We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
16
7
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
7
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We loved this campground. We don't stay in private campgrounds very often because we don't like to be squeezed in. Drapers acres was like a state or National park. lots of space. Very rustic but with full hookups. A real treat. And it was close to the best hiking trails. Can't wait to go back. Road noise was not an issue as we just kept our fan on all night.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrapersAcres, Owner at Draper's Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

What a nice campground. The owners were super helpful. The site was pretty and quiet. We were trailer camping but their tents sites were great. Bathhouse was clean. Campground was very tidy. Really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrapersAcres, Owner at Draper's Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for the positive vibes! Come back to stay with us again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We've stayed 5 times in a little over a year so that really says it all.

We've rented a camping cabin which includes fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. Water faucet external to the cabin. Fire pit, picnic table. Different configurations but ours had a double bed plus a bunk bed. Comfortable beds.
Immaculately clean.

For us the camping cabin is the perfect sweet spot between camping and a hotel. But they also have housekeeping cabins with a bathroom and kitchen if that's what you're looking for.

We haven't camped but we did take a look around. Lots of beautiful, private tent sites with mature tree cover. They have RV sites as well but can't comment on those.

Not a ton of amenities but there's a large field, a swing set, and a horseshoe pit to keep the kids occupied while you're making dinner. WIFI at the office.

If you're a hiker it's centrally located for the Loj, Garden, and Ausable trail heads.

If you're doing the Olympic Passport it's minutes from the bobsled run and the ski jump. And just 10 minutes to Lake Placid.

The Drapers are lovely. Friendly, accommodating, hard working. It's nice to be able to support a local, family owned business.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Acadia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I chose this campground for its proximity to the trailhead for Sawteeth and Gothics. The sites are very well maintained, the staff are very friendly and the washrooms are clean and have a free hot shower. This is not a "resort" type campground and a lot of the campers head out very early in the morning to undertake whatever adventures they have planned for that day so manage your expectations. We had a leanto on our site and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I highly recommend it if you are staying in the area to take advantage of the surrounding wilderness.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank yuratowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrapersAcres, Owner at Draper's Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for the positive review and reiterating that we are not a camping resort. Please stay with us again in the future. We hope that your hike up Sawteeth and Gothics was all you imagined!- The Draper's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

I spent a weekend here with 11 friends so they told us to get 2 campsites. These were by far the smallest campites i've ever been to in my life. We almost took 3 campsites by accident because I couldn't believe our actual boundaries. Also, maybe this is a Canada thing, but I've also never heard of a campground without a beach or swimming area. Luckily, where the campground did well was the lady at the front was very helpful in giving us directions to the nearest town with a beach. They also ran out of wood very early in the day and all we had to work with was wet wood, and this was on a Saturday. They should probably make sure to stock up on their busier camping night. The campground didn't provide any sort of activities, as ive mentioned, no beach, but also no hiking trails or space for us to toss the ball around. Luckily there were empty sites around so we used that to pass a frisby around.

Room tip: Don't have more than 4 or two tents on one lot
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrapersAcres, Owner at Draper's Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We feel that anyone visiting Lake Placid should take advantage of the beautiful mountains, lakes and other activities in the area. It seems like you were able to do that. Our business generally comes from avid outdoorsman looking for a convenient location to popular hiking trailheads, a private wooded tent site, and a place to take a hot shower. We do not advertise as having a pool or lake here at the campground nor do we plan on adding one. We would suggest camping in Wilmington, NY if you come back to the area. They have some really nice resort style campgrounds with pools, mini golf, arcades, and theme nights. Thank you for your business and honesty. All the best in you next camping adventures- The Draper's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews