We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$218
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SaraPlacid Inn & Suites(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Flower Inn(Saranac Lake)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
92
4
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
4
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgecourse dinnerother guestsboat housemoment you arrivebygone eraroaring fireblack tie dinnercommunal mealsinteresting peopleonce in a lifetimetruffleboxed lunchbeyond comparefull tank of gaschefs tablesilver platter
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

With a staff of 45 for a maximum of 22 guests, the service was incredible and the food and wines were beyond all! The only fault to be found was with the showers in the main building. They are original and frankly didn't work well. They definitely could use some work. But, the setting is pristine and gorgeous, the wooden boats fabulous, the rooms beautiful, the different chocolates at night were almost too pretty to eat, there were wonderful wines in the room ready for pouring, champagne everywhere. Expensive yes, but worth the treat. And do stay for more than one day. You will probably never be more relaxed..... PS it is so private, they won't even send you directions until you have confirmed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theredhead02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I recently took my wife for a surprise get away weekend to The Point . I had heard "good things "... Well, what I heard turned out to be MORE than true . A few comments ... we were one of 5 couples on the first night and one of 7 on the second . No one had been to The Point prior so we were all "rookies". Clearly it was a unanimous sentiment that The Point was certainly a unique gem the likes to which none of us had ever experienced. The old-world elegance mixed with the comfortable ease of the surroundings makes for an unforgettable experience. It never failed to amaze us all how the staff seemed to anticipate each of our needs prior to any of us realizing there was one! We found the setting so conducive to visiting with new guests who instantly became friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discoverluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My husband and I travel to The Point 2-3 times a year, and each time we are reminded of why it is a little slice of heaven set in the Adirondacks. From the moment we enter the gates we are treated like royalty, but in a way that we feel we are with longtime friends. At meals, the staff remembers which of us likes still water and which likes sparkling without asking; there is no need to remind them of dietary preferences either. If you want to stay in your room and relax by a cozy fire, that's fine; if you want to go on a hike, picnic, and an extended boat ride all in the same afternoon, that's fine too. No demand is too much. We have brought many friends over the years to The Point, and we now have to listen to their jealous remarks when we say we are returning. If there are any quibbles, it is that The Point is 5 hours from NY, and a couple of rooms' bathrooms need some updating

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We have been fortunate to stay in some of the best hotels in the world but this quickly became our favourite.

Here you can experience service beyond belief! Every wish is your command. It's as though every staff member has magical powers to read your mind and then deliver more than you could ever have dreamt.

Mark the Manager was extremely friendly and ensured that we were so pampered. This establishment is incredibly well run and everyone knew your name even if they'd never met you, which really made you feel special.

I have many food allergies and they encouraged me to walk into the kitchen at any time of the day and ask for what ever I fancied. The chefs were so friendly and talented; they even made me sugar free sorbet!

Dinner was a bit daunting sitting next to people you'd never met, but everyone was so friendly that the next night we really looked forward to it. If you prefer a bit more privacy though you can always have waitress service in your room or take a boat out.

Everything is inclusive in your stay, so make the most of the facilities. My husband went water skiing on the beautiful lake, which you can do at the drop of a hat - no booking required! We also took a picnic out on our own little boat. The surroundings are spectacular and it’s actually hard to absorb so much beauty.

Something we've always wanted to do on holiday was paint, but could never be bothered to take all the materials in our suitcase. Here they provide you with paint, paintbrushes and canvas! Whilst painting they even brought us afternoon tea with freshly baked scones. They even shipped our paintings home for us because they were still wet when we left.

Our only complaint was having to leave, because somehow life outside the Point will never be the same again. We left totally spoilt!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HolidayTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Imagine a rustic pristine setting with outrageous luxury pampering.The setting is beyond belief, right on the water. We have all traveled extensively and sampled some of the greatest hotels in the world. The Point is now one of our favorites. My wife and went in September for my 50th Birthday and discovered it to be a top notch service oriented establishment that anticipates your needs and seeks to provide you with beyond expectation service. Whether it is putting gas in your car when you leave, delivering a specific brand of eye drops at midnight to your room, offering cigars around the bonfire, or just preparing warm chocolate chip cookies upon your desire, it was a wonderful, world class experience. Most guests are on good behavior and make an effort to participate at a grand dinner party. Yes, there will be the occasional "one-up-manship" person or thirty something with no manners but you don't have to speak with them if you don't want to as there plenty of nice people who you will enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CES911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews