restaurant on Mirror Lake with a view of the sunset we have taken every opportunity to maximize the guests view and enjoyment from both the inside dining areas and especially the deck. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Placid Club Boat House Restaurant also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Lake Placid Club Boat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing