We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$170
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$128
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zilwa Attitude(Calodyne)
US$213
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$424
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Kreola(Grand Gaube)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talipot Lodge(Grand Gaube)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Coral Apartments(Grand Gaube)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (4,792)
Filter reviews
4,792 results
Traveller rating
3,983
616
129
47
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,983
616
129
47
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabalonemain beachbeach restaurantour honeymoona la carte restaurantsjean phillipeoutdoor cinemamessage in a bottlecoffee barjunior suitebanyan restaurantthe banyan treeall inclusive packagewater sportsbanyan poolherb gardenisland kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 4,792 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

With the reports of some teething issues post renovation, we were a bit skeptical initially, once we arrived and settled down after a long flight, it was just beyond wonderful. The Lux Grand Gaube is 1hr 15mins drive from the airport, through some winding narrow road in the area closer to the resort. The hotel was closed for a year or so for renovation while all the staff were sent for training, clearly all the efforts are showing as the staff are the best we have come across, paying great attention to detail and taking care of every needs. All the rooms have a sea view. The rooms are modern, bright and clean. The electronic shower is a nice touch (although the water pressure still needs to be retuned). For the foodies, there’s a Turkish restaurant, a peruvian restuarant with palm court and the al fresco area serving more international food. Our personal favourite is the Mauritian restaurant under the banyan with the rum bar on top of the tree house. It’s sheer delightful. There are 3 different beach access depending on what you are looking to do. Non-motorised water sports are free (although prebooking is a good idea). The breakfast spread is best, whatever you can think of or dream of is readily available and most importantly, they are all very fresh. We definitely would come back. Hope the wish we left at the banyan tree will come true.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to provide your valuable feedback about your 'delightful stay' at LUX* Grand Gaube .

It gives us an immense sense of satisfaction to see that you have enjoyed your time with us. As a hotel, we pride ourselves in the fact that our guests feel at home and have a sense of luxury being offered to them without being intrusive.

Your positive thoughts have been shared with the entire team. We look forward to your next visit.

We hope that you will travel to Mauritius soon and make LUX* Grand Gaube, your preferred destination again.

Warm regards,

Stephan Anseline
Resident Manager
stephan.anseline@luxgrandgaube.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Been back home a week after spending a week at the wonderful Lux Grande Gaube

So let’s get the negatives out of the way first
Negatives- wow none whatsoever- first time in a long time have been somewhere where we do not have anything negative to add no matter how small

Positives
Beautiful entrance lobby and reception with wonderful greetings with cold towels and lovely refreshments especially after a long flight from London

Wonderful room which was immaculately clean and great turn down and tidy up service every evening

Restaurants - the main restaurant had several sections each specialising in a different regions all made freshly to order if required and with a large and wonderful selection of dishes.
The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodated requirements no matter how difficult especially as I have a problem with food following some health issues.

Compliments to Dominic and his team including Jean Phillipe
In particular thanks to Saberah how went out of her way to prepare pastas with different tasty sauces to my requirements

Try the Peruvian restaurant Inti with Luciano where the food was fantastic with a great atmosphere - we ended eating there twice it was so good

teppanyaki with Dato was a treat

As for the wonderful sommelier Rebecca whose knowledge is excellent helped us with different selections so that we had a real treat with wines

Breakfast had lots of choices from dim sum to Indian breakfast to regular so completely spoilt for choice

The evening entertainment at the lobby bar was fun and lots of interesting cocktails

The beach and swimming pool areas were kept immaculate and the available activities were lots of fun and all free

The beach restaurant had a tasty selection and again would knock up something off menu if required

So overall this is a terrific venue to relax and have fun and we will definitely be giving Lux a try at one of their other locations

Thank you to the management and team of this wonderful establishment and wish them all the best

Finally I must say that the Mauritian people are very warm and hospitable and wish them well

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank shahid8064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share the experience of your stay with us online.

At LUX* Grand Gaube, it is the mission of every single team member to make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay with us in Mauritius.

Our guest's satisfaction is more valuable to us than any money of the world. I am pleased to read through your wonderful lines.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for recommending our new hotel as your favorite place on the island.

All team members and I, look forward to welcoming you back to your new “home away from home” in the near future.

Best regards,

Stephan Anseline
Resident Manager
stephan.anseline@luxgrandgaube.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

My wife and I have just arrived back home after spending three weeks at the LUX Grand Gaube for out Honeymoon. We chose this hotel on the back of the outstanding reviews it had received on trip advisor and its safe to say we were not disappointed.

From the moment you arrive you are looked after like royalty. The hotel itself is built around three "bays". The main bay/beach is the family area, there is another beach which is adult only. All the rooms and suites are built around these bays, all have a beach/sea view.

We stayed in Romantic Junior Suite which was situated on the top floor. This suite was stunning especially after the recent renovation, there was a bedroom / living area, a separate wardrobe area and a huge bathroom with an outdoor shower and bath. There is also a veranda with a sea view and this housed the Bath and some sun loungers.

For those on All Inclusive as we were, the mini bar is filled daily and is included in the package, in said mini bar were items such as Vodka, Gin, Wines, Soft Drinks, Juices etc. There are also numerous snacks and sweets.

Also included are the watersports, these are booked at the hut next to the gin bar. The activities included are snorkelling, glass bottom boat, water ski, kayak, paddle boarding. You can also do Scuba Diving. For a supplement a plane can take you over the north of the Island. They also do different excursions such as visits to the different islands and dolphin swimming. We did the dolphin swimming and it was well worth the money (4900rps).

There are 5 different places to eat at the hotel, Palm Court is the main buffet area. This is where Breakfast and Tea is served, for breakfast they have every item you could ever think off, any type of eggs freshly made for you. A chiller room full of fresh juices and fruits. The list is endless, in 21 days we didn't get 'sick' of the food once. The same can be said for tea at the Palm Court, this is a buffet but with a twist... there are live cooking stations which make your food for you fresh. Italian, Indian, Chinese all of which were some of the best we have ever tasted. Likewise with the puddings. There was enough variation for us to not get bored.

On the Beach front is Beach Rouge, this is a chilled Mediterranean type restaurant and you can have Dinner and Tea here. The food was insanely good, i recommend the beef tenderloin! At the other end of the bay is Bodrum Blue, this is a turkish themed restaurant and has stunning views overlooking the sea. Over to the adults only area and you will find the Creole Smokehouse under the Banyan. They serve typical Creole food so expect plenty of meat and fish !. Next to this is BB's burgers. The best burgers i have ever had. There is also Inti, the Peruvian restaurant. This is not included in any of the packages but you get 30% off your bill. We didn't eat here but others we spoke to said it was very good.

For those worrying about drinks on the all inclusive then i can vouch and say that there is so much choice, in each restaurant / place to drink they have around 5 signature cocktails as well as all the classics. Most branded spirits are included, its only the very premium ones that are not included. The wine list is also very good.

The thing which makes this hotel are the staff. Every single one deserves a mention however I've have singled out a few, our turn down service by Vanessa each night was amazing. Suryamn (sorry for the spelling) for looking after us at Beach Rouge most days & Reedo and the beach guys for keeping us cool and our sunglasses clean!

There is an amazing Gym, as well as tennis courts and a driving range. The Spa is a lovely quiet spot. It has saunas and steam rooms and three different pools. We had a massage there and it was sensational.

The resort puts on loads of activites throughout the day, especially for children. They do photography workshops, beach football, tennis tournaments, yoga etc. My favourite however had to be the stary night experience in which an astronomer comes down to the beach with his telescope and takes you on a journey across the stars.

A must do is to wake up for sunrise, grab a coffee from CAFE LUX and go down to the adults only beach for sunrise, you will thank me...

Outside of the Hotel and Mauritius is stunning. We hired a car for three days and explored the island. It was very easy to drive and everyone was friendly. The only negative thing i can say is that there are a lot of stray dogs around with some in very poor condition which can be upsetting to see. We visited Le Morne, Black River National Gorge, loads more which I've probably forgotten.

In Summary; Words cannot really describe how amazing the hotel and Mauritius is. Do not hesitate to book! Thats if there are any rooms left available ....

Ps there is a lovely ginger cat that lives in the adults only section, she loves a fuss !!

Room Tip: Romantic Junior Suites
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank RunnerAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Guests,

Your comment is wonderful ! We were very positively surprised and proud to read your kind words.

The title of your review says it all- these words will resonate for a long time and we are so happy to read that we were able to exceed all your expectations during your stay with us!

Rest assure that the team will be praised for the level of service they demonstrated and which ultimately contributed hugely to your satisfaction.

You need no excuse to book LUX* Grand Gaube and we look forward to welcome the entire family soon,

Warmest regards,

Stephan Anseline
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

My girlfriend and I visited the LUX Grand Gaube for 10 days at the end of May in 2018. We had an excellent stay our entire time with next to no complaints. Upon arrival we were greeted with welcoming drinks and were checked in in a relaxed manner, away from the concierge desk. We were then escorted to our room and were surprised to discover we were upgraded to a deluxe room in the adult area. The room provided a tranquil and spacious area to retreat to after a day doing the many activities or just relaxing on the beach.

Being on the all-inclusive package we took full advantage of the restaurants on site. The restaurants were full of well-versed waiters and waitresses able to answer any questions and provide an enjoyable and easy atmosphere. The food in all of the restaurants were excellent enabling us to explore food we otherwise wouldn’t have. Special mention must go to Bodrum Blue (the Turkish restaurant onsite), BB’s (the burger shack) and Palm’s Court (the buffet and breakfast area). I have also noticed, before leaving, that Inti (Peruvian-Argentinian restaurant) received a bad write-up. I must stress our dinner there was one of the better we had at the resort. However, its issue only comes in that it is usually empty; due to it being the only restaurant not included in the full-board or all-inclusive packages.

There are many activities available on-site, ensuring you will never get bored. The water-sports are easily booked and set up (many require no booking at all) with the lagoon providing a safe area to perform them. We particularly enjoyed the paddle-boarding and scuba diving. The sea plane frequents the main beach and was a wonderful experience and a unique way to view the lagoon area. The gym and sports areas were extremely well kept and equipped; these facilities were used by both my girlfriend and I regularly during our visit. The staff in the gym were extremely friendly and helpful – even helping me with a shoulder injury I had picked up before I had left for the holiday.

While at the main beach the staff made sure to greet us each morning, engage in some conversation and always check-in to ensure we had everything we required. The staff would make the lounger for you, clean your sunglasses if asked and bring you drinks etc – this, while a very first-world issue, is not seen at hotels in its price bracket.
Additionally, there were activities put on by the hotel which could be viewed through the hotel’s app. Most of these activities were for children but listed adult poker nights, movies, sport activities etc. My girlfriend and I participated in one of the more unusual activities, ‘Towel Origami’. This took place in a vacant room and was just the two of us and 3 of the housekeeping staff. They took great pride in showing us, and letting us practice, the art of towel origami. Not a necessary skill but one that is unusual and a bit of fun. We also attended ‘Starry Nights’ which provided some context to the stars and planets above us.

The LUX Grand Gaube has many little quirks which makes it such an interesting and enjoyable hotel to stay at. An example is the ‘message-in-a-bottle’ activity where a bottle is hidden at specific times through-out the day and a hint may be obtained at guest services. After finding the bottle you are then given a list from which you can choose a prize. We did this twice; my girlfriend getting a manicure and myself a drone flight. Both proved to be very interesting and worth-while.

During our entire stay there was only one small issue. To attend restaurants, outside of Palm’s Court, you are required to book 1 day in advance. The second night we had booked the Smokehouse but when we arrived at our prearranged time we found the place deserted. I returned to guest services to query this. It was shut due to high wind. What happened then was we arranged to eat at Bodrum Blue. The issue is that in no way were we notified that our reservation had been cancelled. If the hotel was at peak capacity (why the reservation system is in place) we would have had no choice other than to go to Palm’s Court yet again. Luckily the hotel was far from capacity during our stay and thus we could be accommodated elsewhere.

Overall, we extremely enjoyed our relaxing holiday at LUX Grand Gaube. Despite it being the Mauritian winter, the weather was comfortable while brief rain spells provided an excuse to use the hotels other facilities. We wish to return to Grand Gaube or a different LUX resort elsewhere in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for an adult room if travelling without kids, overall a better location
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RellekP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your exceptional feedback pertaining to your recent stay at LUX* Grand Gaube!

We are overwhelmed with your meticulous way in which you make it a point to write and share your stay experience and appreciation on our rooms, the customer service, various cuisines, the overall facilities and our jewel- the team.

Your sentiments are precious, thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. As you have promised, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Possibilities are endless at LUX* Grand Gaube,

Kind regards,

Stephan Anseline
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

I am just back after 12 days at this wonderful hotel .

I won’t go into any massive detail as I will probably just be mirroring what you have already read but what I will say is if you are contemplating a visit then I can definitely recommend.

However what I will do is put a few tips of small things that I think ( assuming you go) you will enjoy.
1 Download the App before you go as you will get the vibe of what goes on , also serves as your door key!!
2 Be bold with the food and drinks, try everything . Talk to the chefs Dominik the head chef is happy to engage.
3 Have a salad made for you . So simple but the flavours awesome by a lovely young girl ( sorry can’t remember name) in the cold area .
4 Take part in the activities. Bike ride to Cap Malheureux was brilliant and it was 1st time in 20 years I’ve been on a bike!
5 Have a massage at the Spa.
6 Use the Hairdressers, very reasonable prices and Sean at Murdocks is brilliant.
7 Take a trip on the microlight seaplane ( separate review on Island Wings)
8 Use the adult only swimming area, There was a lot of young kids when we were there.
Definitely a place to return to

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Prior28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at LUX* Grand Gaube! I am also pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and thank you for your heartfelt recommendation.

I will certainly share your kind words with all our team and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Stephan Anseline
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews