We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,445)
Filter reviews
1,446 results
Traveller rating
903
347
110
50
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
903
347
110
50
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach grillseasonal tastesindian restaurantthe executive loungewhisper pooladult poolsushispg memberheavenly spawhisper zoneoutdoor showerheavenly bedkids clubconcierge deskhalf boardclub roombeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 1,446 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Where to start? Of course, we were looking forward to a week in Mauritius for a week to end the year.

You recognise you're going to pay perhaps double the normal rates. In choosing our hotel, we had narrowed it down to three which had similar prices but chose Westin on the basis that the accommodation was a suite rather than a room. My understanding of the word "suite" and one that accords with the dictionary is that it denotes rooms i.e. we would have a bedroom and a lounge. That is the sole reason we chose the Westin over other chains such as the Hilton who are tried and trusted in our book.

Imagine our horror then we realised that in "Westin World" parlance a suite means something altogether different. We were given a room - definitely not a suite and as the resort was fully booked could not move. The room had a balcony and a separate terrace and should be called "terrace room" so as not to mislead. We did feel cheated and it put a real dampener on the first few days. The manager tried to make up for it by giving us 20% food and beverages but it was of little consolation (or cost as we weren't racking up the bill). Quite simply, it was not what we had bargained for and we felt thoroughly misled and cheated.

It wasn't the only issue -

food was generally lacklustre and bland irrespective of restaurant. Even the fruit in the breakfast was tasteless which is surprising given most of it must be local produce. In the Club Lounge, they really just put the leftovers from breakfast though it is slightly better in the afternoon.

They seem to be trying to create an exclusive environment where you need to book in advance in most of their restaurants in the evening save for the buffet but what if you don't want a buffet. You could be left hungry or reliant on room service.

Checking-in took an absolute age and I don't know whether it was the hotel or the booking.com's fault but the booking said I was going to pay at the hotel so I had exchanged thousands of Euros only to find the had already charged my debit card which then resulted in a foreign currency charge.

Some of the staff were hopeless - one, the guy at the desk at the Indian was thoroughly rude and obnoxious. It is apparent they have not been trained properly and so some are naturally good (such as the bar manager in the the Indian restaurant who soothed our nerves after his colleague was rude) but most are clueless automatons. Our dvd player was not working properly - it took around a dozen people to fix it over 6 visits.

The air conditioning wasn't working one night and we were temporarily shifted to another "junior suite". In that room, the terrace and balcony were one area which was better than ours where they were separated which meant we couldn't both sit on the balcony together at the same time and enjoy the seaview as they have one comfortable chair and another wicker basket which looks nice but is totally impractical.

They have a stupid and insulting rule where you have to give a towel card to get a beach towel. you're not allowed more than one towel each. If I am lucky enough to be able to afford to pay thousands of Euros for a week's holiday I'm hardly going to steal a pesky towel or even if a guest did, would it really hurt?

Don't even think about exchanging money here. Complete rip-off. Airport rates are actually ok.

They did allow us to check-out late but the receptionist then asked for my passport as security which I refused to do as I don't appreciate being treated as a potential runner.

The beach itself is far far removed from the stereotypical white or golden beach with turquoise waters. The beach is very stony and not particularly nice and likewise it is not good for swimming. We had a look around the island and there are far better beaches further north such as Grand Baie, Pereybere and Trox aux Biches. When that is the case, you need to make sure everything is top notch but sadly that was not the case.

On the plus side, the room itself was nice and a good size as was the shower. Most of the staff were trying but I feel they haven't been trained properly. Likewise it is a nice looking resort but there is a litany of problems they need to address if they want to be successful.

Room Tip: Check carefully what you are being given compared to descriptions
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank PebblesFlintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivanee B, Front Office Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear PebblesFlintstone,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed feedback of your recent stay at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius on Trip Advisor.

We, at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, strive to provide our guests with a superior experience through our product and services. Your comments indicate that we have not been able to fully live up to your expectations and we can therefore fully relate to your sentiments.

We would like to reassure you that we have already escalated the concerns raised to the different departments and we are currently discussing tweaks to ensure that appropriate actions are taken to prevent any guest being similarly inconvenienced in future.

We fully empathize with the feeling of distrust you had and understand how upsetting this experience has been. We do sincerely hope you can acknowledge that normally our service is exceptional and the difficulties you encountered on this occasion are not a fair reflection of our usual high standard of customer care.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback; it is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon on our shores for more refreshing and relaxing stays.

Have a renewing day.

Best regards,

Shivanee Bhojoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed at this property along with my wife during the last week of Nov 2016. we opted to book a Club room with half-bord (breakfast and dinner as part of the tariff).

The Resort is very well laid out with the accommodation styled as 3 storied villas with each floor having 4 rooms. We had a terrace room which came with an open terrace and a superb sit-out. Both the terrace and the sit-out was furnished with loungers and couches as well as swing basket. Just awesome. The views from the room was towards the sea and overlooked the swimming pool but the palm trees did not allow a clear view - not that it mattered.

Since Westin is located on the western cost of Mauritius we were treated to some extraordinary sunsets. With the beach being rocky, the sunsets were framed by the rocks on the beach which made for a photographer's delight. Simple loved it as I am a photographer and I am sure others so inclined will find it bliss.

The restaurants were fantastic and the chef and the managers try and accommodate by providing items that are not displayed on the buffet or on the menu.

Taxis are easily available outside an a little bargaining we got a very good deal for two full days of excursions - on to the north and the other to the south.

Would recommend this Resort.

Room Tip: Try and book a terrace room.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed here for the first two weeks of january. Overall, the resort is very good and we would definitely return.

The highlight for us was the scuba diving, which is located at the boathouse, just past the beach bar/restaurant. It's run by Atish Ragu, who is a great guy with a great team working with him. The centre is Padi approved, so the majority of the Padi courses are available. We had around 15 dives each over the 2 weeks, (including a night dive with turtles), each of which were at different dive sites in the north west side of the island. We are avid divers, and i have to say that of all the centres we have dived at around the world, Atish and his team are the best we have come across.

Aside from the diving, other watersports are available for free, such as pedalo hire and glass bottom boat trips. other big plus point is the complimentary yoga, which is for an hour each week day and is excellent. The gym and spa area is also very good with complimentary use of the whirlpool, sauna and steam room. The massages are on the pricey side though.

The people here are lovely and friendly, and the only downsides to comment on are the punchy meal & drinks prices which are more expensive than London (£5 quid for a local bottle of beer!!), and a lot of the beach is quite rocky. Otherwise, i would say the resort is well worth staying at.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lamby1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We are right at the end of our week at Westin Turtle Bay and have had a very relaxing holiday. The hotel is well laid out with a large family pool in the centre and an adult-only pool away from it all. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Housekeeping does a great job (thanks Uma). There are various eating options which makes for good variety each evening.

Seasonal Tastes houses the breakfast buffet which is good. There are plenty of options from waffles made to order to omelettes to Asian food. It is all quite good quality and the service is fast. The only slight niggle is that the waiting staff can get a little over zealous and multiple servers will come up asking if we want more coffee or juice. This is fine when you do want more but a bit annoying when you have declined and then another a server appears 2 minutes later and then another and then another. Still, it's better to be asked than ignored so it's only a minor thing.

Fusion restaurant is a fusion of Chinese and Mauritian and is nicely furnished and the staff are very well trained in fine dining. The menu is good but the portions are very, very small. Beautifully laid out but they do leave you hungry. The prices are steep even though we had the half board allowance of 1500 rupee per person per evening (AU$55) The bill on our first night in Fusion came to $120 pp and we only had mains and desserts. My daughter had a lamb dish which came very artistically laid out but essentially only had 2 small cubes of meat about 2cms square. That was really disappointing. However the waiter, Stanley, was great fun and very entertaining and kept the mood light.

Mystique is a beach bar/casual eatery during the day serving light meals which are very delicious and the view is gorgeous. In the evening the menu changes to Sushi and Tapas. The sushi is unusual in that it is spicy. One or two of the dishes were very spicy so watch out with little kids. The tapas was good but again, very expensive for what you get. We had nachos as one of our tapas choices which turned out to be a very small bowl of nachos chips from a packet, a small serve of guacamole and a small serve of a tomato sauce. It was close to AU$20 which I thought was ridiculously expensive. However, the service was good and the atmosphere was pleasant.

On a couple of evenings we were offered a Lobster night at the beach grill but at AU$180 pp we declined. However, at lunch time the food at the grill, which is right next to the adult pool and right on the beach is great for lunch. They have delicious fresh salads and light meals with a good selection of wines. The service is good here too.

Kangan is an Indian restaurant also available but we didn't try it.

Seasonal Tastes serves a buffet style option every evening. We were not overly impressed with it. The food was ok, on par with most hotel buffets. The desserts were a little disappointing. They look amazing but are pretty tasteless, which was a great shame. Someone had obviously gone to a lot of trouble to make them so aesthetically pleasing but the flavours were almost non existent.

All in all this is a good hotel. It's pricey to eat here but the facilities and staff are great. There is nothing much to walk to from here so going out involves a taxi, bus or hire car.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PymSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

This is an absolute paradise in the ocean. The staff is very friendly and took care of my stay and it will simply amazing.
If your in mauritus this is the place to be. Superb and oustanding services. Special mention to Dipti , kaviraj and Anas.
Cheers

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rishi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews