We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun place!”

Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 768 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: "The Irish Pub You've Been Training For"... Where the Craic of Ireland meets the heart of Downtown Syracuse.
Reviewed 20 May 2018

The atmosphere is tremendous, with a lot to look at and enjoy. We also loved the quick service in the bar area, Many different porters and stouts to pick from, and great meals.
We loved the Shepherd's pie with ground beef, mash on top, and also the fish and chips - great chips. So, wonderful Irish food and fantastic atmosphere with great service. Who could ask for anything more?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Manager at Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Peter, you certainly described your experience at Kitty Hoynes, what a great review. Our staff team trys so very hard to offer the best experience in so many ways so that all our guests can have fun, enjoyment and experience hospitality at its best. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stop by for lunch. Everything was so good! After reading other reviews we decided to order Reuben Fritters, Fish & Chips, and my hubby had a cup of their onion soup. This did not disappoint! YUM Our waitress was very nice. We told her we were sharing the fish/chips & she brought it out on 2 plates, already divided. We found a spot to park on the street & had a short walk around the corner. I did notice one parking lot nearby was charging $8. We would definitely eat here again!

Thank HoneyBear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Manager at Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Our chef Damien and his kitchen crew enjoy creating scratch made food, they really do have a passion for it, we will let them know that you had a great time dining with us. Glad to hear parking was easy, there are lots of garages and street parking nearby. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Paid $10 to park in open lot, so check prices at one of the 2 garages on the block. We only spent a minute inside, as al fresco seating was limited but open. Outdoor seating was on the corner of a fairly busy street... sometimes had to pause our discussion for noise. Meatloaf was Awesome, fish and chips were good. Service was a bit slow for late evening on a Monday. Wait staff ok, checked on us once after meal delivered, and when apparent we would not be ordering dessert, we also didn't get offered more beer or water, just the bill. We sat and talked another hour or more, she picked up the bill but still no water, or tea refill. Beggars a plenty in the armory district... including one who could out run me in her electric scooter, stopping at each table asking for change. Saw 3, she was the only one chasing pedestrians.

Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

As an Irish woman living in Syracuse I was very excited to eat here and I was not disappointed! Excellent food, excellent service and an excellent Irish Pub!! 5 stars!

Thank Sinéad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Manager at Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Sinéad, Thank you for your great review. We strive everyday to offer a slice of Ireland to all our guests. It is great coming from an Irish woman living in Syracuse to say that all was excellent. We will continue to offer the best that Ireland has to offer in our bar and restaurant.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Located in downtown Syracuse, we stumbled across this great Irish Pub. Nine of us went in for a couple of drinks and left with fond memories. Donna greeted and entertained us for the next couple of hours. We tried the Reuben fritters which were the best we've ever had. Also the tomato basil and French onion soup were also fantastic. Great place and would definitely return and hope Donna is working. She was the best!!

Thank Trytonjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Manager at Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We are delighted you discovered us on your trip to Syracuse. Our kitchen crew creates great food everyday, we are so proud of them. Donna is great on the bar, we will let her know of your great experience and the role that she plays in offering this everyday for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing