We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We wanted to go to a place where we can experience fall colors and this place, Adirondacks, turned out to be excellent. And the place we stayed in was just perfect.

In Lapland Lake Vacation Centre, there are some options to choose from depending on the size requirements. We stayed in Lumi Tupa, which was about 800 sft with three bedrooms. No matter which option you choose you can be rest assured of one thing, the rooms are pretty neat and clean. They are extra ordinarily detailed, nice colonial felling. The kitchen has necessary stuff to manage a decent cooking and the bathroom was impeccably neat. The hotel provides sufficient wood to light up the fireplace, and also provides barbecue accessories. Perfect for the people who wants to enjoy a bit grill and want to have a quiet drink.

The lapland lake is walkable distance to the rooms, and the walk trails are adequately marked so that the people don't go missing in the woods. The hotel provides it's guest with different of boating options at no extra cost. It was a very enjoyable experience, provided you know how to boat. You got to be very cautious about while boating as there are no life guards on duty and more importantly, there are no cell phone signals, so in case of any accident you are virtually on your own. So be cautious.

Overall, its a nice hotel, highly recommend !! :) Enjoy your stay..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

Tupa's (cabins) are very comfortable with everything you need, including the lack of TV, that was excellent, listened to music, and had great walks with a beautiful lake to canoe on (included) owners wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were one of 13 couples (from 9 states) on tour driving our pre 1916 automobiles around the Adirondack Park. The setting and lodging at Lapland gave our tour participants the real flavor of the Adirondacks. The leaves were beginning to change color which added to the pristine beauty of the Lapland Lake Resort. Many enjoyed the walk or drive to the lake. Some even paddled around the lake by canoe. It was only a one night stay, but ALL wished we could have stayed another day or two.
Would we return to Lapland? YES! YES! YES!

Helen & Lee (PA) volunteer tour planners

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our stay at Lapland Lake was awesome. My wife and I were there with 3 of our adult kids (ages 17-25) and everyone loved it. The acommodations were fantastic, the scenery, the quiet and of course the lake. Ann and the staff are wonderful and made us feel so at home. We highly recommend Lapland Lake. An experience to remember.

Room Tip: All the cabins are lovely. You should choose according to number of beds required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is my third visit. Beautiful setting. Beach is sandy, has shallow kiddie area as well as deeper swimming area. Canoes and kayaks are available. Cottages (tupas) are well-furnished and attractive. Pizza delivery available, otherwise use the grills provided or the well-equipped kitchens. Bring your own beach towels, hair dryers, charcoal and food. Grocery store in a nearby town (Northville). No TV or cell phone service, so if you can't handle that, its not your kind of place. Office staff has lists of nearby attractions (horseback riding, hiking and others)if the beach, the lake and just enjoying the calm aren't enough. My only concern was that Latu Tupa doesn't lock from the inside ( I think the other tupas do lock and hopefully, this will be fixed.inside)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Address: 139 Lapland Lake Rd, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price Range: $236 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing