We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Most unique and amazing experience in Zanzibar - Cheetahs Rock

On my solo trip to Cheetahs Rock I had the pleasure of the once in a lifetime experience to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Anna-dbl_1
Such a good experience!

Really great experience with involved staff. Thank you so much for all of this ! Glad of this visit.

Reviewed 2 days ago
288loloc
,
Piraeus, Greece
Read all 1,507 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Zanzibar Island
from US$698.90
More Info
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$61.54
More Info
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
1,418
51
16
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,418
51
16
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white lion bush babies once in a lifetime animal lovers rescued animals positive reinforcement amazing experience love animals beautiful animals wildlife conservation big cats money goes wonderful afternoon animal experience close contact highlight of our trip conservation work
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2021

We found out about this place via Google when planning our trip and activities in Zanzibar. Although the price might come as a bit of a shock to some people (compared to other activities on the island), in my opinion it is worth it. We spent 4.5 hours walking around, interacting with the different animals and learning more about them. It seems that the staff really love their jobs and the animals, and they take good care of them. And for us to be able to touch and feed them, was an absolute delight! Definitely recommended!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Veselina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Cat_Z, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago


Dear Veselina,

Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation to visit Cheetah’s Rock!
Our fee is calculated, so we can feed and take care of all the many wild animals entrusted to our care which you meet on your Great Wildlife Tour.
Thank you for understanding that this cannot come cheaply. Your fees go to Aslan the genuine white lion and all his other wild animal colleagues directly.

It is great you enjoyed interacting with the wild animals in a variety of ways that are appropriate.
It is wonderful when dear visitors like yourself have an open heart and mind to learn the personal story behind each wild animal which you encounter.
You are absolutely right: we love the wild animals, and they are the top priority at Cheetah’s Rock!

Thank you for your visit and your kind positive review.

All the best,

Jenny and the Cheetah’s Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

I enjoyed my experience tremendously. Thanks to the Team we have the chance at a unique closeness with wild animals. The effort, love, and work that goes into you project has deeply impressed me.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank jula1234457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Cat_Z, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Jula,

Thank you for posting your amazing photos of tigress Sagitta on her walk-by and getting so close to the Cheetah Latifa. Your photos capture the individual spirit of the wild animals entrusted to our care so very well.

It is wonderful you enjoyed your experience of the Great Wildlife Tour so very much. I have passed on your big praise to all my staff. Indeed, as you write, the animals and their welfare are the absolute top priority of all our work here by all of us at Cheetah’s Rock. Thank you for your kind recognition of all we do for them!

All the best,

Jenny and the Cheetah’s Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

Be sure to visit while on Zanzibar. It's just amazing. Guys are doing exceptional job there.
They keep, take care and give healthy, happy life to animals that have no chance of survival in the wild. They saved and adopted tigers, lions, cheetas that are being kept in flats, hotels, casinos and have no chance for a free life.
This is not a zoo, it's a shelter home.
Thank you for the chance to meet these lovely animals and thank you for the good job you are doing.
It was an honor.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank Maya_Sofia_Bulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Cat_Z, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Dear Maya,

Thank you so very much for your enthusiastic recommendation to visit Cheetah’s Rock.
Your comment is truly perceptive and warms my heart!
You are absolutely right: Cheetah’s Rock is a unique place where the wild animals entrusted to our care act as ambassadors for their often threatened and endangered species.
On our educational tour of Cheetah’s Rock, we demand your respect for all the wild animals – and we hope to instill love for them in your hearts as well.

You have been a very welcome and wonderful visitor.
I am sharing your generosity for all our work for the wild animals of Cheetah’s Rock with all my staff.

Thank you for your visit and your kind feedback.

All the best,

Jenny and the Cheetah’s Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021 via mobile

Be sure to visit this place if you are planning a trip to Zanzibar.
It will change the general perception of many wild animals, you will learn a lot of new things about them. The transfer is included in the ticket price, but we lived far from the center and the transfer turned out + 20 $.

Price 160 $/per pers. 100% worth it!

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank sima3169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Cat_Z, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2021


Dear Dmitry,

Thank you for your wonderful, enthusiastic recommendation to visit Cheetah’s Rock!
Your posted photos of the ring-tailed lemurs and the extremely endangered ploughshare tortoises are extraordinary and appreciated very much.

It is great you enjoyed your educational Great Wildlife Tour of Cheetah’s Rock so very much. Indeed, our zoologists serving as your tour guides provide a lot of valuable information about each wild animal entrusted to our care that you will meet in person on your tour, as well as general information on what can be done in the name of animal welfare and conservation -here at Cheetah’s Rock as well as world wide.

While transportation from most places on Zanzibar is complimentary, for locations very far from us, the drivers will receive some extra money via you for their extra use of petrol. Thank you so much you agree that our fee – which benefits the wild animals of Cheetah’s Rock! – is well worth your tour experience.

All the best,

Jenny and the Cheetah’s Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

This is not just a zoo or safari. Guys save very special animals, care about them and love what they do. This is definitely a lovely place, that will give you great memories.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Cat_Z, Inhaber at Cheetah's Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Andrey,

It is heartwarming to read how much you enjoyed meeting all the wild animals entrusted to our care at Cheetah’s Rock. They are indeed the top priority of all our efforts.
You are absolutely right: Cheetah’s Rock is a very unique, incomparable place!

It is always wonderful to read that dear welcome guests like yourselves left Cheetah’s Rock with special good memories embedded deep in their hearts.
Thank you for your visit and your kind review.

All the best,

Jenny and the Cheetah’s Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews