We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Seasons Lodge Zanzibar(Pongwe)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azao Resort & Spa by Opulent(Pongwe)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Pongwe Bay Resort(Pongwe)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Santa Maria Coral Park(Pongwe)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$752
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moja Tuu - Zanzibar(Zanzibar City)
US$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
817
147
36
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
147
36
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood platterbush babiesour honeymoonstone townevery morningsalt waterinfinity poolpalm treesindian oceanlow tidecaptain alisea breezeno air conditioninglittle touchesabsolute paradisemasai guardsday safari
Filter
Updating list...
837 - 842 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Outstanding service from friendly, helpful staff. Lovely room, well manicured gardens, great food, quiet beach.

The secluded location suited us as we didnt want anything but the sun and sea and cocktails.

Not a single complaint about this great hotel. It was perfect.

Website perfectly represents the hotel.


R & B Masters
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank BronwynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

My husband and I stayed at Pongwe Beach Hotel for our honeymoon from 04th of December to the 12th of December in 2006. We were met by a breathtakingly white beach and beautiful sea! We were also met by a smiling and very welcoming manager with yummy cocktails to follow. He told us more about the place and what to expect. Our luggage was carried to our room (Val's room) which has the most beautiful view of the beach and is very private being right on the end. The room itself is breezy and clean, with a lovely shower and the lulling sound of the sea can be heard splashing on the rocks. A bottle of champagne was waiting on ice and fresh flowers were placed on the bed each day. We were incredibly surprised by the freshness and quality of the meals prepared and ended up eating the most amazing three course lunches and dinners we've ever had. On top of their set menu, virtually anything could be pre-ordered and the friendly chef would make a plan. Breakfasts were always different, fresh and great tasting. We quickly found that NOTHING was too big an effort or hassle for the Pongwe Beach Hotel staff and management and every request was returned with a smile. Heidi (the manageress) is such a terrific and engaging person who went out of her way to make our honeymoon a memorable one. She was very efficient with our booking and was a real pleasure to deal with. Val (the owner) made us feel incredibly welcome and at home. The beach is swept each morning, the infinity pool is stunning and the cocktails are superb. There is nothing negative to say about Pongwe Beach Hotel and we will most certainly be back!! Thanks Val, Heidi and all the staff and guests of Pongwe Beach Hotel for making our honeymoon a truly spectacular one - we love you!! Greg and Beth Roberts, Pretoria, South Africa

Stayed: December 2006
7  Thank Biffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

Pongwe is just simply a fantastic hotel. Beautiful. Amazingly well run. Charming owner and staff. Great food.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank randomusername1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

On arrival at Pongwe Beach Hotel,after 9 days touring the island on a 250cc scrambler,you knew instantaneously that it was a good find.
A medium sized hotel, perfectly situated on the West coast for that uncrowded beach holiday.Immaculate and artistically designed spacious rooms set in lush gardens overlooking the white sands.
It was very easy to adjust to the Pongwe way of life,relaxing,very friendly and attentive staff with quite simply out of this world cuisine:probably the best on the island and always a discussion point among the guests.The only dilemma was what to have for lunch!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank decking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Overall Pongwe is a great hotel - however, it cannot yet be classified as excellent as there are a few areas which they still need to work on. A great place for a relaxing 3 days.

Positives:
1. Beautiful beach with large lagoon (bring some water shoes to protect you from the numerous sea urchins mid way out - these are common across Zanzibar)
2. Exceptional customer service and friendly staff - sometimes hard to find on the Island
3. Great food!
4. Large and comfortable rooms in attractive thatched buildings.

Negatives:
1. Plumbed water is drawn from the sea (albeit slightly filtered) and is salty.
2. No air-con
3. Electricity shuts off in the night (so you can wake up hot after the fan above the bed shuts off as a result c. midnight to 6am)
4. Swimming pool operational but surrounding area not yet fully finished.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank 7om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews