We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$256
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$643
US$593
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Leaf Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$249
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
82
30
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
30
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsgazeboownerlakestove
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

For the past few years whenever we go to Saranac we stay here. It's clean, comfortable, convenient. The owners have always treated us well. The area has tons to offer, and for us it's more convenient than staying in Lake Placid. The fishing in Lake Flower is the best!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskiesfan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Sara Placid Motor Inn and always staying with us when you visit beautiful Saranac Lake. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Linda and Steve Hilbert, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Thrilled to get a room 24 hours prior to our stay! In town for the Adirondack Rail Trail Explorer--
Room was clean and comfortable. Walking distance to dinner and breakfast--
Gazebo a nice treat as the sun set.
As others have stated this is a no frills place, but you will be comfortable and happy at the Sara-Placid. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: This hotel accepts AAA.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sara Placid Motor Inn for your trip to Saranac Lake for the rail trail explorer. We are glad to hear you were happy with your stay with us and found everything to your satiisfaction and hope to see you in future visits to Saranac Lake. Linda and Steve Hilbert, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The price was good for a quick get away with no reservations. The Staff was wonderful and very helpful.The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the the location was great.I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sunwood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thanks you so much for staying with us at the Sara Placid Motor Inn a couple days ago. We appreciate your kind words, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Thanks again. Steve and Linda Hilbert, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We were in town for the Ironman race as our son was competing. We decided on the two bedroom apartment on the second floor in the back. It was a very quiet peaceful setting...even had deer in the back woods come walking out one morning. The apartment itself fit our needs. It was a reasonable price, and the three of us were not tripping over each other. The pictures of the room posted on their website are very accurate. The kitchen had a full frig, microwave, stove/oven, small coffee maker. Although we did eat out some, it was nice to have the option of doing some meals in the apartment too. Plenty of TV channels and programs to watch on TV. The internet was a bit spotty, but I solved that by using my cell phone instead of my laptop. It certainly would not keep be from staying there again!

Room Tip: HIgher floor would cause a problem with anyone with mobility problem.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Myrtlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosiing us during the Ironman competition thiis past Summer. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in the apartment in the back with a view of the lake and mountains. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Saranac Lake, NY. We appreciated your kind words regarding the Sara Placid Motor Inn. Owners, Linda and Steve Hilbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Stayed here for four nights over the Lake Placid Ironman weekend in July. Pretty typical motel - furnishings and decor were dated, but the room had a/c, a bar fridge, microwave, a coffee maker, free wifi and free HBO (though we didn't touch the tv once) - everything we needed to keep us going when we weren't eating out or in Lake Placid for the race. Location was great - walking distance from several restaurants and grocery stores, and only 10 minutes from Lake Placid along the 86. Room service was professional and accommodating. Had a nice view out front (essentially waterfront), and free parking right outside the room. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a no-frills stay.

Room Tip: Motel rooms are all essentially the same - same view, same parking, same ammenities
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sara Placid Motor Inn during Ironman. We were happy to hear you were happy with our accommodations here at the Sara Placid Motor Inn and hope you come back next year. Thank you. Owners, Linda and Steve Hilbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews