We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas celebration”

Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge
Ranked #29 of 720 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Originally known as Phoebe's Garden Cafe, the restaurant has a long and colorful history in Syracuse. Local lore claims that the building was originally a brothel, and Phoebe was its madam. The tin ceiling above the bar is original to the building and the name still honors Phoebe, but much has changed since those early days. William Eberhardt opened Phoebe's Garden Cafe in December of 1976 with a bistro style menu and an ornately carved wood bar.The atmosphere was rich with red brick walls, and deep green upholstery, all surrounded by lush green plants. The large atrium dining room was added in 1985, increasing seating and opening up the entire restaurant with a sunny new skylight. In the summer of 2004, Phoebe's experienced a refreshing makeover with a bright new look in the atrium dining room with fresh paint, new upholstery, and artwork. The bar and cafe areas were softened with cool linen window treatments and warm shades of burgundy and cream.The coffee lounge also opened that year, and it became an instant hit with the surrounding university and business crowd. Those changes also warranted a new name to reflect the updated attitude and ambiance: Phoebe's Restaurant and Coffee Lounge. Classic elements of Phoebe's remain untouched-the French onion soup and enticing creme brulee. The lunch and dinner menu changes seasonally and includes many locally-sourced ingredients. Looking for more of a quick bite on the go? The Coffee Lounge serves as a take-out window for breakfast sandwiches, lunch, and dinner, in addition to all of the made-to-order coffee and espresso drinks. The Lounge also has its own seating area and free wireless internet capabilities. Phoebe's old world charm is right at home in a revitalized area of the city. Located on the Connective Corridor on East Genesee Street across from Syracuse Stage and near Syracuse University, Phoebe's is a favorite stop for theater goers. Phoebe's also offers private dining facilities with custom menus to suit. We invite you to join us-and make Phoebe's your new favorite place.
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Hadn't been here for many years, but first place I considered for our family of 9 for dinner after Syracuse Stage matinee. No disappointments ! Our server was fantastic, drinks were great, decent wines offered, a number of us loved the espresso martini. Salads and soup excellent. Entrees including shrimp etoufee, Risotto with portobella shrooms, beef tenderloin, pot roast, pork tenderloin, many with full or half portions offered, all excellent. Couldn't have been any better!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Willisdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoebe's R, Manager at Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

We are so delighted to hear about your Family Christmas celebration! Thank you for choosing Phoebe's for your special gathering. Glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their visit and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Have a safe and happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We have frequented this restaurant every time we have visited Syracuse over the past few years and it was always great. Not anymore!

We should have guessed that something was up when we walked towards the restaurant and could see that it was empty on a Friday evening. The good? The service was great and the server did everything in her power to help us out.

The bad. Everything else. The escargot tasted like rubbery dirt. So we also ordered the salmon which showed up burnt and with cold vegetables.

When we complained we were told that there is a new chef. Really bad excuse. Did the manger come over, nope!

We will never go back and suggest you don’t go there either. Syracuse has a number of much better restaurants to go too.

Cheers

Thank atti2ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoebe's R, Manager at Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Atti2ud,
I am glad to hear that you have visited us several times on your travels to Syracuse and thoroughly enjoyed your visit to then. Thus your reason for returning last week. I am saddened to hear that your most recent experience was not up to your standards.

My apologies for not being aware of your complaints until after you finished your respective dishes and shared these thoughts as the items were cleared from your table. We would have been happy to replace any dish that you were not satisfied with had you informed us sooner. Your server informed me that when she checked with you and your companion midway through your entrées that your salmon(s)were 'delicious'. There was no comment of the 'burnt' salmon or cold succotash until she picked up your plates which were just shy of clean. We would kindly ask, If we have indeed prepared something incorrectly please allow us the opportunity to correct it on the spot. You deserve to have a fresh quality, hot meal:) That is why you are here.

We appreciate your comments and please know that your feedback has already been shared with chef. I’m sorry that your particular situation was not understood that night as you have presented it here, in writing. Traditionally in our industry, a clean plate is a sign of a happy customer. We respectfully suggest that when dining out (anywhere) that you give the establishment the opportunity to correct or improve upon an item when needed. I wish I had known the severity of the situation sooner and had stepped in to address it properly.

We would love to have you return and enjoy the food, service and ambience just as you did on your previous experiences. I can only hope that you will give us this chance to show you a more memorable evening. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of further assistance. We appreciate your business and value your comments.
Angie Knox
315.475.5154
phoebes@cnymail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

My friend and I sat at the bar and had a great conversation with the bartender while she juggled drink orders and serving us fools. We both took her recommendation for the open faced Ruben sandwich with fries. Very tasty and service was fast. Good selection of beers to help wash down the food.

Thank DMthePM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoebe's R, Manager at Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! And thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I attended a group dinner and everyone loved their food choices. I had the pumpkin risotto with salmon and it was so rich and delicious! Looking forward to visiting again. And very convenient to SU campus.

Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Near the Syracuse University north campus, this is a nice find. Our lunch was delivered quickly and the service was above average. The food was tasty. The boys enjoyed the chicken cardon blue sandwich. My crab cake sandwich was also a winner. My wife's pizza didn't rate as high as it was undercooked. Reasonable prices. We would return.

Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing