We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not even going to wait till we get home...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed 1 July 2011

...I'm gonna sing the praises of this motel while I'm still here!
We're in Room 306, over-looking the pool. I took some pictures, which I'll submit when I write an addendum to this review, to show the proof. We have two double beds, a comfortable stuffed-chair and ottoman, a desk w/desk-chair, a 42" flat-screen TV w/HBO, and a good-sized refrigerator w/microwave on a nice wooden cabinet-stand.
The bathroom is very nice and the air-conditioner keeps the temperature at our desired comfort-level automatically without a hitch. The beds are very comfortable and the rug seems to be new (at least it feels new under bare-feet)
The service is excellent and the staff very friendly, and now for the most-pleasant surprise: they list a "continental breakfast" but what they provide goes WAY beyond any bagel-and-coffee fare I have ever been served.
Are there any shortcomings? Well, how about this: When I reached for the quality-wooden-end-table, to move it over to where I could set the laptop on it to watch a DVD we'd rented, my hand touched a foreign object. It seems someone had stuck a wad of chewing-gum on the underside of the table-top! I got a napkin and coaxed the mass off the wood and threw it in the trash.
I seems to me that this is the Catch-22 that motel operators face: Trying to provide a clean environment where travelers can lay their heads down for a good night's sleep when so many of those very travelers seem to have an irresistible urge to be on their WORST behavior when they stay in an hotel room! But, I digress...
Simply put, when visiting the Hudson Valley, stay here!

Room Tip: Top Floors?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OBE94347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hi there -
I am so glad you had a great time here! I really appreciate all your kind words. I'm sorry you had to endure the ever elusive chewing gum wad - but I appreciate you removing it. As routine housekeeping checks for such things but every now and then the "gum wad" strikes again.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 354 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Nothing to get excited about, either in a positive or negative sense. If you need a reliable, reasonably priced hotel in Poughkeepsie, look no further. Take care on Rte 9 finding access to the hotel - road signage in this town leave a lot to be desired. No adjacent restaurants.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hello -
Thank you for staying with us. I agree, sometimes the roads and signage in the area can be confusing and turns are easy to miss. Our goal is to give you a great stay and keep you coming back so please, I invite you to email me with your insights we can make a memorable stay for our guests. My email is eja.hiexpress@yahoo.com

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2011. A large group of us stayed here for a wedding, and the hotel was the perfect place for us to stay! Very nice and clean rooms, and the price was very good. The complimentary breakfast was by far the best free breakfast I have ever had at a hotel. Hot foods, eggs, sausage, cinnamon buns, and a whole lot more - all for free! Friendly staff and a pool made the trip even better. My only complaint is the pool hours are 10 am to 8 pm - then the gate is locked. We wanted to go for an early morning swim, and were told that we couldn't. But that did not lower my impression of this hotel. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njdc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hello -
Thanks for staying with us! I love those cinnamon buns too! When I walk in every morning I smell them and think - okay - hot cinnamon bun or my protein bar?? It's an easy decision - my protein bar is still in my desk drawer :)

I'm sorry you couldn't get in for an early morning swim - we are bound by certain regulations and guidelines - but i'm glad you had a great stay nonetheless.

Come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here two nights for the Vassar graduation and found it to be a very pleasant hotel. Our king room was large, with a separate seating area, and because I'd asked for a quiet room, ours was on the top floor facing into the woods behind the hotel. Very comfortable bed,. A microwave and minifridge that was very welcome. We'd just stayed in HIEs in England and expecting the same, but this hotel was luxurious in comparison: free use of laundry room, free wireless, quite adequate breakfast, good range of cable stations on the TV, anda much more spacious room with good lighting. We had friends staying at the same hotel, and all of us felt quite satisfied with the accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triptravelBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hello -
Thank you for your great review! I'm so glad you're very happy with your stay! Graduation time can be very busy so it's nice to be able to relax in peace and quiet. If you do get back to the Poughkeepsie area we'd love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stay in the Hyde Park/Poughkeepsie area for one week every year to attend boot camp at the Culinary Institute of America. We've stayed at the Hampton Inn, Residence Inn, and Courtyard in Poughkeepsie. The Holiday Inn Express is much cleaner and more customer friendly than the others. The rooms are well appointed with flat screen TV, desk, and wireless internet. The breakfast is hot, quick, and free. The breakfast attendant did a wonderful job of keeping the tables clean and the food bar well stocked. There is a free shuttle to the CIA and the driver is also the maintenance manager. He knows the area very well and is very enthusiastic and friendly. The housekeeping staff is quick, thorough and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OCC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hello -
Thank you for staying with us when you were here for boot-camp. That can be an intense time at the Culinary Institute of America so I admire anyone who takes those courses! I'm glad you had a refreshing stay here also! Definitely stay with us again when you return back to the CIA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.9 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
447 reviews
5.3 km away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
292 reviews
3.1 km away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
281 reviews
13.6 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $145 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing