We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
134
75
17
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
75
17
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casino hotel antique mall breakfast lady warm pool pancake machine nearby casino shuttle bus min drive great place to stay quiet area complimentary breakfast non smoking hot tub the breakfast area seneca casino yogurt room was clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We are former campers who have spent a lot of time in Allegany State Park -- which is gorgeous and has so many hiking, kayaking, and biking opportunities. We have moved on from camping and were looking for a place to stay in the area. What a treat this was!!
At a fraction of the price of a Casino hotel room, this hotel offers a delicious breakfast that I would not call continental -- it is a full breakfast. There were scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, omelets, toast, yogurt, and cereal available -- along with the most DELICIOUSLY addictive cinnamon rolls! There is a full time staff person working in the breakfast area who is friendly and keeps the food hot and the area clean and neat.
There is fresh hot coffee (regular and decaf) available all the time. The room has a Keurig in it for you to use if you are particularly about the type of coffee you drink. There is also a microwave and a mini fridge, and there were even a few paper plates and plastic forks available in the storage area to use for eating in the room.

All of the staff I encountered were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless, and it was obvious the housekeeping staff took great pride in their work. Beds were comfortable with 2 pillow options: soft and firm.

We were in a King room, which is exceptionally spacious and had a couch, desk, and table in it. The entire hotel is non-smoking, so it smells fresh and clean.

We walked over to the casino one afternoon just to stretch our legs -- it's very walkable if you like that sort of thing, and there is a sidewalk the whole way. There's also a shuttle every half hour, and we chose to do that on the way back.

This was an excellent choice for a great price, and the breakfast filled us up nicely every morning in preparation for our fishing and hiking adventures. The only downside is that the walls are a little thin. We found that running the window unit fan created enough white noise to not make this a problem.

We will definitely be staying again!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LisaOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Ann Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

WOW. LisaOutdoors, you have made our day! There is nothing we love more than to have our guests completely enjoy their stays with us. You have hit on so many of the amenities we offer! We hope you had a bit of time to enjoy the indoor pool or whirlpool and please note that on your trips in, we have a complimentary laundry facilitiy to wash your clothes so you can take them home clean! We are also Tax Exempt so that is a savings, as well. We so appreciate your kind words and we are happy that we are here for you for every trip to our area that you make. We are here to welcome you back with open arms! Please take care and Stay Smart-Stay with us again and again. The Holiday Inn Express Team - Salamanca NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We have stayed at several Holiday Inns before I have to say this is one of the cleanest ones we have stayed at. It was a few days to antiquing around the area and it was nice to come back to a very hot shower , quiet rooms and comfortable bed. Nice free breakfast too and friendly staff. Salamanca NY has one of the biggest antique malls around and we are from Maryland.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Ann Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

dee u, we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We do our best so you completely enjoy every moment. The Salamanca Antique Mall is something to see but you need to wear comfy shoes as it is huge! We hope you found some great finds to take home with you. Don't forget us on your next trip in as we will be here to welcome you with open arms. Please take care and travel safe! Stay Smart-Stay with us again. The Holiday Inn Express Team in Salamanca, NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The room was very clean and the rate very reasonable for an HI Express. The breakfast in the morning was everything you would expect and more - plenty for everyone. More importantly, I traveled with my dog and the hotel had a great grassy area, but was also close to a pleasant walking trail. I would definitely recommend to anyone traveling along the route and needing a nice quiet place to stay for the night.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Ann Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Geographer08, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your pet had room to roam. We do our best to ensure every part of your stay is as you would expect, with the inclusion of having area's that your pet will enjoy, as well.
We hope that we have the chance to see you once again but in the meantime, please take care. Stay Smart-Stay with us again. The Holiday Inn Express Team - Salamanca NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Having worked in the hospitality Industry for over 40 years I think I've done it all. I started as a bellman and left as Managing Director over hundreds of hotels. And having traveled extensively throughout the US as both management and guest I think I know a good hotel when I experience one.

This is a good hotel!

This Holiday Express is 13 years old and was renovated three years ago but you would never know that from its maintenance and housekeeping. It is amongst the best we have ever seen. It presents as new construction. I know how to check a guestroom and ours was S-P-O-T-L-E-S-S.

Every staff person we encountered was genuinely friendly and concerned that we were comfortable. There was none of that "I'm asking you if everything is OK because they trained me to ask that" insincerity.

Curb appeal and first impressions are extremely critical in the guest's decision to choose a lodging facility. This property's visibility is extremely poor. We've stayed in Salamanca at least four times before and have never even noticed this hotel. It is far off the main street and masked by shrubs and trees.

We've always stayed at the Casino and then, after having contributed as much as we could afford to the Seneca Nation by use of its gaming, traveled to the Antique Mall. If the Casino hotel had not been booked we would never have discovered this gem on Tripadvisor. And, as a bonus, we paid LESS for our three night stay than the Casino wanted for one night!

Our primary criticism was one that would have totally put us off at almost any other hotel during a "let's give this a try" first time stay. They forgot to clean our room on the last night. We immediately brought this to the attention of the front desk and were offered fresh towels and soap. We declined because were we in a two bedded room and still had unused terry and linen. We had been asked that morning by housekeeping if they could come in to clean but we declined that because we were still getting ready for our day's activities. The problem was that no one seemed to follow up later and see we were stayovers. Perhaps the housekeeper misunderstood us and believed we were declining service for the day? However, I think it is a testimony to our excellent impression of this staff and the obvious care they take in their product that we were so willing to give them the benefit of doubt and excuse this transgression. If our impression had not been so superlative from the previous two days this would have been a deal killer and a much different review.

A negative comment is also due regarding the use of the electrical outlet in the base of the nightstand lamp. We travel with CPAPs which must be plugged in. Perhaps you let your cellphone charge overnight using these convenient outlets? Be warned that the outlets in the base of these lamps only works when the lamp is on. If you want to use electrical equipment that is plugged into the lamp base you must unscrew the light bulb when you turn off the lamp. The problem is obvious for CPAP users because the CPAP turns off when the light is turned off. But charger users may find their electronics have not charged at all. There is another lower wall based outlet near the bed but it was not visible and inconveniently located.

We were told that the franchisor had mandated that this sort of lamp with its drawbacks was required because it offered some safety feature related to that outlet. This is the first hotel in which we have experienced this annoyance. We stay at Hampton when we use limited service hotels. I suggest that the front desk notify guests upon check in or in the alternative that some notice is given in the room.

It is a sad but little known fact that most franchisors own few if any of the hotels that fly their flag. They make their money off the top, off total revenue not profit. If they had to depend upon profit as the franchisee does perhaps they would be more sensitive to the impact of the things they require the real risk takers, the actual owners of the property, to do. Sermon over.

Bottom line; this is one of the best limited service hotels you will ever experience. We will definitely be here on our next visit. Mega kudos to the staff and especially the ladies who attend to the Breakfast Room. No hiding in the kitchen there!

When we entered the hotel upon arrival the maintenance man was on his hands and knees scrubbing the last of the winter's salt from the main entrance carpet runner! We couldn't see any salt but never mind they were not satisfied and that was a very good omen. What pride in product these people displayed throughout our visit!

Finally, special recognition goes to the General Manager and the owner/franchisee for having the good sense (luck maybe?) to hire her. Managing large hotels with multiple food and beverage outlets, meeting rooms and banquet facilities is somewhat easier because of the huge staff and layers of middle management. But managing a limited service facility is a hands on face to face challenge that places you only one and sometimes no level distant from the guest. This GM knows her stuff, understands the system, has a guest service attitude and has imparted the guest first philosophy to her people. She is a keeper!

You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Revel8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Ann Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear Revel8r: I must start off thanking you for being our guests and for being so honest with your review. Every word is taken to heart and we are working on a way to ensure that guests know about the bed lamp being turned off and doesn't work to charge devices when it is turned off. Unscrewing the lightbulb is an alternative if more outlets are required. We are also working on something to advise of the electrical outlet behind the bed nightstand. We have plans to revamp our systems so this is never an issue for anyone in the future, including yourselves. I must apologize for you not getting housekeeping service on your last day. We are so sorry for that and will strive better to ensure every guests gets the service they surely deserve. We do our very best every day so that everything is as spotless as possible for every visit our guests make. We pride ourselves our Great Rates and Great Customer Service. We want everyone to completely enjoy their stays from entering until departing. We are made happy when our guests come to stay with us and we do everything in our power to ensure you have a wonderful stay, from your greeting, to housekeeping services, any maintenance and breakfast staff. All of us are excited that you have come to stay with us and we want you to know that we want you to return when you are in our area. You become part of our family and want you to be aware that you make our days when you do come to stay. You brighten all of our days when we have the chance to welcome you back. Thank you for your wisdom, your words to assist us in enhancing our beautiful hotel and for your kind words about management. It does take a TEAM and we do have a great one that works hard every day so every time you stay with us, you are completely satisfied. We look forward to seeing you in the near future and please take care till we meet again. Stay Smart-Stay with us! The Holiday Inn Express Team - Salamanca, NY
PS: I know I did not hit all of your review but be ensured that every word is taken to heart and we will do all we can to ensure your next stay is even better than the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The property is located close to the casino but is not really walking distance. Not recommended if you're planning to visit the casino unless you have your own transportation and are willing to drive to and from the casino. The property is also right off the interstate and easy to find although you do have to drive through the parking lot of the nearby convenience store to get to the hotel.

We stayed on a family trip to the area, and wanted to stay in a location that was not tied to the casino as we're not gamblers, and had under 21 kids in our group. This property is perfect for you if you fit the same mold as we did. The hotel was filled with families with younger children and the atmosphere was friendly and appealing.

The hotel is right across the street from the Seneca Iroquois museum which is highly recommended. There is fast food fairly close to the hotel, and the town of Salamanca is about a mile away.

Beds were comfortable and we all got a really nice night's sleep. There was a little interstate noise but we did not find it overly loud. If noise is an issue for you we recommend you ask for a room on the other side of the hotel.

Breakfast was above average for holiday inn express and the staff really made us feel welcome. I'd pick this property again if staying another time.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Ann Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Hello, copperdragon66: Thank you for your kind review. You mentioned driving through the convenience store driveway to get to our lovely hotel. Our owners had the foresight to do their best to make it easy for our guests to gas up their vehicles and also grab a snack when they drive in or on their way back home as that area also belongs to us. Also, the Seneca Allegany Casino does provide a shuttle 24/7 to and from and they do have five restaurants to enjoy. Children of any age are welcome to the restaurants and can also take the shuttle to and from. The Seneca Gaming and Entertainment, across the street from us (which the shuttle will also take you to and from) has delicious food as well as I do believe children from 17 and older can have some fun. They also have Bingo which is alot of fun. There is much to do in our small area such as Allegany State Park, The Salamanca Antique Mall, Mager Mountain Alpaca's, the Amish Trail and much more. We are always willing to guide any of our guests with something to do. There are also restaurants in the area that will deliver right to your room! We hope that we get the opportunity to see you and your family again in the near future as that would surely make our day. Please take care in the meantime and Stay Smart-Stay with us again. The Holiday Inn Express Team-Salamanca, NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews