We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
114
14
5
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
14
5
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellaradult daughterrestored historicbeautiful antique furniturebreakfast was excellentb and bperfect locationshort drivecooper's beachsouthampton villageartifactscenturiesnibbleshostsnyc
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Here you'll enjoy elegance without glitz, charm without attitude, and style without pretense. The owner, Skip Ralph, is a veteran New Yorker and long-time Southampton business owner. Skip's love and knowledge of architecture, history and antiques is matched only by his graciousness as a host. He has saved a Hamptons treasure. The 1708 House's public rooms, grounds and guest suites are second to none.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rand21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We loved our 3 nights at 1708 House. Our first night we were late getting in and had wine and cheese waiting for us. Wonderful downtown location for walking. Beautiful home and dining room is exquisite for continental breakfast, and additional quiche on Sunday. We stayed in the older section first night and the bed was uncomfortable. Host was very gracious to relocate us to the beautiful new wing with a great bed.
Great fall weekend in The Hamptons!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

House was beautiful, staff was extremely helpful. Tea and wine in the afternoons, breakfast in the morning was great. There's a basement wine cellar with games to play, dozens of sitting areas with fireplaces, and beautiful roof decks. Already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

After three consecutive annual Fall visits to this magnificent establishment, we have found this venue to be totally comfortable and enjoyable. It is a break from the vagaries of the real world. The ambiance and décor are impeccable, punctuated with artwork. The preservation of the main house is outstanding. The owner (Skip) and staff (Linda and John) are the epitome of hospitality. The issues with the "new regulations" with the breakfast are disappointing. We hope that gets resolved. We had 12 family members in the main house and cottages. It worked beautifully.

Room Tip: Cottages, main house and annex all have a distinct ambiance. All three were used by our family and worked very well to our advantage.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocGlo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We have been traveling each summer to Southamton for about 10 years at least once or two times each simmer. We always have been booking either room or cottage at House 1708 bed and breakfast hotel. It situated right in he middle of the Southampton village offering traditional "Hampton flare" with pice of some American History. Booking with House of 1708 offers the tag to almost all quite expensive beaches, our favorite is a Cooper Beach, $50 fee per car, with the tag from hotel it is free. Te last time we stayed in 2015 at the end of the August. The biggest disappointment was an actual breakfast, even though the place is called bed and breakfast, there was no decent breakfast was served at our last visit. The stuff told us something unclear about new rules why they could't make scramble eggs, or boiled eggs and offer something simple like pice of ham and cheese on a bread which every place around offers ... the bottom line, now breakfast is bad at least compare to what they have been offered for so many years. Good thing we stayed in the cottage which has a small kitchen and had been taking about breakfast ourselves. Looks like a simple breakfast was to much to ask, even though we had been paying $550 per night ... go figure this is Hampton.

Room Tip: Plan to have a breakfast elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nikolas888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaE0723, Manager at 1708 House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate input from our guests. We are sorry about your disappointment with breakfast. County guidelines for properties of five or more units (small hotels) have mandated changes. Since you felt our staff did not clearly explain the reason for the changes to our usual breakfast, I am sorry you did not speak to me directly as I would have been happy to address the matter. As a repeat guest, I would hope you are aware that we make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews