We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Setting For a Relaxing Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Decided on a last minute 2-night getaway with the wife to NY, somewhere along the Hudson River. Stumbled upon WhistleWood when looking online for places to stay and they had one room left so we went ahead with it and we are so glad we did! Our stay was fantastic, very laid back and relaxing which is exactly what we are looking for. We stayed in the Sunset room which is one of the 3 rooms in the separate carriage house. The room was cozy, very clean, and had a sliding glass door out to a private patio. The carriage house also has a common kitchen available for use by the guests which was nice.

Maggie (the owner) was a sweetheart and was quick to make us feel at home. She provided amazing snacks and refreshments at the dessert table each night and the breakfast each morning was freshly made and fantastic. The farm fresh eggs were simply the best eggs I've ever had and Maggie will prepare them to your liking along with fresh pictures herbs and vegetables. Maggie was also great in offering information about the local area for attractions, wineries, or where to grab lunch/dinner.

The B&B was located only a few minutes from downtown Rhinebeck off a nice quiet road and was easy to find. There was a lot to see and do nearby to keep busy if we wanted but just relaxing at B&B was equally enjoyable. All in all it was a great stay and we definitely look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 75stingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

I spent 2 nights at WhistleWood Farm B&B with 2 girlfriends. We were looking for somewhere close to NYC to relax, hike, shop, and eat. We found all of that and more staying in the Juniper room. The property is meticulously maintained and the rooms are the perfect balance of cozy and clean. Every need of a room was met- dark shades, a/c, lots of clean towels, space to read, write, and a nice bathroom. We had a cute deck off of our room where we sat enjoying the wildflowers and birds. The food is outstanding. There is breakfast in the morning that offers everything you could want from baked goods to breakfast meat and eggs. Many of the baked goods remained available throughout the day. Maggie was so gracious in her offerings throughout the day. She alone is enough reason for us to return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

This was one of the top B&B that we have been to and we go to many. If you are looking for relaxation...peace...you found it. Maggie and all her pets were the best...my husband couldn't stop eating her pies...thank you for a great weekend! Beautiful place

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosa0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Maggie is an outstanding host! Beautiful surroundings, comfortable rooms, delicious food and coffee. I'd go back - peaceful, tranquil, lots of walking trails. Horses, chickens (you can help feed them) Only a few minutes from town ( plenty of restaurants) and historical sites ( Vanderbilt, Roosevelt). Culinary Institute only 25 min and worth the ride

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Three couples, all in our 80’s, spent four nights in the Carriage House in June. We’re all still quite active, not the retiring sorts, and the Farm offered peaceful, beautiful acreage to explore, classic landscaping and nicely manicured pastures to offer a continually charming setting, and Maggie’s dog, two cats, Tigger, the donkey, and Spirit, the quarter horse, plus any being stabled and a flock of hens that would spring from nowhere, anytime they suspected that you’re approaching with treats - this all created a magical respite. We’re all well-traveled and our consensus was that Whistlewood has to be at or near the top of our favorite stops, and this sentiment definitely would apply to any age and absolutely a terrific choice for a young family with children!

And Maggie………..and her kitchen! As advertised, you don’t have the time to consume everything she has waiting for you………pies, cakes, cookies, muffins always sitting on her large treat table daring you to try them. The brightly open breakfast room sits a few steps from where she is cooking. A nice variety of birds coming to the feeders just outside of where we dined was always a nice distraction. The fare changes each morning……….all great. Use caution, she’ll stuff you and still complain that you’re not eating enough! Maggie is the consummate hostess and her dining recommendations in Rhinebeck were solid.

If distance were not a limiting factor, we’d try to return just about every summer. You won’t regret the choice and if somehow you aren’t satisfied despite my praise of Whistlewood Farm, I’ll pay for your stay, if you can find me.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned what's available; if the room is sufficient for your family, the rest is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
10.9 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
913 reviews
10.4 km away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
59 reviews
23.5 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
32.1 km away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
18.1 km away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 52 Pells Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range: $203 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WhistleWood Farm is located on a hilltop, in Rhinebeck, less than two hours north of Manhattan in New York's historic Hudson Valley. Open decks, outdoor fire pit, pastoral views, wildflower gardens, the starry night sky form a setting for solitude or lively conversations. Pull up a chair on the deck or a porch to enjoy the views, or settle on a cozy fireside sofa with a good book. Explore the nature trails to the pond, the woods, the scenery, visit the retired horses, the donkeys, the Dexter cows and calves, feed our chickens for the freshest eggs or just... Relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistlewood Farm b&b
Whistlewood Farm Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing