We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1708 House
Nearby Hotels
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina(Hampton Bays)(Great Value!)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hamlet Inn(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southampton Long Island Hotel(Southampton)
US$199
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southampton Inn(Southampton)
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Shores Resort(Hampton Bays)(Great Value!)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Drake Inn(Hampton Bays)(Great Value!)
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bowen's by the Bays(Hampton Bays)(Great Value!)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bayview Resort(Hampton Bays)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Butler's Manor(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$526
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southampton Village Motel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
110
14
5
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
14
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarquicheshops and restaurantsadult daughterrestored historicbeautiful antique furniturebreakfast was deliciousthird floorperfect locationmodern amenitiessouthampton villageartifactscenturiesgoodieshostssummer
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend in Southampton at the 1708 House and it could not have been better!!! Due to the fact that it was "off season", we got a great price on a beautiful room, which had a queen bed, private HUGE bathroom, and a jacuzzi tub. The house itself is a gorgeous piece of history, and the people running it (Skip, Linda, Kelly) make it a truly "homey" experience. They were always around, but never intrusive, so if we needed directions somewhere, advice on the area, or a tour of the house, they were there with a smile.

The house is gigantic, and centrally located in the town, not far from the beach, and right around the corner from the main strip. The breakfast was excellent, eggs made to order, bagels, smoked salmon, coffee/tea, pastries and muffins galore. They also had all sorts of beverages available at any time in the fridge, soda, water, sparkling water, and juice. I have been to a lot of B and Bs, but have never seen this level of service, they should be commended.

We will definitely be coming back to the 1708 house, it was a memorable experience, thanks to the staff!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had the pleasure to once again stay at the 1708 House over a beautiful winter weekend in March. The Bed & Breakfast is like coming home to stay with family. Linda & Kelly are such friendly and gracious ladies, always making us feel welcome without being intrusive. 1708 House sparkles and is decorated with beautiful period furniture that is pleasing to the eye but also comfortable and functional. There is a wonderful fireplace glowing as you check in. Breakfast choices were plentiful and eggs were cooked to order if requested. Our favorite time is in the late evening downstairs in the cellar. Take down a bottle of wine, turn up the gas fireplace and enjoy the peace and quiet...we just love it. We'll be back again when our travels take us north.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisuretraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife treated me to an early birthday getaway from the city on the weekend of 3/22/13. In a word-relaxing!1708 has tons of character, is clean and comfy all around. Gracious and diligent staff. We were the "young couple" on the same weekend that a group of older couples, and one or two families, were in attendance - no conflict of "vibe". Everyone was so nice, and the general atmosphere of 1708 had a lot to do with that. 1708's location puts you within a few mins drive from solid dining options, and within walking distance of shops and cafes if you want to ditch the four wheels. Beaches are similarly close by car. We went for a run at Agawan Lake- minutes away and a perfect scenic 5K loop for runners or cyclists ( we ran from 1708 and back). You're hard pressed to find a better value in the area. We can't thank the staff enough for making our stay a memorable one, and hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: Room 12 - quiet,lots of natural light,2bdrm
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My wife and I recently made a trip to the Hamptons and stayed at the 1708 House. Accommodations, service and amenities were all excellent. This is a beautiful restored B&B steps away from the center of Southampton. The pics online do not due this place justice. You need to experience it in person.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are spacious and must be seen. There are also three guest cottages on the property. We stayed in a cozy cottage since the main house was booked up.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Highly recommend and only wish I had more time at The 1708 House. I was visiting the area for a memorial service and only stayed one Friday night. The historic house is beautifully decorated, well maintained and very clean. The accommodations were very comfortable, and the B&B centrally located. I enjoyed their afternoon tea and wine service with a friend while we played checkers by the fire in the wine cellar. After a casual dinner at the Publick House, I enjoyed reading my book by the fire in the parlor. Breakfast was delicious - fresh berries, eggs made to order, bagels and smoked salmon, sweet pastries. Next time I am in the area I definitely will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMZBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews