We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
27
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing boats tides dream sand sea zanzibar
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from The Island in Pongwe and had a wonderful stay there. Perfect service, best food, very nice bungalows. Warmest recommendation for people who want to holiday in a pleasant atmosphere away from mass tourism or pompous luxury. Andrea & Andreas

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Explore17194452593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a location, what a view and 8 unforgettable nights. One of the best boutique hotels we ever expect to stay in - with fantastic staff who all go above and beyond to make the trip even more special. We feel lucky (even privileged) to have experienced The Island in its first year of opening and fully expect it to be a shining light of Zanzibar tourism; unique and authentic serenity. Amine/Margarita (and all) - thank you! We will miss the place, the seafood and the hospitality! Oh...and the pizza, the seaweed salad, the tuna tartare... :)

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

We stayed at this beautiful place for two nights and had an amazing time. It's such a unique hotel and so much attention has been paid to detail. It is worth a visit for the food alone! The cottages are lovely and clean with seating outside to take in the view. The pool is great and the restaurant is a lovely place to sit for a long meal.
All the staff were fantastic and made us feel so welcome. All in all a great stay and we are looking forward to going back!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

The Island is the most magical place I have ever been too. We stumbled upon it during a walk and were greeted by the owner Amine and his fiancé Margarita. They are the most friendly and welcoming people we have ever met. Immediately they showed us around the beautiful grounds and gave us a tour of the most exquisite villa. The ambiance of this place is surreal. Views are from a dream and surround the entire island. Everyone who works here takes pride in what they do and what they make. From the fresh juices and cocktails to well crafted seafood dishes, our stomachs were always full and happy. The sangria is some of the best I’ve ever had and as they serve it in jugs, it seems like it endlessly flows. The octopus dish was something we ate almost daily, but everything on the menu is incredibly delicious!! As the tide changes, sometimes you can walk, but sometimes you must take a boat to the entrance which adds to the magical experience. Fishing boats float on the turquoise waters which I could watch all day long. This place and the people here made our whole trip. We so looked forward to visiting them every day and enjoying the views with the ocean breeze, the friendly faces and wonderful food. We will miss this place as it became our second home during our time in Zanzibar.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank judy_bluee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Come you who are weary, be revived. The Island resort will truly breathe life into your soul. It is nothing less than absolute magic. I have been to some 60 countries and stayed in every place you can imagine. NOTHING compares to the island resort in pongwe. From the fresh drinks to the lively and accommodating staff, here you will find what you are looking for. When on the island your thought and worries will melt away as you look over the horizon of the Indian Ocean. Small wooden fishing boats bob in the distance. Kind servers offer you their good wishes and authentic smiles. Amine and Margarita, the owners, are the type of people you wish would become your lifelong friends. When Amine gave us a tour of the facility he was constantly showing us the most amazing finishes and thoughtful designs. By the end of our trip we had tried everything on the menu without a single disappointing meal. I wish my writing ability matches the beauty and magnificence of this resort. You truly will be transported to another world where the wind and sand and sea meet together in a harmonious blend. It is mesmerizing. There is simply nothing in the world like it. Come. Come soon!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews