We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1708 House
Nearby Hotels
Southampton Village Motel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southampton Inn(Southampton)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hamlet Inn(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Resort(Hampton Bays)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Shores Resort(Hampton Bays)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Easterner Motel(Southampton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
110
14
5
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
14
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarquicheb bshops and restaurantsadult daughterrestored historicbeautiful antique furniturebreakfast was deliciousthird floorperfect locationmodern amenitiessouthampton villageartifactscenturiesgoodieshostssummer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My dear friends gave us a weekend away at 1708 House for our wedding gift. We had such a wonderful stay. The Inn is absolutely charming (and spotless), and located in central downtown Southampton, which is great for exploring the nearby shops and stores. I recommend renting a car, so you can drive by the beach and check out other Hampton towns.

Not only was the inn charming, but so were the inn keepers. They were excited to show us the intricate details of the historic home, always had lovely wine and crackers out in the afternoons, and encouraged us to help ourselves to Perrier in the kitchen. They also served a lovely breakfast with eggs made to order.

I would highly recommend the 1708 House. We stayed in a newer room, but had a chance to peek at the historic rooms, which looked fun and cozy.

An excellent weekend away! Cannot wait to return to 1708 House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend in Southampton at the 1708 House and it could not have been better!!! Due to the fact that it was "off season", we got a great price on a beautiful room, which had a queen bed, private HUGE bathroom, and a jacuzzi tub. The house itself is a gorgeous piece of history, and the people running it (Skip, Linda, Kelly) make it a truly "homey" experience. They were always around, but never intrusive, so if we needed directions somewhere, advice on the area, or a tour of the house, they were there with a smile.

The house is gigantic, and centrally located in the town, not far from the beach, and right around the corner from the main strip. The breakfast was excellent, eggs made to order, bagels, smoked salmon, coffee/tea, pastries and muffins galore. They also had all sorts of beverages available at any time in the fridge, soda, water, sparkling water, and juice. I have been to a lot of B and Bs, but have never seen this level of service, they should be commended.

We will definitely be coming back to the 1708 house, it was a memorable experience, thanks to the staff!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had the pleasure to once again stay at the 1708 House over a beautiful winter weekend in March. The Bed & Breakfast is like coming home to stay with family. Linda & Kelly are such friendly and gracious ladies, always making us feel welcome without being intrusive. 1708 House sparkles and is decorated with beautiful period furniture that is pleasing to the eye but also comfortable and functional. There is a wonderful fireplace glowing as you check in. Breakfast choices were plentiful and eggs were cooked to order if requested. Our favorite time is in the late evening downstairs in the cellar. Take down a bottle of wine, turn up the gas fireplace and enjoy the peace and quiet...we just love it. We'll be back again when our travels take us north.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisuretraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife treated me to an early birthday getaway from the city on the weekend of 3/22/13. In a word-relaxing!1708 has tons of character, is clean and comfy all around. Gracious and diligent staff. We were the "young couple" on the same weekend that a group of older couples, and one or two families, were in attendance - no conflict of "vibe". Everyone was so nice, and the general atmosphere of 1708 had a lot to do with that. 1708's location puts you within a few mins drive from solid dining options, and within walking distance of shops and cafes if you want to ditch the four wheels. Beaches are similarly close by car. We went for a run at Agawan Lake- minutes away and a perfect scenic 5K loop for runners or cyclists ( we ran from 1708 and back). You're hard pressed to find a better value in the area. We can't thank the staff enough for making our stay a memorable one, and hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: Room 12 - quiet,lots of natural light,2bdrm
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My wife and I recently made a trip to the Hamptons and stayed at the 1708 House. Accommodations, service and amenities were all excellent. This is a beautiful restored B&B steps away from the center of Southampton. The pics online do not due this place justice. You need to experience it in person.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are spacious and must be seen. There are also three guest cottages on the property. We stayed in a cozy cottage since the main house was booked up.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews