We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel...”
Review of The Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Point
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We have stayed at the Point several times over the last 20 years and we have always enjoyed its understated, quiet luxury found everywhere from the food and staff to the accommodations and activities. We recently returned in October after a significant absence, thrilled to be revisiting and curious to see what, if any changes, had been made by the new ownership that has taken over the property. We were hoping any changes would be minimal since we loved the Point just the way it was. Happily, we found the essence of the Point, all that makes it a unique experience, has been retained while a newfound, subtle attention to detail seemed evident in several areas. The out door lighting has been enhanced throughout, illuminating the gorgeous property as one walks to the after-dinner bonfire, as if by moonlight. The guest room lighting, previously (we thought) deliberately dim, has now been amplified and strategically placed for reading in bed or in the cozy sitting area. Our bathroom had been enlarged and updated with even that lighting improved and brightened for ideal make-up application. The food and wine was always delicious and abundant but this time we enjoyed dishes and wine pairings that seemed to have a new refinement. And, the perfectly plated servings enabled us to enjoy the multiple courses without feeling like we over-indulged, though, of course one cannot help over-indulging at the Point. Finally, the staff, always warm, professional and incredibly attentive, was all the aforementioned but seemed even more knowledgeable about the provenance of products or details regarding service offerings. We obviously have always been fans of the Point but our last visit really cemented our passion for this place. Anyone looking for a truly memorable get-away experience, this jewel is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LMS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

This is a cozy intimate property tucked into the hills of Saranac Lake. The property itself consists of a Main House/Dining Room, the Boat House, a Pub, additional guest house and small office with a boutique. There is not a gym or a spa. You can have a spa treatment in room which we did and the massage therapists were excellent. The staff is genuinely friendly and accommodating...you want an amazing homemade pizza at midnight? No problem. Truffle fries delivered to the pub while playing pool?....Yes sir! The Dining Room is beautifully decorated. The food is outstanding. The BBQ on the point with the other guests was enjoyable. Having dinner in the kitchen at the Chefs Table was a treat. There are several excellent hiking trails throughout. The boats are beautifully restored. We toured the lake and saw some amazing "camps". It is important to note that there is no WIFI on the grounds except in the front office. While there are limited dining options for those who wish to dine alone (and a very accommodating staff), The Point is a communal dining resort. There are 2 large oval DR tables in the DR and all meals are served at these 2 large tables. I would highly recommend the Point to coupes who like to be social while on vacation, enjoy the outdoors and appreciate amazing wine and food. The staff is exceptional and will do everything to ensure you are happy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dalocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

There is almost no way to do justice to The Point in a written review. It is luxurious in a most understated way. Yet it is warm and homey and so comfortable. Reading in overstuffed chairs in front of a roaring fire on a rainy afternoon after an in-room couples massage -- it was dreamy!
The food and wine and beverages are as fabulous as you could find in any great restaurant, yet you can sit in the kitchen, and you can always eat whatever you want whenever you want it. You want a cheeseburger at 3:00 am? It will be delivered to your door.
Set on Saranac Lake, The Point is spectacularly beautiful. And the staff assists you to enjoy the surroundings in whatever way you might enjoy. We took a most delightful hike with a local naturalist who knew all about the Adirondacks. We had a gourmet picnic breakfast while cruising the lake. We took out one of the canoes in search of loons.
We have traveled around the world to many beautiful properties large and small. The Point really is in a league of its own. It is the rare place where you find yourself constantly surprised and delighted by every detail; where the staff consistently exceeds expectations, and where you can happily do absolutely nothing but lounge on the dock all afternoon, or you can fill your day with various adventures.
It is the height of luxury, it is a place to connect with your natural surroundings. It is peaceful, yet full of opportunities for fun. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MarthaMB635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The Point was a great experience. We stayed in the boathouse and it was a gorgeous spacious room. I felt like I stepped back in time to the early 20th century. Food was delicious and creative. The staff was amazing taking care of every perceived need and some we never thought of Surrounded by natural beauty, lovely architecture, and fall leaf colors was just over the top. Thanks to The Point for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieT652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The Point is a property absolutely unique in its attention to detail, anticipation of every need or want, and its mix of luxury experience in a rustic and magnificent setting. Each space on the 11 room property lends itself to an experience. With lovely new fabrics on cozy original or reproduction adirondack furnishings, fireplaces in every room, set for you each day, outdoor spaces for each that take full advantage of The Point's perch on the edge of beautiful Saranac Lake, the guestrooms combine the authentic feel of the old adirondack camp experience with the luxury of meticulous and imaginative renovation. The common spaces - great room and kitchen, pub, docks, point of the point, and the amazing fleet of reproduction electric and gasoline powered boats are - are beyond excpetional. Whether you choose to dine in one of these spaces (yes, even on the boats), in the main lodge communal dining room, or in your own room, the experience is magical. More remarkable still is the staff and their unparalleled attention to detail that includes knowing what you want almost before you know yourself. The word "no" is simply not in their vocabulary. Unlike other resort staff at this level of resort, each and every one is friendly and warm, without a bit of pretention - they genuinely like people, and making guests happy seems to be what drives them personally.
The point can't be compared to other resorts. It's small size resembles more a family compound than a hotel. It is really an authentic version of the private, rustic camps where the great industrialist families of the 19th and early 20th centuries vacationed in absolute luxury. The bygone era returns at The Point.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really lovely, each with its own personality, the website pictures describe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
26.1 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
446 reviews
16.9 km away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
508 reviews
27.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
25.6 km away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,184 reviews
27.7 km away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point

Address: 222 Beaverwood Road, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-7327
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range: $2,924 - $4,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point is a world apart. A Private, adult only, Adirondack estate on the edge of a shining mountain lake. A Great Camp of the Great North Woods, built by William Avery Rockefeller a century ago as his family’s private home. Today The Point is a resort like no other, a magnificent log retreat full of priceless art and fine antiques, where guests gather as the high society of the Gilded Ages once did at vibrant house parties deep in the forest. As a guest of The Point, the secluded, 75-acre property is yours, the days unfold at your leisure, and the staff anticipates your every need. Each meal is an event, each day an adventure, each night a celebration. It is simple, splendid, authentic. It is a perfect place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Point Hotel Saranac Lake
Point Saranac Lake
Point Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing