We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
260
189
61
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
189
61
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels hard boiled eggs window seat continental breakfast room was clean within walking distance finger lakes early check front desk staff staff was very friendly and helpful nice stay would stay again the breakfast area mini fridge indoor pool very nice hotel first floor
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Came here for a one night stay for a friend’s wedding. Should have foreseen the issues and rebooked somewhere else. Called to make my reservation months ahead of time and was promised a booking confirmation via email. Never received. After my fourth call back, I finally got the pdf. Check in was the worst ever. I waited over 30 minutes to be checked in. We were nearly late for the start of the wedding festivities. Room was unimpressive for ~$200 a night. Breakfast was mediocre so we went to a diner downtown. I will never stay at this hotel or use any hotel within the Wyndham portfolio again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pjsisk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie M, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

I'm sincerly sorry for the bad experience you had during your stay with us. We have been working really hard to get all of our checkins done as quickly as possible with two staff members scheduled. I will surely look into this further and find a faster way to get all of our 3 pm wedding guests in faster. We generally do recommend a 2 night stay when guests have a early wedding. We are usually unable to offer early checkins on Saturdays, as we are usually sold out on friday night and have no clean rooms avaliable. Please accept our sincerest apology for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Not enough staff, took forever to check in as desk had to answer phone too, in morning front desk had to manage the breakfast ( a mess). We had to eat elsewhere, out of most everything. But room was fine

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie M, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I want to apologize for the concerns you experienced during your most recent visit. We have since addressed each of these with the departments involved. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

The Windmill market is only 6 miles away and it was convenient to get there early on Saturday morning (before it got too hot out) We were also visiting the Canandaigua area and our stay there made everything convenient. The staff were very friendly, the room was comfortable and we definitely recommend this place to anyone passing through the area. For a reasonable charge i really don’t think you’re able to find a better deal... breakfast included.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindabriggs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie M, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel in Penn Yan, NY! I am so pleased to see you had such a great stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Stayed at the Microtel Inn at Penn Yan on a recent visit to the Finger Lakes. This is a fairly new hotel in the area that we were interested in staying so we thought it would be a a good idea to stay here. Check in was easy and the room was small but that was not the problem. We were located across from the elevator that rang like a lound doorbell. The ice machine was also next to the elevator in an open area and you could hear every cube of ice fall when someone was using it. There was also a speaker in the ceiling of the hallway playing music 24 hours. We were woken up several times during the night hearing the elevator, ice machine and the music. The walls must be paper thin because you can hear everyone's conversations through the door. There is a large air conditioning unit right on top of one of the beds which blows directly on you. Don't forget all of your toiletries, they give you shampoo but no conditioner, and two bars of soap. The towels feel like sandpaper and there is no lotion provided. Housekeeping consists of someone coming in and pulling up the sheets and tucking them in...our pillows were exactly how we left them the night before, never moved. The lighting in the room is poor with a bright overhead light over a small window seat. If you wanted to relax and sit down your best bet is to do it in bed, they do provide 2 desk style chairs similar to the ones provided in a college dorm. The free breakfast in the lobby is a carbohydrate fest with pancakes, bagels, muffins, sausage, cheerios, fruit loops, raisin bran and apples. AND...they ran out of coffee at 8:30am and had only decaf left. No coffee left to brew!! Parking was good and there were areas where people can park their boats. This is more like a minimalistic hotel, Wyndham Hotels missed the mark on this new concept of lodging.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank 161lesleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie M, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for taking the tme to review our hotel. I apologize for the concerns yuo experienced during your most recent visit. Should your travels bring you back to the area we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

When we arrived, there was garbage from the previous people in our room. Check in took forever as there was only one person who was managing the check ins, the complaints from guests who didn't have enough towels etc, and answering the phone. You could get new keys made without showing any id - and upon checking in a couple was complaining that they had things stolen from their room. I can understand why if you can just randomly say a room number and get new keys for any room. We were locked out of our room - I assume someone did the same thing and just went into our room to see what they could steal. The most unsecure place I have ever stayed at. Also, if you stay more than one night, according to the manager on duty, they don't change the sheets or make the bed. They only give you shampoo on the first day and they don't replace all your towels. We had to ask for a shower mat twice and new facecloths as well. All waiting in line with the ONE person behind the desk who is in charge of checking people in, getting everyone towels that the cleaning people messed up, and answering the phone.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank claith763934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie M, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I want to apologize for the concerns you experienced during your most recent stay. I have since addressed them with all the departments involved. We do hope you will choose to give our hotel another chance should your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews