We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For when you are on a BUDGET!!”
Review of Budget Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budget Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liberty
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Needed a place to lay my head and rest while in town for a training session. This place was clean and the king room was a bed, tv, fridge and microwave. everything you'd expect from a motel. Quiet neighborhood (I'm from NYC so I need/expect noise) close to a grocery store, gas station, liquor store and restaurants if you have a car (less than 2 minute drive). They will not clean your room during a multi-night stay unless you request it, but as a mom, I brought my own cleaning supplies and pillowcase. A great bang-for-your-buck establishment as I have seen the rooms of other people in my training sessions "pricer per night" motel rooms (daysinn) which essentially has the amenities plus a "continental breakfast" and workout room for twice the price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tatianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogeP, Manager at Budget Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

My wife and I left after work on a Friday evening for a weekend backpacking in the Catskills. Since we just needed a bed for the night before we hit the trail, we didn't want to spend a lot.

Budget Inn in Liberty, NY met our needs.

If you want a big room, big bathroom and nice nightstands... go ahead, spend twice as much or more to get a Friday night room at a more upscale hotel. If you need a night's sleep on the way to somewhere else and want to save a few bucks, stay here.

The family that owns and operates this place are very friendly and pleasant. We forgot something in the room when we left and had to return a little while later. When we pulled up, the grandfather (we assumed) was rocking a small child in his arms in the parking lot. He was more than happy to help us retrieve what we had forgot.

I hope that as business improves that they can update the exterior and make it more inviting from the road.

Many years ago, this may have been THE place to stay in Liberty. Not so much anymore... but the rooms were absolutely clean, everything worked, HDTV and Internet and it was convenient and affordable. If we need a room for the night in the Catskill region on the way to the mountains, we will forgo the expensive upscale hotel and stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogeP, Manager at Budget Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We greatly appreciate for taking a time to do review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I am not sure what others expectations are for a place called(hint here) Budget Hotel, but my husband and myself were very pleased with the clean, basic, comfortable room we found here. In fact, so much so, I stayed here alone a few weeks later on business. The pluses: Beds- comfortable, fresh sheets, clean, 2 pillows, 3 if you ask. TV- new, HDTV's with cable, and large selection of channels, not difficult to figure out if you own one at home, and you have half a brain. WiFi- Excellent, hi-speed, better, in fact, than what I have had in many hotels that have charged twice what I paid for this room, only to find their WiFi dropped constantly. Not here- they give you a password, but it connects immediately, and every time after that, even with a filled hotel. Now that's a Big deal if you are a business traveler, such as myself, and have been endlessly frustrated by this. In Liberty, I have stayed at 3 other hotels in the area, only to have No WiFI able to connect properly, or maintain connectivity for long in at least 2/3. Also, each room has a frig and microwave , all work just fine. A small, typical hotel table with 2 chairs, and nightstand.
Quiet, despite hotel being full both times I was there. Great Central location, right off exit 100 on Rt 17, exactly between old and newer Liberty, so you are right to one's left- by restaurants, Dunkin, liquor stores, a Shop Rite,Chinese/ Pizza, fast food chains and better eating places, then to your right, the older, more quaint part of Liberty. Gas station right next door. Plus, service was attentive and courteous, family owned and run management so honest that when we left behind a Galaxie Tablet, owners found it, contacted us, and kept it safe until I could pick it up after my work assignment upstate, almost a week later. That is more important to me than fancy, updated rooms. Yes, this is an older hotel, probably from the days in the 60's when Liberty was part of the famous Borcht Belt, and attracted many thousands of tourists each summer. This hotel, and others like it, offered an affordable alternative to the Grossingers and Browns high $$. It suited our needs just fine, I will now only go here when I travel (frequently) to Liberty. But please, don't say I didn't warn you before you go to one of the Other, more expensive places, only to find you have no WiFi, or crappie TV, or dishonest mgt who deny you left your phone, tablet, etc. We all have choices, I've know where I'm staying- right here at Budget.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56Megan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogeP, Manager at Budget Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Hello 56Megan39,

Thank you so much for doing detail review on the Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to hear all was well during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

This motel had clean rooms, fresh bedding & towels and the cable TV & wifi functioned well.

Almost everything else was negative. The rooms, hallways, and stairs look like haven't been refurbished in decades.

I chose this motel based on price and because it was the second of three choices. It was a big mistake.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank woodygreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogeP, Manager at Budget Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Hello,

Thank you very much for providing feed back on the trip advisor. We are happy to hear that you are satisfy with our service. On your other comments, we are currently working to upgrading The Budget Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Easy for call-ahead late check in; good price at the time was total of $67. Very nice staff. Parking was available.

Outdated room. Heat and toilet worked; shower/tub had drip. Only amenities in bathroom were two small soaps, two packets of shampoo, one roll of toilet paper, one plastic cup, two hand towels, and two washcloths.

Alleyway, stairway, entryway to room creepy especially at night and would not be good during winter weather nor with more than overnight luggage. Can hear sound from other rooms, outside, and roadway but fairly quiet at night.

Microwave and decent small refrig. One tiny nightstand between 2 beds, not easy to access from either bed. One outlet near bathroom; outlet near air conditioner could only be used without a table or with curtain open.

Two beds had each 2 pillows, clean bottom & top sheets, and polyester bedspreads. Television had no instructions but were able to get news on channel 3 in the morning.

Room Tip: first floor rooms have king beds; if need more than one bed then must go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogeP, Manager at Budget Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Hello Alice,

Thank you very much for your detail comments on the Trip Advisor. We are currently working on to upgrade The Budget Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberty
15.3 km away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 4 in Monticello
326 reviews
1.8 km away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
479 reviews
17 km away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#2 of 4 in Monticello
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
2.6 km away
Lazy Pond Bed & Breakfast/Hotel/Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Motel

Address: 2 Oberferst St, Liberty, NY 12754-1810
Region: United States > New York > Liberty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liberty
Price Range: S$85 - S$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Budget Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing