We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SaraPlacid Inn & Suites(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$149
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
90
4
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
4
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack tiethe main lodgecourse dinnerother guestswater skiingroaring firefood and wineunique experienceboat housebygone erachefs tablecommunal mealsinteresting peopleonce in a lifetimetrufflebeyond comparebeyond description
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This is a cozy intimate property tucked into the hills of Saranac Lake. The property itself consists of a Main House/Dining Room, the Boat House, a Pub, additional guest house and small office with a boutique. There is not a gym or a spa. You can have a spa treatment in room which we did and the massage therapists were excellent. The staff is genuinely friendly and accommodating...you want an amazing homemade pizza at midnight? No problem. Truffle fries delivered to the pub while playing pool?....Yes sir! The Dining Room is beautifully decorated. The food is outstanding. The BBQ on the point with the other guests was enjoyable. Having dinner in the kitchen at the Chefs Table was a treat. There are several excellent hiking trails throughout. The boats are beautifully restored. We toured the lake and saw some amazing "camps". It is important to note that there is no WIFI on the grounds except in the front office. While there are limited dining options for those who wish to dine alone (and a very accommodating staff), The Point is a communal dining resort. There are 2 large oval DR tables in the DR and all meals are served at these 2 large tables. I would highly recommend the Point to coupes who like to be social while on vacation, enjoy the outdoors and appreciate amazing wine and food. The staff is exceptional and will do everything to ensure you are happy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dalocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

There is almost no way to do justice to The Point in a written review. It is luxurious in a most understated way. Yet it is warm and homey and so comfortable. Reading in overstuffed chairs in front of a roaring fire on a rainy afternoon after an in-room couples massage -- it was dreamy!
The food and wine and beverages are as fabulous as you could find in any great restaurant, yet you can sit in the kitchen, and you can always eat whatever you want whenever you want it. You want a cheeseburger at 3:00 am? It will be delivered to your door.
Set on Saranac Lake, The Point is spectacularly beautiful. And the staff assists you to enjoy the surroundings in whatever way you might enjoy. We took a most delightful hike with a local naturalist who knew all about the Adirondacks. We had a gourmet picnic breakfast while cruising the lake. We took out one of the canoes in search of loons.
We have traveled around the world to many beautiful properties large and small. The Point really is in a league of its own. It is the rare place where you find yourself constantly surprised and delighted by every detail; where the staff consistently exceeds expectations, and where you can happily do absolutely nothing but lounge on the dock all afternoon, or you can fill your day with various adventures.
It is the height of luxury, it is a place to connect with your natural surroundings. It is peaceful, yet full of opportunities for fun. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MarthaMB635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The Point was a great experience. We stayed in the boathouse and it was a gorgeous spacious room. I felt like I stepped back in time to the early 20th century. Food was delicious and creative. The staff was amazing taking care of every perceived need and some we never thought of Surrounded by natural beauty, lovely architecture, and fall leaf colors was just over the top. Thanks to The Point for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieT652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The Point is a property absolutely unique in its attention to detail, anticipation of every need or want, and its mix of luxury experience in a rustic and magnificent setting. Each space on the 11 room property lends itself to an experience. With lovely new fabrics on cozy original or reproduction adirondack furnishings, fireplaces in every room, set for you each day, outdoor spaces for each that take full advantage of The Point's perch on the edge of beautiful Saranac Lake, the guestrooms combine the authentic feel of the old adirondack camp experience with the luxury of meticulous and imaginative renovation. The common spaces - great room and kitchen, pub, docks, point of the point, and the amazing fleet of reproduction electric and gasoline powered boats are - are beyond excpetional. Whether you choose to dine in one of these spaces (yes, even on the boats), in the main lodge communal dining room, or in your own room, the experience is magical. More remarkable still is the staff and their unparalleled attention to detail that includes knowing what you want almost before you know yourself. The word "no" is simply not in their vocabulary. Unlike other resort staff at this level of resort, each and every one is friendly and warm, without a bit of pretention - they genuinely like people, and making guests happy seems to be what drives them personally.
The point can't be compared to other resorts. It's small size resembles more a family compound than a hotel. It is really an authentic version of the private, rustic camps where the great industrialist families of the 19th and early 20th centuries vacationed in absolute luxury. The bygone era returns at The Point.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really lovely, each with its own personality, the website pictures describe them well.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We recently celebrated my husband's 65th birthday at The Point. We traveled with our 3 adult daughters, one boyfriend and 2 dogs. It was, in the words of one of my very discriminating and well-traveled daughters, "best time ever" followed by "can we do this again next year?" We were there for 4 days and even though we were doing our best to tire the staff with endless requests to head onto or into the water, ride bikes, tour the lake, fish, waterski and even learn archery, we still couldn't fit it all in. Even the dogs received the best of attention including a basket of goodies and a specially prepared gourmet meal from the kitchen. Oh, and while we are on the topic of food, be prepared to gain a few extra pounds from the free flowing champagne (Pol Roger, my favorite) to the exquisitely prepared meals and the midnight snacks. The kitchen is at your beck and call. It's a true family camp in the grand Adirondack tradition. We can't wait to return. Yes, it's pricey but what's it worth to have "the best time ever" with your family?

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Corniet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews