We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing stay of my life !”
Review of The Manta Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manta Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was the last stop in our Honeymoon. We pent 3 nights in Manta, 2 in the stunning Under-water room and one in the resort. To start with, Pemba is an amazing island, super green, safe and people are extremely nice there, amazing beaches and great visibility for diving or snorkelling.
Manta is not only a great resort, they also support the community by employing them and supporting the schools. The whole team are very professional and likeable.
Although I have checked most of the reviews and pictures of the under-water room, the reality was way better than pictures. The experience is worth every penny we spent there, watching the 2M barracuda looking at us in the room in the night and the thousands of fish around us was amazing. But the experience is also watching the sunset and sunrise in full privacy and feel the world in a total different way. I cant add much to all what has been said other than this place was a real heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mohamad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Everything was nice peopls and resort very friendly and save
Peoples in the village and the kids very friendly and happy
Food very good and they have all kind of food and drinks
The resort family very happy peopl.

Room Tip: Underwater room
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Yehia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Manta Resort

The Manta Resort has a rare gift to share with those that make the journey to Pemba Island.

For our honeymoon we sought a destination that would tick all the right boxes, tranquil, great food and service, naturally stunning location, cultural and far from the disturbances of the modern world.

What the Manta Resort delivered, excelled beyond imagination and expectation in every sense.

The resort itself has been crafted sympathetically into the location making you part of the environment rather than separated from it but to a superb level of comfort capturing a rare, perfect balance of 5* quality and 5* authenticity.

And more than this, the experience is delivered by an incredibly friendly team of local people with the ability to make you feel instantly welcome as if in your own home. The service is provided with phenomenal attention to detail and the resort is small enough that it is delivered with a genuine sense of pride.

We stayed 10 days at the Manta and were slightly concerned the food would be repetitive or we would struggle with the lack of choice! This was far from the case. The menu constantly varied and consistently full of new interesting flavours beautifully composed with local ingredients that left us wanting every recipe!

The diving and snorkelling is unbelievable, fantastic to hear about the conservation work on the reef and see this level of respect for the marine environment. As novice divers we did the discovery dive experience and snorkelled, David and all of the dive team were brilliant, patient, passionate and very professional which enhances the whole experience, and may have even got us hooked!

The underwater room was a phenomenal experience beyond that of which we imagined. More than an underwater room it is a beautifully crafted, incredibly well engineered piece of art that literally immerses you in another world, every hour you spend there is an unbelievable insight into life under the sea! An absolute ‘must do'

The rooms on land are just as beautiful and attention to detail never faltered, our room was made up perfectly every single day with a different surprise decoration from he housekeeper. With the brilliant bonus of having our washing taken away and returned cleaned, and ironed the next day.

The spa treatment every day was just amazing, the only problem is getting back to reality and not having these treats every day! They offer some great excursions which all give back ono the local community and gives you an insight into the local life which is wonderful to see and be part of.
I am so glad I stumbled across Manta Resort on the internet one day, I genuinely don’t think our visit could have been better and we certainly plan to visit again, and I could go on and on about what we loved about the resort, but in a but shell… if you are considering a visit you MUST go!

Sincere thanks to our service fundi Said, for being incredibly attentive from the moment we arrived, sharing his knowledge and passion and going beyond our expectations of service to make our trip incredibly special. Thank you to Matthew and his lovely welcoming family and the entire Manta team for making our honeymoon one of the most memorable experiences of our life.

A very happy couple from England with replenished souls and content minds

Adam & Kerry x

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam-and-Kerry-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed at the resort for two nights in the Underwater room. From the time we arrived at the resort until the time we left we were treated like kings. The food, the spa, the setting, the bars were stunning. The underwater room is an experience that cannot be reduced to words. The nightlife under the sea will forever change your perspective. The ultimate paradise

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank greig92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The underwater room is fantastic and even expensive it worth the money.
The service is perfect and you will have a tremendous experience on deck, in and underwater.
Color changes over night and all the different kind of fishes you can observe make it unforgettable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 751yas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
64.4 km away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
94 reviews
0.0 km away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
41.3 km away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#4 of 6 in Pemba Island
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 7 in Pemba Island
126 reviews
61.5 km away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Pemba Island
56 reviews
4.4 km away
Gecko Nature Lodge
Gecko Nature Lodge
#1 of 4 in Pemba Island
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Address: Box 32, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range: $287 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and diving on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. Pemba Island for real. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing