We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2007

We stayed at Pongwe Beach Hotel for our Honeymoon, i could not think of a more perfect setting, with outstanding customer service.
The two lady managers were outstanding, i had an allergic reaction while there and they helped my new husband with, arranging a Dr and medication. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The lovely waitresses and waiters made our stay memorable with their everready smiles and constant effort to please.

The lagoon was beautiful and scuba diving recommended.
It is worth a visit arranged by the hotel to Stonetown.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank carrielisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 759 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2007

Outstanding service from friendly, helpful staff. Lovely room, well manicured gardens, great food, quiet beach.

The secluded location suited us as we didnt want anything but the sun and sea and cocktails.

Not a single complaint about this great hotel. It was perfect.

Website perfectly represents the hotel.


R & B Masters
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank BronwynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

My husband and I stayed at Pongwe Beach Hotel for our honeymoon from 04th of December to the 12th of December in 2006. We were met by a breathtakingly white beach and beautiful sea! We were also met by a smiling and very welcoming manager with yummy cocktails to follow. He told us more about the place and what to expect. Our luggage was carried to our room (Val's room) which has the most beautiful view of the beach and is very private being right on the end. The room itself is breezy and clean, with a lovely shower and the lulling sound of the sea can be heard splashing on the rocks. A bottle of champagne was waiting on ice and fresh flowers were placed on the bed each day. We were incredibly surprised by the freshness and quality of the meals prepared and ended up eating the most amazing three course lunches and dinners we've ever had. On top of their set menu, virtually anything could be pre-ordered and the friendly chef would make a plan. Breakfasts were always different, fresh and great tasting. We quickly found that NOTHING was too big an effort or hassle for the Pongwe Beach Hotel staff and management and every request was returned with a smile. Heidi (the manageress) is such a terrific and engaging person who went out of her way to make our honeymoon a memorable one. She was very efficient with our booking and was a real pleasure to deal with. Val (the owner) made us feel incredibly welcome and at home. The beach is swept each morning, the infinity pool is stunning and the cocktails are superb. There is nothing negative to say about Pongwe Beach Hotel and we will most certainly be back!! Thanks Val, Heidi and all the staff and guests of Pongwe Beach Hotel for making our honeymoon a truly spectacular one - we love you!! Greg and Beth Roberts, Pretoria, South Africa

Stayed: December 2006
7  Thank Biffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

Pongwe is just simply a fantastic hotel. Beautiful. Amazingly well run. Charming owner and staff. Great food.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank randomusername1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

On arrival at Pongwe Beach Hotel,after 9 days touring the island on a 250cc scrambler,you knew instantaneously that it was a good find.
A medium sized hotel, perfectly situated on the West coast for that uncrowded beach holiday.Immaculate and artistically designed spacious rooms set in lush gardens overlooking the white sands.
It was very easy to adjust to the Pongwe way of life,relaxing,very friendly and attentive staff with quite simply out of this world cuisine:probably the best on the island and always a discussion point among the guests.The only dilemma was what to have for lunch!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank decking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongwe
10.2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,678 reviews
22.3 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
12 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.8 km away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#3 of 6 in Pongwe
171 reviews
18.8 km away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pongwe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongwe Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 297, Pongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pongwe
Price Range: $188 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongwe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on what could perhaps be described as the best beach in Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach Hotel is a tranquil place where one can escape the hustle and bustle of modern day life. It is modestly sized, with 4 Sea View Suites, 13 traditional Beach Villas as well as 3 Garden Rooms and has an intimate, personal atmosphere. Set within a secluded bay on the east coast of Zanzibar, Pongwe Beach is a true paradise retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pongwe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing