We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As wonderful as we hoped!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“As wonderful as we hoped!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

After ready the rave reviews on Tripadvisor we booked a week at the beginning of October. Everything was as lovely as we hoped and the rooms were actually better!
Much has already been written in previous reviews and I echo those comments entirely but I have some tips -
A. Leave the kids at home, its far too romantic to spoil with having to think about anyone else but the two of you.
B. Book a room with a hot tub and enjoy it each evening with a bottle of wine/bubbly and watch the sunset. The views of the sunset are perfect from Ikies, some other hotels nearby go into shade from the shape of the island so cant see the red ball of sun plunge into the sea.
C. The metzes platter for lunch at Ikies was wonderful, a real feast with about 8 -10 separate little dishes. With a good bottle of wine this was served on our terrace for just 40 euros.
D. Hire a car and drive around the island yourselves, visiting winetastings, villages and amazing views as you want to.
E. Avoid the dozens of buses disgorging thousands of tourists from the cruise ships. Some nationalities were photographing everything, including thier food, and became a bit intrusive. Especially when they were taking pictures of us in our hot tub!
F. Santorini Mou. Aaah, what a gem. A lovely local taverna about 200yds up the road with superb local dishes, obliging friendly staff and best of all they break out some singing and even dancing most nights. The fact we went there on 3 nights out of 6 probably says it all. Its a must.
G. Ask the very helpful reception staff at Ikies to recommend restaurants. They know of real finds which you could never find in a million years.
H. Finally, dont go rushing out all day, every day. Chill out on your terrace and just watch the day drift by with unbeatable views. A couple of chilled beers or glass of champagne with the one you love . . . . .

Room Tip: A hot tub is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy-from-Maldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
547
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Two things summarize Ikies
1) The view - this is breathtaking and wonderful - not sure any different here than from any of the other places on this part of Oia

and

2) The people - this is why i would stay here if i were to stay in Oia again. Their people are absolutely fantastic. They are friendly but not invasive. They are helpful but not pushy. They are kind and thoughtful.

There is one down side to Ikies (and to be honest, the entire cliffside "scene" at Oia) - it is the noise and lack of privacy. Because of the nature of the landscape here, there is just really not much possibility of privacy - it is certainly not the fault of Ikies - it is just how it is. The lack of privacy is complicated, if you are unlucky, by any other loud or intrusive guests who surround you. There's no way to escape them, except for going into your room - and then you miss the view, which is why you are staying there in the first place!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjens93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Already set in paridise, Ikies makes the stay exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stumbled on this romantic, stunning little gem of a hideway by accident. It was our last day in Santorini to leave the island & board our yacht to sail off into sunset. Instead we popped in just for curiosity to see what the rates were like & to see what the place looked like to justify if we should extend our stay. It's exactly what all the reviewers say it is & won't dissapoint. We loved it so much we stayed put & didn't leave the hotel once, so as not to miss one second of it. Yes it's true, the accom, views & breakfast are wonderful & the reception girls really are down to earth, relaxed, friendly, helpful & lovely. All the while service was attentive without being obtrusive so you always have privacy. Other guests were couples too, so no noisy families with passion-killers (ooops i meant kids). Can't think of anything that needs improving, it was just perfect!
Mrs K. Pitt

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all little surprise gems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We just experienced the holiday of a lifetime at Ikies in Santorini. We stayed in the Captain's House which was absolutely wonderful. Lounge and kitchenette plus a separate bedroom with doors that opened onto our own private outdoor jacuzzi (candlelit at night) which was totally private. The views from our terrace were just breathtaking. Although the stairs to some of the rooms further down were just to the side, hardly anyone went past and it still felt virtually completely private. The double outdoor futon was the height of luxury.

Loella, Katherina and Maria and all the Ikies team looked after us to perfection - we've never experienced such warm yet unintrusive service. They have got it down to a 'T' - booking us tables at restaurants, silently serving the most delicious greek breakfast on our terrace and just giving us a knock to announce it was all ready for us. We just couldn't fault it and are very grateful to them for giving us such a wonderful stay.

Oia is just the most beautiful little town full of amazing restaurants and little shops that are all open until midnight. The walk there and back from the hotel is blissful along a little cobbled path. From other reviews we thought it was going to be quite a steep climb but we found it to be a very pleasant stroll largely on the flat - it's really only getting up the steps from the room to the main path which are steep (all hotels there have that as they are set lower down on the cliff).

Yes it was very expensive and we were a little worried about pushing the boat out to this degree but we honestly felt it was worth every penny. This really was the holiday of a lifetime and felt like a 2nd honeymoon.

Room Tip: We highly recommend getting a room with its own outdoor jacuzzi. There is a swimming pool but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 km away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.8 km away
Andronis Luxury Suites
1.4 km away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#5 of 56 in Oia
342 reviews
0.6 km away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#12 of 56 in Oia
939 reviews
1.0 km away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price range (per night): $429 - $1,917
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Oia, Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing