We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise ”

Lake Placid Club Boat House
Ranked #22 of 104 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A perfect Adirondack evening begins at the Lake Placid Club Boat House on the pristine shores of Mirror Lake, in the center of Lake Placid Village. The diverse menu is sure to please all featuring seafood, steaks, pasta dishes & savory items from the grill. The Lake Placid Club Boat House provides a truly memorable dining experience - dining indoors amidst classic "Arts & Crafts" decor, or seasonal outdoor dining on our large deck - all with spectacular sunsets, overlooking the lake and the Mackenzie mountain range. The Boat House is the perfect spot to view all the lake activities from boating & swimming to ice skating & dog sled rides. The cozy fireside seating area and bar are great spots for enjoying cocktails and delicious desserts. Our wine list features organic and sustainable farming wines. Children’s menu & take out available. Ample free parking. Private lake side dining rooms available for special events.
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Took a morning walk around Mirror Lake and saw this restaurant. Menu looked good so we said “why not?”. Left a message on the answering machine requesting a reservation and was called back later that afternoon confirming our requested time. When we arrived, there was a tour bus parked in front and we were worried about the crowd. No worry, service was excellent. Dining room has beautiful views of Mirror Lake. We both had crab cakes which were good.

Thank buddy13905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Ate there on 9/28 and 9/30. Impeccable service and good food. Staff support each other, pay attention.and look like they enjoy their jobs while they are actually doing it; They don't rely on Mirror Lake to distract the customer. Prices are reasonable and food was perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPChef, Executive Chef at Lake Placid Club Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you very much for dining with us...twice! We try to create a culture of teamwork and open communication for the benefit of our guests as well as the employees. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience and will be sure to share your comment with the rest of the staff so they can see their hard work and positive attitudes are appreciated. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Boat House is an American restaurant across Mirror Lake from Lake Placid. The food is quite good, and plentiful. The lake views are tremendous, especially at sunset. It's about the only restaurant in town that has sunset views, given the geography. Good drinks and wine list as well. It's a 20-minute walk from town around the lake, but a 5-minute drive.

Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPChef, Executive Chef at Lake Placid Club Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have hit on all of the things that make us the perfect destination for dinner regardless of the occasion. Our views, food, drinks, and service help us stand out in a town full of dining options and we are glad you gave us the opportunity to show what we have to offer. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

The best and only way to describe our evening at the boat house was... perfect. After a long day hiking we choose lite fare; French onion, a Caesar Salad and something sweet to finish it off... a fresh chocolate chip cookie Sundae! The soup was delicious! The salad fresh and seasoned with a lite tasty dressing and loads of parmesan cheese and fresh anchovy. The Cookie Sunday was accompanied by fresh whipped cream, chocolate syrup and a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. The server was friendly and prompt and the view of mirror lake is beautiful. Hard to beat!

Thank edwardmw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPChef, Executive Chef at Lake Placid Club Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your good experience. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The view here is spectacular. Staff friendly and courteous. The reason I did not give 5 stars is food was average without much flavor. Both our entrees were very basic and had to use salt which never happens. Outdoor seating is a must to watch the sunset. Only wish the food kept up with the rest of the establishment.

Thank lelee1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPChef, Executive Chef at Lake Placid Club Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review and am glad that most of your experience met your expectations and you were able to enjoy the especially beautiful view this time of year with the fall colors. I am however very disappointed to hear that the food brought the overall experience down. We pride ourselves on "above-average" food and adequate seasoning is certainly one of the main keys to exceptional food. I can assure you, as the chef, that steps will be taken to ensure this situation does not repeat itself and hope you will give us another chance when you are in town again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Placid Club Boat House also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Club Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing